The Closing of the American Mind

1 41
Avatar for Musicole
2 years ago

The Closing of the American Mind

Let's talk about education in America. There have been many discussions surrounding our educational system in America. I often think back to my days in high school. I use to always wonder why I felt unworthy, As I look back, it wasn't not being interested, it was I guess I didn't feel challenged educationally. As I watch certain movies now days, movies like “Lean on Me” with Morgan Freeman, and “Freedom Writers” with Hillary Swank. I know its the movies, but it showed me that there were teachers who actually cared about students getting a proper education as opposed to just pushing them through just to get a paycheck. I use to think about what was so different about me and school? I would be there physically, but spiritually and in my mindset I wasn't there. The teachers just didn't seem to be that interested in seeing that we as students were getting what they were supposed to be teaching. At that time I really didn't know how to display my frustrations, so I just zoned out and did just enough to get by. Once I graduated college was not even an option. I had no interest in going to anyone's college. If it was anything like what I dealt with in high school, I wasn't interested. After high school I decided to just put some plans for my life in order and decide what direction I was going to go. I left for Atlanta for a few months while my sister was getting settled in the city. I gave me a brief sense of independence. I was okay, but at that time I couldn't really get into Atlanta's entertainment scene. So I relocated back to Indiana to try to make the best of my life. I began to work with a new band that was working the country club circuit through out Indiana. It was a great experience. It introduced me to a wide variety of styles of music. It was first time I had played Rock, Country, and classic 40's and 50's jazz. I was dating a young lady who really made me feel that marriage wasn't a bad idea for my life. Although my parents divorced early in my life. I had a real sense of commitment to marriage. I remember saying once, “if nothing else in my life works out, I want my marriage to work”. For the first time in my life, I can truly say I was in Love. My heart was so full of excitement I can't describe it. So on June 4, 1983 Rosemary and I were married. As I said, I was in love deeper than I could ever imagine. Only to find out that she didn't feel the same. I was devastated, now I won't go into details as to what happened, but within a few months we separated and finally divorced. It was later that summer I was offered the opportunity go tour the country making a living playing music. A good friend and drummer introduced me to a couple from Columbus, Ohio. This husband and wife team were not bad folks to work for, but after dealing with them, I knew I was never getting married again. I was so very angry with women in general. I treated them very badly and I still to this day feel horrible about it. I dated for a while, not being committed at all to the relationship. My mind was completely shut down where women were concerned. A good friend I knew in Houston set me down and told me that I really need to let of my anger towards women and get back to the real Michael Coleman. Well I did listen. She told me that she understands my anger and why, but if I'm going to have a happy life where relationships were concerned I need to change my attitude. It was during that tour, I knew that was what I wanted for the rest of my life. I was so at piece with my life. Meeting and getting to know different people across the country really opened my eyes to life on the other side of the country. It was then I set out my Culture to Culture adventure. I began to realize that people from the East coast were so different from people on the West coast, as well as people from the North were so incredibly different from people in the South. I began to study not only the different cultures in the United States, but internationally as well. Within my travels I got so very interested in people. It really helped me to understand how everyone wasn't the same, I felt like I was so misinformed about people and I had to say, I've been so wrong. I had this opinion about people in other areas of the country and never knew or even understood why. Today my approach towards people is so different. I've learned that I have to listen to others, and not immediately form my own opinion of them when I haven't taken the time to even get to know them and who the are. During my breaks and time off from the road I would drive down to Ball State and visit my best friend Oscar and just check out the campus life. It was cool, but my life was in my music. I've thought a lot about is returning to college, but I have found that people who go to these colleges now days seem to be coming out with no more of an education than they had when they attended. Look at all these computer and business colleges across the country. Well you go into these schools for say a 2 year program, okay when you complete that program the technology and classes you take now are no longer valuable. So now you have to go back to school, just to stay up with the technology. So here goes more student loans and you still haven't gotten a job or a degree in your major course of study. As soon as you complete that 2-4 year program, now those classes are no longer credible and you still don't have a degree, and even if you do have a degree the knowledge you have has long gone because there are new challenges to face and conquer. The technology and education who had are obsolete, so you're forever going to be behind and yet these colleges keep on getting your money and forever ripping you off to gaining a proper education that you can build on for the rest of your life. Now here you are, thousands of dollars in debt, no job, or at least not what you went to school for. Makes you wonder who's winning? It's sure not you, the colleges are raising tuition and kids are coming out of college dummer than they were going in. It really saddens me that whoever came up with a concept to rip off the kids of the world was or is a genius. They have you believing that you're getting this wonderful education and the promise of employment for life, and look at what happens. You have yourself a Master's degree in whatever and find yourself working at Walmart or worst. What used to be known as the American Dream, no longer exists. Think about it!!!!!

My Life Changes:

In 1988 New Years Day I moved to Atlanta. I had laid out my plan to go to school, work on expanding my career as a musician and have a great life in the most Black populated city in America. Atlanta, Georgia, 80% Black folks there. I felt deeply that now my real life can begin. I was in the city where a part of the civil rights movement began. Many of the people who were involved are still there. Man, I was on top of the world with excitement. I got enrolled in The Music Business Institute. I really felt this was going to be my turnaround in life for me. After beginning my classes I began to realize that something wasn't right here. I was supposed to be getting an education in the music industry, but this was everything but that. I checked through the program and began to realize this was a total rip-off. So this time I decided I wasn't going to sit back and say nothing. Now you're disrespecting my career goals and that's not going to fly with me. I decided to set up a meeting with the faculty and try to get to the bottom of what's going on with this school. Well just as I thought another school of nothing. After several meetings with the faculty, they told me directly I can either take it or leave it! They were not going to change their program. They were teaching students everything but information regarding the music and entertainment industry. During that time I had begun my internship with an Entertainment Attorney in Atlanta. I explained to him the situation and all he could tell me is that I should take advantage of the opportunity and move on. I said Hell No, I didn't come here to not learn about the Music and Entertainment industry from a school that advertises that's what they are supposed to be about. So I left that situation and decided to stay in Atlanta and pursue my music. I remember hitting every jam session I could just to get my name out there. I didn't have a car, so it was a good thing many of the jam sessions were within walking distance. I met many musicians, many of who were members of the SOS Band, Brick, and Cameo. I had the pleasure of meeting the late great Isaac Hayes as well. I got myself a part-time job as a session Guitarist. I worked on many sessions with members of Peabo Bryson's band as well. That part of my time in Atlanta was great.

As beautiful as that city is, it truly had its downside also. As I got a chance to get to know the city much better I began to see the real Atlanta, GA. I was so disappointed with the things I began to see. Now understand, this is only my opinion. There is a positive side and the negative side to Atlanta. You're either part of the problem(The Negative side) or part of the solution(The Positive side). There is no middle ground. I really expected to see a world of positive support for Black life especially because of the high population of Blacks in the city. The mental games they play, and the sell-out attitudes of many people were so very disappointing. So when I got jobs touring extensively it couldn't have come at a better time. I began to date again, and eventually married for the 2nd time. Well during that time, I had my first real experience of fatherhood. I took on the responsibility of raising 2 teenage girls. After a very short while, I discovered that I'm pretty good at this. I just set out to be the kind of father, mine was to me. I really enjoyed being a parent, and it was challenging raising teenagers but I loved it, and I loved them too. Still to this day we have a great relationship. I strongly feel that I did my utmost best to teach them right from wrong, to make sure you listen and understand who you're dealing with because this country plays big-time mind games and you need to be aware of how they do what they do. I chose this topic because the ways of people in this country have gotten more mental than physical. The laws of the land don't seem to count for everyone, just a small chosen few.

©Musicole

2
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Majokdit
Avatar for Musicole
2 years ago

Comments

Facts! Travel is one activity that is almost always more educational than any classroom experience. Thank you very much for sharing your encouraging thoughts, in spite of the all-too-common thwarted expectations from "schooling." I totally agree! - an insider on both fronts: professional musician, and (former) licensed classroom teacher (and now we can both enjoy our writing!).

$ 0.00
2 years ago