Just Another Students Story

3 41
Avatar for My_cloud
3 years ago

CHAPTER ONE

INTRODUCTION

I still remember my journey as a student, it was not an easy one i went through so many ups and downs. There where times i felt it would not be possible for me to actually make it. Lol and there where some crazy and hilarious moments but in the end i made. Why dont we go back to how it all began.

My name is David, and it was the final year of highschool (secondary school) back then we have never really experienced life. We all had high hopes and dreams, i wanted to also study at the Nigerian Defense Academy so o could join the Air Force, i had friends who planned on going out of the country for further studies. But we all had one more obstacle to overcome, which was our final exams. The time for exams came, after writing,i was waiting for results. During that process i found out i could not apply for the Nigerian Defense Academy because they need does who had results at that time. And i was still expecting mine so o had to let go of that dream for now.

During my school days, amoung the major courses needed, i have always been bad at maths. When it comes to calculations i suck at it, so that has always been my weak point. Final results finally came which is our WAEC result (West Africa Examination Council) and as expected i made all my papers except maths. I was totally lost and heart broken. Most schools in Nigeria requires a pass or credit in maths for you to be accepted, so even with all the good grades i had in other courses the result was useless because there was no maths.

I could remember i cried for days, even the University i applied for since i could not go to my desired one, has given me admission. I passed the exams but with my WAEC result that admission was useless. to make matters worse my friends kept calling me and telling me about how they did well in their results and their plans for university, i was feeling left out and out of the race, so of them began to laugh and mock me behind my back which only made the situation worse. Having only my mom and siblings after the death of my father, my mother was seriously pissed about it, she shouted and talked about how i wasted her money, about me not being serious with my studies, i felt guity about it and could no longer take it all so i decided to run away from home.

if they could give an award to a runaway who stayed away from home for the shortest period of time it would have been me . Hahaha i actually ran away from home for just 2hrs, yes you read it correctly, just two hours, lol crazy right?

my sister called me and talked sense into me, and by the time i was hungry i decided to go back home, i didnt really have it in me to hurt my mom in that way. I had always been this shy and reserved kind of guy, tho when it comes to something that needs to be done i do my very best. So after running away for two hours, i went back home, and my mom called me, talked some sense into me and prayed with me.

The next day my mom called me and said son lets go to Edwin Clarks unversity and check it out, still feeling down i agreed after all its not like they are going to take me and i missed their exams. Getting there we looked round the University, it was not on section yet, all their equipments where quit new, we where called to their head office and my mom told them my issue, i had made all my papers except maths. After everything the school agreed that they can only all allow me study English language and then after one year, i should rewrite my high school final exams to obtain a credit in maths. My mom agreed, it was better than notting, tho it was not what i had in mind to study. But there was another problem. Their entrance exams was over.

I was given a chance tho, they asked to go to their exams halls and i would be given a test if i should pass i would be given automatic acceptance into the school and i passed. One would think all my problems where finally over. Something else came up.

The school fees was just too much and i was given 3 days to pay before lectures kicks off. I had to once again let go of that opportunity, i was depressed at this stage. I had two admission in two different schools but could do notting about it. I made up my mind that i would have to wait another year again before i could try my luck, but my mom never gave up even when i did.

By chance my sister met a friend who told her about a university in Benin Republic. I went ahead to take their extrance exams which was actually on my birthday, lol so instead of eating cakes and hoping for gifts i was in the exam hall on my birthday. The result finally came and i was accepted, the best part was the fact that i was given a space of one year to makeup for my maths, i was also allowed to study what i wanted and the school fees was not crazy high and it was even in another country. I was super excited.

The next time my friends asked me my plans, i knew they didnt really care, they just wanted to find a reason to laugh at me. I gave them the shock of their lives. The guy who had no hope of going into any unversity has gotten admission into 3 universities lol, things are finally going my way or so i thought

To Be Continued...

3
$ 1.35
$ 1.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of My_cloud
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for My_cloud
3 years ago

Comments

The journey of life is a slow and steady one,for uneasy lies the head that wears the crown,someday our story would be passed down as a source of motivation.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Indeed you are correct, a very great man has a back story

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice one

$ 0.00
3 years ago