18 since yesterday, happy birthday brother!

9 29
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

March 5, 2022

It took five years for me to finally have a brother. It was just only me and my elder sister. Though we were born two years apart, I still longed for someone whom I can play with. I can't remember how my childhood went with my sister by my side but I recall the time where I knew in my heart that I needed someone whom I can pass on the chores.

Having two girls, my dad yearned for a baby boy too just like what most of the dads wish. He hopes that one day he can have someone to help him with the works that requires much effort. And of course, who wouldn't want to have a mini me.

God being true to His promise, blessed us with a bouncing baby boy eight years ago today. As a kid, we would often see him by the river swimming alone. One time when our mom reprimanded him, he would now take off his clothes while swimming so we won't notice him but little did he know that we still notice because his hair is still wet and his skin is as dark as the night.

Growing up, my brother was bullied. Our neighbor who is the same age as him was the number one bully plus all of our neighbors. Having two elder sisters, my brother moves like a girl. He has this feminine gestures that would really make people assume that he is gay. Through the years at school, he endured bullying. Because he cannot be with boys because they only bully him, he stays with girls which further verified the assumptions of the people that surrounded us.

At first, I don't like how he moved but it never come to the point wherein I hated him. Even if I have issues regarding his personality, I am still his sister and I would still defend him from the public. As a family, we respect him and love him the way he is no matter his gender. He received a lot of hate from the public already and I bet he can't afford to have his family against him.

We were glad and thankful of the many ways my brother provide joy in our family. Being the youngest, he is the person whom everyone can run to. We would always ask favor from him. He is also mom's sidekick in doing household chores at the same time he is a doting uncle to our niece. They are partners in crime in the area of strolling. He is also my niece's personal hair stylist.

We are forever thankful to have him. We praise God for letting us keep him. I still remember when he was small. Maybe in Grade One. It was sunday morning, when his eyes had abnormal movements and he had seizure. Prior to that morning, he had a fever. We were advised to put wet his body with water from the cold ice but nothing happened. Our father took him to the next barrio. Carrying my brother without a slipper, my father crossed the river for them to go to a known therapist in the nearby barangay. But he wasn't healed.

They seek medical assistance at the nearest hospital but there were no doctors there as it was sunday. Salivas in circle are coming out of my brother's mouth already and I can't uderstand what I felt that day. I kept on praying to the Lord to intervene and heal my brother.

Until all the way from Southern Leyte, they went to Tacloban City in the hope of getting the medical assistance that they seek. I wasn't able to keep my focus at school that time knowing that my only brother is unconcious at the hospital for three days. The doctors thought he couldn't make it but we cling to God.

He was healed. And after two weeks at the hospital, they were able to come home. My brother was diagnosed of viral encephalitis . We suspect that it may be because of the virus that he got from swimming in the river. Coming home from the hospital, my brother seemes to come back to zero. He has difficulty in speaking that time and he often forgets. He was still weak but the doctor advised us to let him go to school so his brain would be exercised. He still was on medication that time. A syrup prescribed by the doctor costs $14 and it only lasts for one week. He needs to be on that medication for two years if I remember it correctly.

It was a tough and challenging time for us as a family. My parent's savings intended for our college education was sacrificed and we had to make a lot of adjustments. However, we are thankful because God let us keep my brother.

He was so little that time to have undergone such horrible experiences. His life is a miracle and we couldn't be grateful to God for allowing us to witness His greatness. Indeed, God is good!

Yesterday, thirteen years ago since the off shot of that disease, we celebrate his eighteenth birthday. He is more than healthy now. He does well in school. A loving uncle and a responsible kid.

He sometimes forget what to buy at the store. My mom would ask him to buy cabbage but he got chayote instead. But still, no matter what, we love him anyway.

How about you? How did God show His mercy and miracle to the lives of your lovedones?

Care to share?

*Thank you so much madam @Jane for constantly believing in me! Take care!

Thank you for reading! Happy Saturday!

*All the images are mine and some are edited on canva.

2
$ 0.48
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
Sponsors of Murakamii.7
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Murakamii.7
2 years ago

Comments

Oh no, he is just living his life and people should give him a break. It is really bad that someone would be single out to be bullied for being whom they are and parents must honestly reprimand their kids that bully others.

Happy birthday to your sweet younger brother. Please always stand by him and help him gain his confidence.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday sa brother mo sis.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maraming thank you sis!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to your brother. May Almighty shower him with a healthy health, lots of happiness and prosperity. I can feel you as I know how it feels when you see the sufferings of your loved ones. But it is great that he is okay now and doing great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis. God is great for healing him.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wait..taga southern leyte kyo? Kapatid ko rn bday kahapon at yun yung may sakit..

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes sis southern leyte kami. Magka birthday pala sila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy B.day sa imo bro.lyd ag pakals. Btaw mi experience na d.i na imo bro ug ingana noh.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Salamat chor!

$ 0.00
2 years ago