Midnight rain

2 42

Last month, Taylor Swift released her new album Midnights. Swifties were in awe as they completely heard all the tracks in the album. Taylor Swift never failed to amaze her fans with all her songs.

One of the songs in her album called, Midnight rain, became trending on a social media platform when someone posted about how she relates her 12-year relationship with the song.

She quoted in her post, "Both of us are midnight rain.

Neither of us wanted the comfortable. Marriage was our least priority. We were both busy making our names. Neither of us stayed the same. He is now a doctor. I am now a lawyer. That's how our 12-year relationship ended. We both changed like midnight rain."

When I saw the post, I got emotional thinking that a 12-year relationship is not easy to build a relationship that long. I was the one who feel like they only wasted the years that they'd been together. But, on the other side, I understand why they choose to separate ways. Both of them wanted to grow in their chosen careers, and it feels like having each other no longer helps to improve themselves. Probably they become toxic to each other or they just lost the time. I wouldn't like to be in a relationship either that is only for comfort, or something that has become steady because of different chosen careers.

I felt every single word she said because I am feeling like, I'm going to be like the midnight rain in our relationship.

He was my sunshine, and I was his midnight rain. He wanted simple things, but I wanted more. He loves the comfort while I become addicted to pain.

There was a time when I told him that I want to go abroad to study and work there for my expenses. But he didn't allow me. Before we had each other, it was already on my plans to work abroad, teach there, and experience life there. I thought he would support me but it turns out, he only wants me to stay here.

I think it's not fair knowing that he's growing in his career while I'm just stuck. I wanted more than the things I have because I know I can do more. I just have to take myself from the place where I know I will grow as an individual.

It became an issue for us. Every time we talk about it, it always ended up with a fight. All I want for him is to understand me and support me because that's what I wanted to do. It is the only thing that I could think of that would make me grow as a person. I tried a million times explaining to him that it wouldn't take forever. That I'll come back when I reach my satisfaction. I don't want to have a family yet. I don't want to have children, not even marriage. I am not ready yet.

I didn't change. Ever since I wanted that dream. I love him but what about my dreams? I supported him throughout his journey to being a policeman. I waited until he came back from his training centre. Why can't he do the same thing? Support me and wait for me?

I don't like to think that one day, we will see each other along the street full of regrets because one went away and changed like midnight while the other stayed the same but has no choice but to let go.

If you can't have the two? Which would you choose, Love or Career?

Lead image from Google.

Hi! It's me Noelle! Happy Sunday Everyone!

4
$ 0.38
$ 0.36 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy

Comments

I also watched that video and it's so sad that they can't choose both. But I choose, maybe I also choose my career over love for now haha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I'm still in confusion right now. Both are important to me. I built them with the same effort I could give. I just don't want to waste any of the two. It would be so painful.

$ 0.00
1 year ago