Society is a Cage

8 32
Avatar for Nanaado
1 year ago

Human beings, like a computer, are programmed, bu unlike a computer, the programming isn't usually done by one person. It is done by a group of people known as society. As we grow up as children, our body develops and so does our brain. The extent at which our mental capacity develops is largely influenced by the society we live in, the more evolved it is, the more mentally evolved we're likely to be. Still, there are always limitations to that ach and every society we find ourselves in, be it out birthplace or a place we migrate to, no matter how evolved or backwards that society might be. If you look well, the things viewed as normal or abnormal in society have been that way for a long period of time, otherwise they wouldn't have those labels on them. Societal constructs have always been there for only God knows how long, and they're certain labels that define them.

While values of society plays a major role in helping us understand more about ourselves, where we fit in, how to interact, and how to carry on with other life activities, these supposed values can also place some heavy limitations to those trying to see past them. As we grow older, some of us see things that are terribly wrong with society, things we haven't questioned before, that we wonder how no one else had seen it before us, or perhaps they have, they have just decided to ignore it because society wouldn't agree with them anyways. We begin to question those things we were taught while growing up, things we were made to see as either good or evil, things that could mean and entirely different thing when viewed from a whole new perspective.

Are you a person who, despite having these thoughts, still have doubts or think there is something wrong with you because the society in which you live in does not welcome them? Perhaps you're worried how weird you'll sound when you decide to voice out your thoughts to others or concerned about them laughing at you or calling you crazy? If you're that type of person, then........... we're friends, or maybe just similar.

There are things I question. Things I know sound crazy, there are even those that could literally get me into trouble if I am to voice them to someone where I live. I tried once but my suspicions were confirmed when the person I thought would listen to me thought I was crazy, ever since then I have learnt to keep my thoughts to myself, they don't do me any good really, but I can't just shut them out. From the way I write, one can tell that I have difficulty expressing myself and my thoughts, so that's quite another reason for me to keep my mouth shut!

My final word is, do not let society dictate your life. You can grow up in a society and still clem to outgrow the society. Like I said, a human being is like a computer, but be sure that you're the one programming yourself, or rather let the things you see program you, not society.

Nana

7
$ 0.13
$ 0.03 from @rezoanulvibes
$ 0.03 from @GarrethGrey07
$ 0.02 from @TheGuy
+ 5
Avatar for Nanaado
1 year ago

Comments

As much as I do not want to conform with society the many years of upbringing to fit into it is hard to shake off.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Society isn't necessarily wrong . It is just good to question things about it sometimes, then you'll things others don't. No matter how open minded we are, we're still a part of it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Indeed, we must be the one who have the full control of our self and life, and we shouldn't allow the society to control us. We are the real programmer of our life and so our decision and choices must matter the most.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

.. And don't be afraid of opposition if you choose this path, as a lot of it would be coming your way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sure! The society has a good percentage of influence on us. The things we see daily, the kind of news we hear, the kind of environment we found ourselves say more of us. They are what structure us

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Indeed, that's the more reason we need to be careful of the things we allow into our system to avoid errors.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I try to question the wrong and sick beliefs in my friend circle, sometimes I get a positive reply but mostly a brainwashed reply, it's hard to change or remove the wrong beliefs.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Very true, they remain stuck in most cases. It sometimes feel like you're in the wrong group but that's just how majority is.

$ 0.00
1 year ago