Ratargul Swamp Forest

8 57
Avatar for Munia
Written by
3 years ago

Ratargul is the only freshwater swamp forest and wildlife sanctuary of Bangladesh, located at Gowainghat in Sylhet. Ratargul is known as the 'Sundarbans of Sylhet'. This Ratargul swamp forest is submerged for four to five months under 20-30 feet water in a year.

Many tourists from different parts of Bangladesh came to see the submerged forest trees. Many tourists also call Ratargul as the Amazon of Bangladesh. In the rainy season, various species of birds are seen on the branches of trees and then some wild animals also take shelter in the branches of trees. There are also thousands of guest bird in winter. The best time to visit Ratargul is usually from July to October (Rainy season).

In last six years, I have had the good fortune to visit many places of Sylhet. I always have a huge emotion for this place. The first time I went there on a rainy day. I can not express my good feelings in words. On a rainy day in such a dense forest, when our boat was moving slowly, a totally different kind of peace was working in my mind. A calm, soothing atmosphere was all around, along with the chirping of birds, the water of the forest and the sound of the rain, created a beautiful melody throughout the whole environment.

There was a teenager as a boatman in our boat, his singing voice was wonderful. I talked to him. I asked him how he learned such a beautiful song. Then it seemed to me that if someone grew up in such a beautiful melodious environment, it would be normal for him to have such a melody in his throat.

Two tea seller were sitting in another boat with many stuff such Biscuits, Chips, Chanachur.We didn’t miss the opportunity of drinking tea in a boat and I enjoyed this moment most.

The second time, when I visited there,I made a plan about one month ago.I wanted to visit there wearing a Shari, A Traditional dress of our Bengali girls. I could not resist myself to take many pictures by wearing a sari in such a beautiful place.

However, at that time the nature was not as, wonderful as the first time. Because It was a sunny day. But still It will be one of the best memorable days of my life for various reasons.

Every time I go to Sylhet in future, I want to visit Ratargul at every time, I will love to see the wonderful nature again.

If You will be able to visit Sylhet , You must try to go there, I hope you will be loved this place as like me.

12
$ 0.44
$ 0.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @aminul
Sponsors of Munia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Munia
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This place are amazing. I don’t go there but i show it on youtube. I am so fare from Sylhet. But i love travelling i hope one day i go there. Your photos are good also your writing skill. Thank you for sharing this awesome article to us. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

There are lots of beautiful tourist spots in Sylhet, If you get any opportunity to visit Sylhet, You must try to travel Ratargul. I have a lots of memories with this place. I just express myself, thank you so much for your kind words.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What a great photos you made. I can imagine it's quiet an experience to be there. I wonder how it sounds and feels. Thanks for sharing. 👍🍀

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That day all pictures were taken by my friend's mobile phone, But you know the sad matter was that he lost his phone the next day. I had only a few of these.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice place and nice photography..specially with your loved one😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you dear 😍

$ 0.00
3 years ago