April: summer's gateway

11 29
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

April 1, 2022

Wonderful day friends! How's your Friday going so far? Have you published your April Fool's entry yet? I have read a few and I must say a lot of us have acquainted ourselves with this practice. As a kid, I never grow up observing April 1 as April Fools Day. For me, it is just a part of the two-month vacation. Back in the day, April and May spelled Summer Vacation. I remember how excited I am to spend some time with my cousins from my mom's side. Our vacation was never grand then but it is something I look forward to. I remember the days were spent lying in one room together with my aunts and cousins. My mom and her sisters would look back on the memorable days and share a laugh at the priceless experience they had before. Then, their topic would be diverted to their kids. Our aunts would go on praising our cousins who live in Bohol. They are pretty and they have fair skin. They speak in a very soft manner. It seems like their words are delicate.

Another thing that I look forward to every summer is the fiesta. It happens on the last Wednesday and Thursday of May. Though our family doesn't really celebrate the occasion, I still look forward to it because of the many activities that it brings. I especially missed the days when the streets were hard to pass because of the huge crowd. My grandma's house is just two blocks away from the basketball court and from there we can hear the loud noise every night for one week. Our barangay officials would prepare activities every day and night. Back then, every night we would hear vibrations from grandma's cupboard due to the loud noise from the court. The young people and the young at heart would spend the night drinking and dancing. I love those days because my cousins from away places would come home and also there will be lots of good-looking men that would visit the barangay for them to join in the basketball league. Good-looking guys back then for me are vitamins for my eyes.

The last thing that I look forward before during summer vacations is the afternoon spent on the street. I remember my neighbors would play different games every day and no matter how I badly want to join them, they can't let me because I'm weak. I don't run fast and I will just be a burden to the group. I was never the sporty- type of kid. I was never good at running, jumping rope, and even in Chinese garter. Maybe when God made me, the sporty ingredient was out of stock.

It really feels good to look back on the things that excite us before. Those days were carefree and stress-free. We still don't stress about work and we don't worry much about tomorrow. A part of us wanted to go back to the good old days but it would be useless and we don't have a choice but to march forward. Things may not be the way they seemed. We may have gone through a lot of changes. We may be afraid of the unknown and worrisome about tomorrow but the thing that we ought to do is to face it. A different set of things can excite us now. We have grown up. This is what we longed for and wished for before, right? No, there is no turning back. We have to march and move on. The things from the past will only be remembered as an inspiration. We no longer live there. Here is our present and we gotta live now while we march forward for the future.

Thanks for your time. Until the next read!

*Lead Image is from Unsplash.com

5
$ 1.21
$ 1.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
+ 3
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Ay namiss ko ang bakasyon sa side ng nanay ko ksi may basketball league din don. Kakamiss din mga pinsan ko non na kasama ko lagi sa discuhan at inuman hehehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha sis no karun kay pandemic man lage unta mabalik na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Miss ko na din fiesta dito sa barangay namin pero di naman ako umaattend hahah..sa liga lang ako interested.. at speaking of chinese garter ..naglaro din kami niyan noong elementary..boys vs. girls..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha classmate din namin noon sumasali mga panggulo. Tapos pag fiesta sa maraming tao lang ako excited nakakamiss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di uso ang fiesta dito sa amin nun at di rin uso ang April Fools hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

social media ang nagpauso

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo din. Naaadopt na natin ibang cultures.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Fiesta tlga kpg May madami hehe. Iwan lng sa pandemic 😅

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Na nakalimot na mga taw sa fiesta madam

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda talaga kapag may basketball league, tapos may crush kang pogi at shooter pa, ahehee.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahha relate sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago