Can You Write for a Living?

2 24
Avatar for Nb5347
Written by
2 years ago

I remember as a child writing stories and getting lost in books. To this day, the one thing that takes me back to my childhood is a good fiction book or pouring out my imagination on a piece of paper. As we get older, perhaps we lose pieces of our childhood and get sucked into our jobs... But what if I told you that my childhood continues to live with me as part of my job? Although in a different form, there are many things that remain the same... follow me if you're looking to make a living out of writing! I'll give you as many tips as possible and hopefully more life insights to set you free!

Sponsors of Nb5347
empty
empty
empty

A feeling of adrenaline fills me with each new client... why? Probably because it's a new industry that I've never worked in! I get to browse through the creativeness of others, do research, learn new things, meet new people around the world and then create the perfect strategy for my clients and then implement it! My writing is mostly filled with short/long captions on Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and LinkedIn but every now and again, I get to write blog posts for my clients too! I modernized my love of writing into a career of social media management and online branding for a wide variety of industries. From healthcare to technology, cryptocurrencies, NFT's to online retail stores, I am constantly piecing together words to create emotion for a new target audience and create a community.

A typical blog writer that writes well can, at the minimum, charge 10 cents per word. A social media manager, as this entails much more than just writing, can charge $1000+ for one client on two social media platforms. If you're great at managing your time, being disciplined, and staying organized, you can juggle 10 clients at once with very little work outsourced. A 5-digit monthly income is not hard to come by IF you LOVE what you do and are GREAT at it.

On top of juggling your clients, you need to also continue to grow your small business and have incoming work as some clients do not last beyond a specific amount of time. Just as very few businesses succeed in the long run, you'll run into many short to medium-term type projects so keep this in mind.

Let me know if you have any specific questions about getting into this type of work in the comments section below.

I hope to write about all sorts of subjects here and am excited for you to join me here! Now I will have to look for those photos of me surrounded by sticky notes with my stories written on them... but someday I'll share them here!

4
$ 1.88
$ 1.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @RosheiGanda
Sponsors of Nb5347
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Nb5347
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I'm starting to write for a living. An earning to be added to our daily expenses. Just in this platform and the other one. I hope to continue and manage my time atleast post one simple article per day. As well as interacting with new friends virtually.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi Roshei, I think one article a day is definitely a manageable goal! I shoot for the same but sometimes do more on the weekends as my weeks can be busy! I can free write much easier when I don't have pressure on me to hurry! Excited to have you here!

$ 0.01
2 years ago