The job interview and the mistakes I made

1 25
Avatar for Nishi
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences

I have participated in many job interviews since leaving university. Somewhere I have succeeded, somewhere I have failed. However, I made many mistakes at first due to lack of previous experience. I later learned from those mistakes. I am sharing them with you so that you can avoid those mistakes.

Mistake-1: Not taking the idea about the company in the job interview

The first job interview of my life. I was very nervous. I only knew the short name of the company. It did not know its vision and mission. When Viva asked the board, "Tell me, what is the vision and mission of our organization?" I was mumbling then. Seeing that, they thought I had come without any preparation. The result is another question, "Can you tell us the full name of our company?" I fell into the deep sea. That is when contempt for oneself was born. When they left saying "you can come now", there was a great deal of humiliation at work.

Mistake 2: Presenting yourself in a very "cool" form

In a private job interview, I was told, "Tell us something about yourself." I said to show myself as a cool dude, "I'm a simple guy. There's nothing to say about myself." "We don't expect any such informal answers from the job board," he said.

Mistake-3: Not being present in appropriate attire

In another interview I could not appear in formal attire. After the viva was over, one said, "You probably have no desire to get a job. Otherwise you wouldn't have come in such a dress."

Mistake-4: Proper posture not accepted

It seemed to me. Because there was no reason not to get the job. I answered very well in the technical viva. When I went to give Viva to HR (Human Resource) department, I was in a very relaxed mood (since everyone on the technical board was satisfied with my answer). I was shaking the chair and giving HR's viva. They didn't say anything on board but I later realized that my behavior was very unprofessional.

Mistake-5: Not taking good preparation

I was giving viva to a power generation company. Everyone on the board hopes that the interview candidates will be aware of the power of the country. But I wasn’t. Although I graduated in electrical engineering, my major was communication system. But even then I should have studied power generation because the company's job is to generate power. As a result, I could not answer their very basic questions on the board. One of them was furious that even though I had graduated from a reputed institution, I could not answer correctly.

Mistake-6: Don't read the newspaper on Vivar Day

Although not a very big issue, it is still a mistake. You should definitely read the Vivar Day newspaper. What is the Bengali month, how many dates, whether there is any specialty or news headline or any special news. On the day of an interview, a madam asked me, "Recently Hifazat-e-Islam has given a title to the Hon'ble Prime Minister. What is that?" I could not tell.

Mistake 7: Follow the principle of "always tell the truth"

It sounds out of place, but it's true. There are problems in some places when it comes to taking refuge in complete honesty. But there is also the field of where to lie. For example, once I was unemployed for some time. Then one asked in an interview, "What are you doing now?" I replied, "I'm not doing anything right now." They took it negatively. Another brother wanted to know the reason for leaving my previous job. I then answered truthfully, "I had to go to a very remote location. I didn't like them." Now when I remember these answers, I get a smile. In these cases, you have to use the answer wisely. You can't lie in a pouring way, you can't tell the whole truth.

Mistake-8: Throwing counter questions

One employer once asked, "If you get a BCS, will you quit our job?" I counter-questioned, "It was not written in your circular, BCS candidates do not need to apply." I did a very bad job.

Roughly these were the mistakes I made during Vivar. I hope you will avoid these tasks and succeed in Viva. Good luck.

3
$ 0.10
$ 0.10 from @TheDINO
Avatar for Nishi
Written by
3 years ago
Topics: Experiences

Comments

Great article! Honestly there are many points here that a person can take for granted later (ie "what to wear", current events etc) and you are so correct on these points. Preparation and calm professionalism has worked for me in the past Your article is an excellent reference point😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago