Should I be worried about my English?

6 97
Avatar for Musso
Written by
2 years ago

So if you are a non native English speaker or learner like me than you must have heard this at least once in your life.

You may have heard it from your friends, from your colleagues or from you mentors or you can heard it from any type of real life conversation.

After hearing the sentence that "Your English is poor" you may have lost all your confidence.Than you may never dare to speak again in English.

When we grow up as a non native English speaker people often discourage to speak something in English.

Sometimes it is also happened that you have felt shy to speak in English with somebody else just because you thought you'll be treated badly if you make simple mistakes.

In my whole life I've seen a lot of events like this where my friends wanted to talk in English but they didn't get good response in return.

People make fun of them for their accent, for their style of talking, for the simple grammatical mistakes and so on.

After getting this kind of response and after having this type of bad experience, it is obvious that someone will not try to speak in English again.

Instead of improving English they will feel demotivated, alienated and discouraged. This is the same thing which happened to my friends who tried to speak in English.

Yes your English may be poor but it's not your mistake and on the other hand you've nothing to do with it.

Because you are not a native speaker so you are bound to make mistakes but let's not mark them as mistakes.

Those mistakes means you are putting your heart and soul to learn a new language.

At the same time learning a language is not an easy task my friend generally it will take life time.

Because a language is not limited to some basic alphabets so the more you try to acquire a new language, the more you can learn it.

It should also be taken into account that non native speakers do have to learn their own language too.

That's why it's a bit difficult to learn two language at a time. Now let me tell you something about this why you shouldn't be worried about your English proficiency.

First of all you shouldn't be worried about your English speaking proficiency if you can continue a good conversation for a specific amount of time.

No matter how much grammatical mistakes you are making or your slow speaking.

If you can continue speaking in English with somebody else that means he/she is already fluent in English.

Why I'm emphasising on "Continuing a conversation" is a great fact? When you are continuing a conversation you are not only saying "hi/hello".

You are saying something and in response your listener is saying something. Now you are answering his questions and he is questioning you.

If you can do all of this things than you shouldn't be worried about the proficiency. People may say you are not correct but don't worry you already have quality to continue a conversation.

Now if you practice a little bit on a daily basis, I'm assuring you will be way better than your previous self.

Secondly,you shouldn't be worried about your proficiency if your audience listens to you or show interest listening to you.

If your audience is listening to you that means you are in the correct way of speaking. Irrespective of your speaking mistakes, your audience keeps listening.

That means you should continue your speaking and most importantly you should practice more and more so that you can become more fluent.

On the contrary,if you are able to express yourself freely and understand your audience expression that means you are already have both speaking and listening ability.

Let me tell you one thing, expressing oneself, it can be in any language form is not so easy.

Because when we are expressing ourselves than we have to be careful about the words we are choosing.Any kind of wrong words will undoubtedly misinterpret you.

Now tell yourself if you are good at using right words and expressing yourself correctly should you be worried? Not at all just ignore some bad comments you have already made yourself a fluent one.

Thirdly,you shouldn't be worried about your English speaking,if you are able to explain any particular situation to somebody.

Why I'm talking about "Explaining a situation?"I'm emphasising on "Explaining" because when you are explaining you are analysing that situation from a different perspective.

You are analysing the situation from lots of different perspective for example: Why this thing happened? How this thing happened? When happened? What is the best suitable way to find any solution?When you are explaining you are answering all this critical.

Now ask yourself if you have the ability to do all the explanatory works, do you have poor language skill? Absolutely not, it can't be trust me man. Just ignore all the stupid talks what people are saying about your speaking.

You just need to have a little bit of confidence and to have the courage ignore bad comments about your speaking.

Rather again go through my above mentioned points, if you have those ability trust me you are already good at English.

5
$ 15.29
$ 15.17 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
$ 0.03 from @bheng620
+ 2
Sponsors of Musso
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Musso
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

truth be told, all that conscious effort to perfect communicating in english so as to "pass" the standard of the grammar-conscious world I was in during school days, gone to for nothing when I started working.

It would be one of my topics.. just trying to put in words for it.

I go for this part: Thirdly, you shouldn't be worried about your English speaking, if you are able to explain any particular situation to somebody.

Academically speaking, we are conscious of the grammar to a fault because we have built that culture to the point of "speaking the same language".

In business, the culture will 80% (just a mental guesstimate and no source)be driven and cultivated by the client. The client has to understand you else the business will go caput.

So if the client understand basic words and not grammar structure you end up saying instructions in partial key words rather than the whole "proper" instructions.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Speaking and writing good English is necessary. It is necessary because it is one of the widely used languages in the world and it would mean that people may understand you. But this does not define you as a person. The most important, I think, is to express what is meant to relay and being understood by the people who are intended to receive the message.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

My native language is Slovenian and not English.I learned English language in school and on internet.I also have one book,which shows me grammer and English language from beggining.Lately,I was writing articles in my native language,because my English are poor,and google translater is bad.So,I do not want to be my words misunderstood. Your English is perfect,dear @Musso.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I've met few superb Slovenian persons through this platform and you are one of them who has great interest in reading. Along with you mother language you are learning English just like me. My mother tongue is Bangla as I'm from Bangladesh. I've also learnt English along with Bangla.

As long as we are able to express ourselves, interact with others and the listener is able to understand us ,our language is perfect.

To gain proficiency in any language, there is no alternative but practicing it on daily basis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I absolutelly agree with you dear.I know a few person from Bangladesh too.Nice to meet you here my der friend.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

This is something that I'm going through right now. The only way to improve yourself is to read, watch and practise English a lot. I recently made friends with a person from another country and our mode of communication is in English. After all, this time talking with him, my English speaking skills improved a lot.

$ 0.01
2 years ago