Jumping in the cold water

3 41
Avatar for Nina80
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Ice, Water, Sweden, PE

My older daughter attends Secondary school.Yesterday she called me to tell me that she had got a bad mark in PE because she refused to jump in frozen cold water with her classmates.Actually PE Physical Education in Sweden Is different from other countries as I know,actually when I was in Secondary school in my own country it was totally different.

My daughter told me that they had test yesterday in the nature,near the lake,(during a summer they used lake for swimming and other water sports but during winter they go iceskating, climbing to the mountain with the equipment and jumping in the frozen water ).It Is normal for kids who were raised in Sweden,they are accustumed,since we came from the Balkans we are afraid of getting ill after such dangerous sports. She sent me photos from her test yesterday,she took photos while her friends were jumping.

In Sweden PE represent activities and learning in te natural environment.

This kind of lessons and tests are the hardest,so they always say that the toughest PE lessons are how to escape freezing water.In front of their classmates and teachers ,one by one,they need to jump,in an survival instict,the only thing in their mind Is to get out of the frozen water. It Is also hard to get dry after that,it Is usually -5 degree.

Sometimes they organized pivnica and prepare good after their lessons,so this Is Part of the lessons they everyone adore.

Even though it looks hard ,the students really enjoy their school time.

In the summer my daughter had a rowing challange during PE.She and her friend were in the boat rowing alone till the middle of the lake,and they suddenly stopped there,couldn't move to return so the teacher had to go and Help them to return.It was also a kind of test for a mark.In these situations you prepare to survived over difficult situations in the nature,and it Is great way to learn and prepare for a difficult life.

I hope you like my article.I am going to write more about Swedish customs in the future.

4
$ 2.78
$ 2.73 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jelena
Avatar for Nina80
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Ice, Water, Sweden, PE

Comments

I would like similar PE system for our children in Serbia.It Is useful both for good health and sport spirit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is so interesting. It’s hard for us because we’re not used to something like that but I believe it’s good for kids. So they become stronger and healthier. I can't wait to read more about Swedish customs. I encourage you to write. 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

PE is to prepare kids for future challenges.

$ 0.00
2 years ago