Back In The Classroom

11 31
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

July 27, 2022

Since my boss is a busy bee, she entrusted her students to me. They were supposed to present their final output but due to my boss' unexpected urgent appointment, I was the one tasked to facilitate them as they present their outputs.

I had a chance to be in a classroom again. Don't get me wrong, I've been in many classrooms since I graduated from the uni but this time it was different. It was nostalgic to be in a room again with students. Though the time was limited, still I'm thankful for the opportunity given to me. I was nervous too because of their expectations of me. It was my first time being with uni students and the fact that they are taller than me made me want to stay in the corner too. Kidding. They are respectful even though I'm not their real teacher.

Other people wouldn't believe that I'm a teacher. They are sceptical about how I will handle students who will be bigger and taller than me. Of course, it's intimidating but I would never have graduated from the uni if I failed by their standards. Surely, there are ways. We just have to find out whichever works out.

The first group was tasked to arrange a gallery walk on the works of Jose Rizal. These are their costumes.

They also prepared several instructional materials that are as beautiful as them.

The other half of the students had presented a featurette montage on the Life of Jose Rizal. In my opinion, they all exceeded my expectations. All of their efforts and creativity were visible and I can say that they did well.

When I was in the uni, this subject was taught through discussion. We never had a chance to channel our creativity and learn the subject enjoyably because we are confined to the four corners of the classroom, reading books.

Also when it was our time in the uni, we aren't that presentable. Some tried to look presentable but end up looking like they are trying hard. The students I got to deal with earlier and last Monday we're presentable. They are indeed ready to be teachers in the coming years. I remember our practice teaching supervisors back then used to remind us that we should always wear make-up and be presentable at all times. But still, some were hard-headed and went on with their lives without minding looking presentable.

Another subtle difference is that those students are more creative and knowledgeable in presenting their ideas. They only have to practice and they need a little bit of skills training and then they are good to go.

Anyhow, I'm glad to have been given an opportunity and to learn as well that such kinds of activities could be effective strategies in teaching the course: Life and Works of Jose Rizal. At least I could have ideas on what to do in the future if I would be given a chance to teach the same subject too.

I was like a para teacher for today. And it's nice to be with students who were as tall as me. They inspire me to study well and look presentable always. Because whether we like it or not, the way we dress speaks volumes about our personality and it eventually commands respect.

That's about it, friends! Thanks for your time!

5
$ 1.36
$ 1.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.04 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
1 year ago

Comments

Teacher kana talaga mamsh. Na feel na nako mamsh. Asa ka run nag work mamsh sa Sogod? Naalala ko tuloy mga experiences ko mamsh.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Sogod maamsh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Awit na Rizal course yan. Hahaha. Masagana naman sya kaso hindi ko maeenjoy since hindi ako makabayan talaga charr.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha too bad

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Iba na talaga mga bata ngayon, fashionista hehe.

Pasang awa ako sa Rizal na subject nun kasi hindi ako nag attend ng play about him. Un lang. Otherwise, taas ng grade ko jan sana. Nag power trip un prof namin jan nun e. Nawalan ako ng respeto sa kanya haha!

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Aesthetic daw ang trend ngayon.

Natiming ka sa power tripping ng prof mo. May ganyan talaga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Puro report lang kami sa subject na yan before ate tapos gusto nung namin isusulat po sa Manila paper and ireport Namin within 10 minutes. Halos nagrap na po ako pero di pa rin po enough Yung 10 minutes hahaha.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hahaha parang joke lang beb

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Puro report lang kami sa subject na yan before ate tapos gusto nung namin isusulat po sa Manila paper and ireport Namin within 10 minutes. Halos nagrap na po ako pero di pa rin po enough Yung 10 minutes hahaha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Halaaa naalala ko din life and works of rizal na subj namiin super fun yun kasi nagkaron kami ng quiz in a form of game individual sya and yeah ang saya. Tapos na enjoy ko subj na yun kasi mas nakilala ko talaga si Rizal-more than the typical super smart, pambansang bayani who wrote Noli and El Fili. There's something in his ideologies that are not usually thought in highschool

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ah huh. Ah huh. That's good to hear.

$ 0.00
1 year ago