Traditional Snacks Typical Of My Beloved City

9 33
Avatar for Mudi97
Written by
1 year ago

In every city in various countries must have traditional food that is very clearly delicious. But are there any snacks in your place that were no longer produced and after a while many were selling them again?

Yup, in my city, Samarinda, there is such a thing as "Kue Cincin". Why is it called Kue Cincin or Ring Cake? I'm not sure why it's called Ring Cake. But some traders explain that the way of making it is by connecting the dough on the finger to resemble a ring. And when the cake is cooked, it is rectangular and in between there are 4 holes that you can insert your fingers, like using a ring.

this this is a traditional cake typical of my city, Samarinda

"What are the ingredients used to make the cake?"

I had time to ask the merchant at that time. The ingredients used are rice flour, bananas, brown sugar, granulated sugar, boiled water and cooking oil. And for how to make it I can't explain it because when I bought this cake it was already cooked. So I couldn't see the process of making it directly and of course this cake is cooked by frying.

"What about the texture and taste? Is it sweet?"

Of course the taste of this cake is sweet thanks to the mixture of brown sugar and sugar in it. And the texture is crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. This cake is best eaten while relaxing and accompanied by a cup of coffee or plain tea. The reason why it is drunk with plain coffee or tea is because this cake is already very sweet. So you don't need to add sugar in your drink or you can add a little sugar so it doesn't taste too bland.

Crispy on the outside but soft on the inside

Oh ya, earlier I explained why this cake was rare and finally booming again, right? That's because our deputy governor is very fond of this traditional cake and had complained that he was having a hard time finding this cake on social media. And it wasn't long before many sellers ended up selling this sweet snack all over the city and were very grateful that so many people bought this cake.

And for the price this cake is very cheap, the price of 1 cake is sold at a price of $ 0.067 only. Pretty cheap isn't it?

Sponsors of Mudi97
empty
empty
empty

So, that's one of the traditional snacks typical of the city of Samarinda, my beloved hometown. Actually there are many traditional snacks typical of my city, it's just that I haven't had time to explore them because I'm busy with my current job. Just pray that I'm not too busy so I can look for other traditional cakes you haven't seen before.

Lead image from pixabay.com
All illustration image from my own capture

7
$ 0.90
$ 0.85 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ayukyukyu2
Sponsors of Mudi97
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mudi97
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I looks delicious, I will try it at home as the ingredients was not hard to find and seems it is easy to do...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree, that looks so delicious. We have this snack called pretzel that looks like your Ring cake. The difference is that yours is a traditional food and it's soft in the side. Pretzel is only a biscuit covered with chocolate.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hmm it seems very delicious traditional food that you have. I'm so hungry again now hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It looks very delicious, and I'm craving for it, especially its price is very kow everyone can afford it easily, local foods sometimes take superiority to brands, and i love it. In here, i my country, Barfi is my favorite sweet food, it also tastes sweet, i will write on barfi someday and i got an idea from your article.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I'm glad you got the idea to make my next article. I hope you will write about your favorite sweet food soon. because I'm curious hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rice flour is not popular here, mostly wheat flour. I love your baked goods that they are so sweet that you don't have to add sugar to your tea. It's probably super sweet.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

In Indonesia, rice flour itself is very popular. There are even many types of flour that are widely used in our traditional foods. But this cake is not baked, but fried mate hehe. Hmm, I think I got the idea to make an article about flour. Thanks for the ideas you gave mate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Its shape is also similar to the shape of a chocolate coated biscuit which is also categorized as snacks here in our country.. We called it pretzel.. Maybe you notice..someone commented this already....

$ 0.01
1 year ago

hahaha yes, @lonestranger has also told about the traditional food you mentioned. But I'm curious what it looks like other than I have to see it on the internet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago