The Reality That Pricked Expectations

11 36
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

November 25| Friday

It's truly a Hump Day for me today but I don't want to put my frustrations into writing. For a change. Let me share a different story.

Back in the day, I used to envy my sister because she had eyeglasses. She was in her first year of high school when she got her first pair. That wasn't because of fashion or trends. It was because she can't see the writings on the board.

Looking at her, I can't help but wish that I would also have eyeglasses because for me it makes you look smart. Years passed by and my love for eyeglasses grew. However, I never got one. I was just admiring people who look good and smart with their eyeglasses on.

Now, I badly need one. It isn't a want. It's funny how I wished to wear eyeglasses before when today I can't see the writings on the board. I have to take a photo of the board first so I can zoom out of the picture to see what's written. I realized it was never easy to have an eye that cannot see clearly. Even though I would sit in the front, still it wouldn't work.

This could be the result of too much screen exposure. My online teaching job required me to have at least six hours of class. During that time, my eyes are just focused on the screen. When I worked at the university, nothing changed. I'm still glued to my computer until the evening. Plus, I have to be active on different blogging platforms. So, I would use my phone until eleven in the evening. On the next day, the same cycle happens.

Though my wish of having eyeglasses was purely for fashion still we should be careful of what we wish for. It's not easy. At first, I resorted to anti-radiation glasses. It worked because my head wouldn't hurt anymore. I wouldn't squint when the sun's light is overwhelming. However, I still can't see the writings on the board.

Until today, I haven't visited an optometrist. I find it uncomfortable if ever I would be asked to wear eyeglasses. Plus I'm ashamed of what other people might think of me while I'm using one.

Life is indeed unpredictable. Our preferences change over time. Seldomly do we like something forever. Time would affect our motivation about something. The next time we notice, we already like a different thing.

Now, I just wish the clear vision back. No fancy eyeglasses. Not wanting it to look smart anymore. I just want to see what's written on the board no matter how far the row I'm seated.

* The lead image is from unsplash.com

6
$ 0.29
$ 0.25 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.03 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @reanbooks
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

I wore glasses for a long time. I never thought of them as a trend but rather a pain. I got contact lenses as soon as I could. Than it was determined by eye doctor I shouldn't wear them all the time, back to glasses. Later in life I needed eye surgeries which brought one eye to perfect vision. So now I wear one contact lense in the other eye. Only glasses I use now our reading glasses.

You will be better off wearing glasses as it is a pain not being able to see clearly. There was a time I couldn't really see anything out of one of my eyes even with glasses and it drove me crazy. I hope you can embrace wearing glasses. Sometimes we have to think what's better for ourselves not what others may think.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thanks for that sir. Will do that soon.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Before, I was only curious about what it feels like to wear glasses...now that it become part of my life, I don't want it to be honest. .i want to have normal vision 😢.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same same huhu

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tungod na siguro sa exposure sa radiation sis, hinaut magka eyeglass na ka, para maging comfortable ka sa trabaho.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Puhon maamsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung sa akin naman po Medyo may pagkalabo na lalo pag nagmamaneho ako sa gabi di ko na masyado nakikita nga sasakyan. Ilaw nalang. Kaya parang need ko na din ata mag glasses.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Go rhed laban hihi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahal ata diyan eye glass mamsh nuh. Naalala ko ante noon. Sa Sogod siya pumunta grabe ang mahal. Dito mura lang mamsh tas sa EO na.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Lage maaam. Mahal kay sa cebu paman orderon ang lense

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mao lagi maam. Mao na ako nabantayan sauna.

$ 0.00
1 year ago