How it Was to Mine Crypto on SmartBCH for the Very First Time in My Life

18 110

Wouldn't it be great to be rich?

Sure who wouldn't want that?

Wouldn't it be great to become rich without having to work for it?

Of course, that would be even better.

Have you heard of crypto mining?

Yeah, let's use our computers to work for us and make us rich, shall we?

Let's try crypto mining on smartBCH!

Alright. Here is my experience mining crypto for the first time in my life. SmartMaze token was the first crypto which can be mined on smartBCH. I learned about it as one of the first people in the world in a SmartBCH related Telegram group. And I was eager to try mining it - and get incredibly wealthy in the process, of course. 😅🙈

Let's see how well that went...

As I mentioned already, I have never mined crypto before - even though I heard about mining Bitcoin in 2012. And I wanted to try it back then, but the computer I had at the time didn't have a powerful graphics card, so I decided that it was probably not even worth trying. And I ended up not mining any Bitcoin in 2012. 🙈

Today I'm listening to YouTube videos by someone who made the opposite decision and became incredibly wealthy because of it... If I had decided to mine back then, then that could have changed my life completely. 🙈

"I wont make that mistake again", I thought to myself.

Usually, being early in a good crypto is great for making lots of profits. And I was early with smartMaze. Therefore, I was excited to try mining it.

The setup

The computer

First of all, we need a computer. I only have a relatively slow notebook, but hey, let's try it anyway. And with the profits I can probably buy a fast PC for future mining.

The software

The instructions were relatively easy to follow - if you're used to using the bash command line on Linux. You need a Linux computer or a Windows 10 computer with the Linux subsystem activated and Ubuntu or Debian Linux installed on that subsystem.

  • So, I searched for a tutorial on how to activate the Linux subsystem on Windows 10.

  • Then I installed Ubuntu.

  • Then I installed the necessary software for mining and for compiling the code in Ubuntu.

  • Then I downloaded the smartMaze code from github.

  • Then I followed the instructions for compiling and running the code.

  • I also installed a new Metamask wallet just for mining, because I had to insert the private key into the mining software and felt uncomfortable doing that with my main wallet.

And with lots of excitement, I started the mining software for the very first time after a couple of hours of setup.

And it didn't work...

After a lot of futile attempts to fix the configuration of the mining software and asking for help in the Telegram group, it turned out that smartBCH had a problem and the nodes were offline...

I decided to call it a day and wait... The next day the smartBCH problem was solved and I tried mining again.

And again, the mining software didn't work. I received the same non-descript error message...

After a few more futile attempts to try and change the miner configuration and recompiling the code, I read in another Telegram group that my wallet needs to contain some BCH in it to pay the fees for receiving the mining rewards.

Wait what?

I thought that I would earn crypto by mining it. I didn't think that I needed to pay with crypto for the privilege of running my computer. 😅

Well, I couldn't stop now, because I had spent so much time and effort on trying to mine and I didn't want it to be in vain. I wanted to have the mining rewards. 😅

Filling my mining wallet

So I sent 0.01 BCH on smartBCH from my main wallet to my mining wallet and I tried to mine again.

This time everything worked and the non-descript error message was gone.

My computer didn't seem too slow for mining, because the mining difficulty was still very low for this new token. My computer submitted a solution for approximately every second block.

All good things come to an end...

After about 15 minutes the mining stopped, because my mining wallet ran out of BCH. 😅🙈

0.01 BCH were almost completely used up. 😅 The remaining crypto was just enough for the rewards to be sent to my main wallet.

So how much did I earn?

I was curious to find out how rich I became. 🤑 However, there is a slight problem: I received almost 78,000 smartMaze tokens, but I don't know how much they are worth, because the token is not listed on Benswap yet... And Benswap is currently the only exchange for smartBCH.

Alright to recap

After trying to get the mining software to work for a couple of hours over the past few days, I had fun watching the mining software do its thing for about 15 minutes. And then my $6.50 worth of BCH was gone and I was left with approximately 78,000 Maze tokens - which I can't sell anywhere yet, because they aren't listed on any exchange... I can also not put them into a liquidity pool to earn some trading fees for the exact same reason.

Was it worth it?

I would say that it was an interesting experience. I experienced being a miner for about 15 minutes and I felt so smart while doing this.

When I saw my depleted wallet afterwards, I didn't feel all that smart in the end. 🙈

Oh well.

Let me know in the comments:.

Do you want to try mining on smartBCH?

If you do, there are two things to keep in mind:

  • SmartBCH currently runs with higher fees as intended. A bug made it necessary to set the gas fees to 1.05 GWEI. In about two months this will be fixed and the gas fees will end up being 10 times cheaper.

  • SmartBCH has a protection against front-running built in. That means that if there are multiple solutions to a mining problem sent in, a random solution will be selected as the winner. And that solution is not necessarily the first submission.

    So you can be the first who found a solution, but you may not win the mining reward if someone else finds a solution within the 13 seconds time window of one block. And what's even worse is that you have to pay even if you won't receive the reward...

    This problem could become less relevant if the mining difficulty is increased.

21
$ 16.11
$ 15.04 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.53 from @Telesfor
$ 0.11 from @fantagira
+ 8
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I was searching about crypto mining then I saw this article . That was cool I never thought about that. I will try it later. Thank you . Am I too late for that ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I just started buying $EBEN as it was for presale and I am happy with the returns right now, almost 5-6x of the value I put in as the coin's pumping. Mining is a new thing for me, I would like to try it out in SmartBCH when I got some time this weekend.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Good luck to you and congratulations on the EBEN returns. I wish I bought more than just 15 to try out Benswap. 😅🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't even know you could do token mining for SmartBCH. I only know this page for creating tokens.

https://smartbch.fountainhead.cash/smartslp/

$ 0.25
2 years ago

Haha, yeah, I had no idea either until I read it in some Telegram group. I was then surprised to learn that I needed to pay gas fees if I wanted to receive the rewards for mining. Therefore, in the end you exchange electricity, time and BCH for the new token. And I actually really don't want to see my BCH decrease. 😅

It was also interesting to learn that the reward winner is chosen at random by the smartBCH block validators.

PS: Thank you for the link. I didn't know about that site.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, that was an interesting experiment. Do you think you’ll try it again in the future?

$ 0.10
2 years ago

I'm not quite sure. The tokenomics of mining on smartBCH are a bit tricky as you have to pay the fees in BCH - and I do love BCH and don't like to see my bag decrease. 😅

It was a nice experiment and I will definitely hold the Maze position I built. I may also try mining once the fees are reduced.

Are you interested in trying to mine, too?

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Yeah, I thought it was weird with the fees. I’d like to try, but getting my head around the process of setting it all up always seems a bit too daunting for me 🙈

$ 0.05
2 years ago

If you have used the Linux command line it won't be hard. Otherwise it may be very confusing. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have used it in the past, but it was long time ago 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's new to me, I wonder why it needs to pay to mine using your own software and stuff. It will be interesting though when MAZE gets listed and the price will moon then it will be worth it :)

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Haha, I was very surprised as well that I had to pay fees in addition to having to pay for electricity. 😅

Let's see what the price does and if I will get my 0.01 BCH back at least when I sell the tokens. 😅🙈

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Surprising indeed :D But yes, let's look forward to that :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The only two that I am kindly mining for fun is Bee and Pi.

The other one which I had actually make money from is Doge. But it really started off as a joke so I join in the fun. It got paid off.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is too complicated for me Martin. 🤣 But for some this is gold! Cheers 😁

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Haha, yeah. I don't think the effort was worth the reward, but I had fun trying it out. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lots of learning on Crypto mining on SmartBCH from your article. Great

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much for your kind comment. 💚

$ 0.00
2 years ago