A Day As Precious As Gem , A Day Worth Reliving

2 30
Avatar for NativeRookie
2 years ago

A Day As Precious As Gem , A Day Worth Reliving

I woke up late and as every other mornings , I was hungry and angry . I always wake up angry and moody , I don't know why and I don't care why . The first living creature I caught sight of as I rolled out of bed was my room mate well asides the inanimate creature of my mobile phone which is always the first thing I do drive my attention to before any other thing in the morning. Well , back to my roomie , I caught sight of him doing his morning rituals as I do call it ~silly me ~ . Don't be afraid,  he isn't a Native Doctor or a Sorcerer; he is just an upright religious individual who prays first thing in the morning as he wakes and has been trying to initiate me into the same routine ever since we met but it looks like I am a bit of a slow learner .

Judging from the mood and timing of the events , it seems we woke up at the same time - this isn't the first time something of such happens , I guess we are connected to an extent by now as we have been roomies for almost a year . We both did our respective routinely chores ; I tidy-up the house and he zoomed off to the kitchen to make our food as he knows I hate eating breakfast late and when I do , I become squeamish all day. Y'all should chill down a sec , we ain't couples or homosexuals ... we just find division of labour amongst ourselves handy and it gives us ample time on our hands. Well , if it must be said ; I tidy up the house , do the dishes and sorts - the ratio of chores between us is balanced even though so , I think it is more preferably to my side .

After having our bath and all dressed up , we had our breakfast, walked each other to Lecture rooms and then went  our separate ways . We attend the same College school and I major in Engineering while my room mate major in Medicine ( he is a tad more brilliant than I am , i hate to admit ) . Life in the Campus is just as busy and bulky as the life of an average worker in the open world , students don't have it so easy as Parents and other people think . Not a minute sooner as we were each done with our respective lectures,  I and my roomie met at the usual spot which was the school cafeteria closest to each of our lecture rooms . We exchanged talks about each of our classes and when it was time to depart,  we agreed on a time to rendezvous back as we were to each get birthday presents for Cecil , the Course Rep of my Department , as her birthday was to be held that night at her place . It was to be a harmless and mutual celebration where everyone is to have a chance to celebrate with Cecil and gift her presents - Yes , of course, there would be loads of foods and fun filled events -

I got Cecil a wristwatch; a not-so-miserly but yet expensive wristwatch while my roomie got her a diary; I had no idea where he got the idea of a diary from or maybe that was what he could afford to get ( I would have gladly give him donations if he asked but he is not an outspoken person even to me ). Eventually after the hustle and bustle of the day at school and at home , night fell and it was time for the Birthday party which was to commence by 8pm. As planned,  all invited members were present at the function and as soon as we were up to the accredited numbers , we began . We partied all through the evening and engaged in all kinds of fun filled events till it was time to go home ; I had silently wished that this time wouldn't come. I and my roomie went home , talking and laughing all through the way home , we were filled to the brim with food and drinks and was even opportuned to take home paper bags ~smiles~ I wished it didn't have to end and was to continue for ever.

The day went as any other usual day would go with its ups and down and the good and bad , it wasn't so perfect-a-day as to say it was a dream come true or a paradise on Earth but it was one worth remembering.

I really enjoyed the time i spent with my friends but time passed , eyelids became heavy and tiredness set in till we gave in to sleep . It was a memorable day.

The whole 24 hourswasn't as rosy and perfect as a chicken fillet placed perfectly in between two burger buns with appropriate fillings and toppings waiting to be ate by someone but it was one spent with close friends that is worth remembering and re-living if given the chance .

Thank you for reading and for your time .



5
$ 0.14
$ 0.10 from @Abhay
$ 0.01 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.01 from @DocLayla
+ 2
Sponsors of NativeRookie
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for NativeRookie
2 years ago

Comments

It is indeed a normal day for you. It is a normal day for me as well. Reading some articles after my shift at work while drinking a cup of warm water because I am acidic and I can't afford another cup of coffee. But thanks to your one-day diary, I had a chance to reminisce some college events. From waking up late because that's what teenagers are, to doing chores with my roommates, (Yes I have 6 roommates way back). Missing the hangouts after class as well. How I wish I could go back in time. The time when I was not an adult yet and my only problem is how can submit all the requirements to pass a subject in school. Your article is not a cherry on top of my black forest cake, but became the chocolate flakes which I like more. Hence, this article is still worth remembering just like this ordinary day. Keep enjoying life.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I am really glad you enjoyed it and that it reminded you of a former life

$ 0.00
2 years ago