Martin's 3 AM Poetry Slam

10 50

It's almost 3 AM. And I'm still not sleeping - even though I was dead tired four hours ago already.

Why?

Oh, the usual... An insanely loud party a couple of hundred meters away is keeping me awake...

But the music is actually quite good. I almost felt bad calling the police about it. But that feeling faded when the police didn't answer the phone. Twice. I kept it ringing for about a minute or two both times - until I felt like I was disturbing the police with the phone ringing and hung up... After all how could I complain about noise keeping me awake when I was causing a noise disturbance to someone else? Even though that someone else doesn't seem to be doing their job...

Well ok, I didn't call the emergency number. I called the regular landline for non-emergencies. I guess it's fine if the police doesn't answer that phone...

However, there isn't really anything that they would do - until around 5 AM maybe. I'm speaking from experience...

Why?

The really loud parties have lots of people attending them. And the police won't go near them unless they have boat loads of officers in riot gear present. I guess they don't want to be injured by beer bottles and cobblestones... Understandable. I wouldn't want that either - if I were them.

And who really cares if a blogger can sleep at night or whether he can't? Or whether any of his hundreds of neighbors can sleep or not - whatever their jobs may be. Whatever their jobs may be, their jobs can't be very important. They can't be very important. Otherwise, I - being their neighbor - could sleep well at night. Maybe apart from worrying about having to pay the rent. Because let's face it: "Important people" don't live where I live. Because I live where the rent is affordable. The rent isn't unobtainable where I live. But sleep is...

I guess I get what I pay for: Sleep deprivation...

I always thought that keeping people awake against their will was considered torture. It turns out it's just culture...

I get a lot of culture where I live. Especially at night...

Wouldn't it be nice if we had an off switch for our hearing? I could need it every single night...

Why is that called poetry slam?

You may think it isn't. I thought it was. Maybe it is. Maybe it isn't. But that's the title now and I won't change it. I like it. 'Cause it rhymes. ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ™ˆ

5
$ 8.91
$ 8.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @Crackers
+ 4
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Open my radio On is my saviour when it comes to noisy neighborhood

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We had a crazy neighborhood before, not only being noisy but also a harbinger of doom! They almost burned everyone in their vicinity because they left an electric stove open for hours while cooking meat. ๐Ÿคฆโ€โ™‚๏ธ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Don't you want to find a new place where there is no neighbor like that? Maybe you can find a very affordable one somewhere. If that's me, gahhh I will really pack my clothes and find a new place. But before I do that I leave a souvenir where you will play a party song all night and let their eardrums bangggg with the loud sounds, gosh they are sooo arghhh. I hate thay kind of neighbors!

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, I really should try to find another place, but then I would run out of content for my blog. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ™ˆ Just kidding!

You are right. I should dedicate more time into searching for another place. Unfortunately, I do have a lot of stuff, though. I need to get rid off most of it. That would make moving so much easier. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ahm.. I was expecting real poetry. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ I feel this every time these Chinese people quarreling at midnight.. Inconsiderate...it's okay for them coz they can extend their sleep. But I need to wake up early the next day. But for a full-time blogger like you. It doesn't matter. ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคฃ๐Ÿคž because you can simply extend your sleep after the party haha.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I do work a day job, too. And I feel like s#ยกt the next day if I didn't fall asleep early enough. ๐Ÿ˜…

I'm pretty sure that it's unhealthy to be forced to stay awake when you're actually really tired.

Yeah sorry, Germany is known as the country where poets and thinkers come from. In my case it's more thinking than being a poet. ๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just wait for a miracle whenever neighbors are having a late night karaoke party. I always sleep after three hours most, of being awake due to the noise. I also wish we have a switch for the ears. LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That would be so nice. ๐Ÿ‘

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Earplugs safe my life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do use them as well. ๐Ÿ‘ Unfortunately, they have their limitations. I should try if noise canceling headphones in addition to earplugs solve the problem.

$ 0.00
2 years ago