10th April

2 44
Avatar for OLA336533
1 year ago

10th April is my birthday.

It is a special day for me to celebrate my birth anniversary. A day that am "supposed" to be happy and make merry but reverse happens to be the case.

Whenever I look around on the 10th April and I see nobody coming to say to me “happy birthday” it becomes a worrisome day for me, I would lock myself in the room and cry throughout that day.

This happens every other year, and then I began to question my parent. I asked them to tell me to my face if they love me or they don't. but none of them could answered me. they gave me birth, but whenever it is my birthday, everybody behaves as if they don’t know at all. As in, they don't care, it means nothing to them.

I remembered one day I went for a friend’s birthday party. I couldn’t believe what my saw. He (my friend) was just talking with us his friends and his parent are just happy celebrating. you could feel love everywhere in the atmosphere, as they won’t stop giving kisses on his cheeks.

I'd wish my own parent were present to witness it with me. At some point I was feeling jealous of my friend.

When I got home after the party that day I couldn’t sleep throughout the night. I was just thinking. When would my own parent do this kind of thing for me? When wold they make me feel loved like this? I had thought of something that might help.

What was that?

Early In the morning the next day I brought the pictures I took of the people, the cake, the wall designs, the balloons and every other beautiful thing I captured in that party, and showed my father. He looked at them all, and did not say anything. But some how I was relived with in myself that I'd planted something positive inside of him.

10th April, 2010

My next birthday was around the Conner and I was expecting that, since my father had seen those pictures, I know he did not say anything but he might replicate the same things he saw. To my greatest bewilderment, it was 10th April, 2010 I remembered vividly; I ran to my father’s bedroom, and before I could open my mouth and say, “daddy” he shouted at me, get out! Like he knows already what I wanted to tell him and didn't want to hear me.

I returned in tears to my room. I almost committed suicide that day, but all a sudden I began to encourage myself. I told myself, "don’t worry, you will grow and become independent one day, and you will celebrate your birthdays with your friends" And that was the last time I ever worried about my birthday celebration.

I took a pen and paper, I began to write the poem you see below.

10th April

Oh April! Oh April!

You have come again

I would name my pet Apri

And it will give me gain.

Oh April, my month

My month of delivery

And I have waited for months

For you to bring all my deliveries.

Oh April! if I should be real,

I have not stopped to pray.

That you will come with good will

Even as you are here today.

Oh April! You have come

To usher me into a new age.

Oh April you are welcome

Welcome to a broad stage.

Oh April of fourth breeze

You are cherished in all equal

No wander mum was so pleased

That she brought me forth with ease.

Oh April, the messenger

Always bringing my new age

And I hope to see greater

Of all things including my wage.

Oh April, the laughter

For I expect nothing less

But greater joy and laughter

And you will answer nothing less.

Oh April the opener.

Work hard to your day ten,

And water my field like a gardener

To bring forth nothing less than my gain.

It was my birthday, and while I keep thinking of how to make the day a memorable one for me, I took my pen and a paper and I began to put words together. at the end of that day I was able to create that wonderful poem. Did I pour out my emotions? Maybe I just encouraged and forced myself to be happy. And it kept my life from the ruin of depression.

Are there times where you looked around and you got nobody to celebrate with you on your special days? Are there times where all seems as if, you are lonely and are all by yourself? Have you ever felt that you are not loved? This article probably could be of tremendous help to you, Or someone you know.

I like you to know that, "If there is anything you own yourself more in this life, is to encourage yourself"

use every moment you’ve got alone to discover yourself and what you can do and I bet, you will be amazed how special you are. It will also help you not to fall into depression but value yourself more.

Do well to send your comments in on the comment section about what you think concerning this article. I hope you enjoyed your read.

1
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Sashaa
Avatar for OLA336533
1 year ago

Comments

If you dont feel bad let me tell you something. When you feel sad over something see for those who are below you and you will feel how lucky you are. Thats life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you.

$ 0.00
1 year ago