Do You Want the "Good Life" in 2021? Then Read This Article!

21 80

A Happy New Year 2021 to Everybody!

Finally, it's here. The new year. On my list of things that I won't miss, the year 2020 definitely takes one of the top spots... 🙈 I'm pretty sure that you will agree.

The Good Life

The good news is that the year 2021 begins with the "Good Life" for you. To be exact, I bring you the "Good Life".

You may wonder what I mean by that and how I can be so sure that I will bring you the "Good Life". Well, here it is: My faster and longer version of the song "Good Life" by "Eneko Artola". 😜😅🙈

Oops, I did it again.
I played with a song.
That has "no copyright".
Oh, baby, baby.

(Who recognizes the song whose lyrics I'm referring to by the way?)

Yes, I took another "no copyright song" that I kind of liked and modified it to where I like it even better. It's kind of a hobby of mine.

The song "Good Life" is a purposeful song for me. The title matches today's date January 1st, 2021 . Everybody is glad that 2020 is over and done with -- and is looking forward to the new year with the hope that it brings us the good life back. But the title is not what I mean when I say that this song is purposeful for me.

See, the thing is, I do teach fitness classes and within those classes there are different kinds of exercises. For the different exercises I need several types of songs in my music playlists. For some rhythmic exercises, I do need songs that have a rather monotonous, continues beat -- like this song does. As I do talk a lot while instructing the classes anyway, it is actually advantageous if there are not too many lyrics in the song.

"Good Life" by "Eneko Artola" fits this bill almost perfectly. It falls short in -- well -- its length. So we need to fix that -- aka make the song a bit longer. And it is also a little too slow for my taste -- and for my exercises, so we need to increase the tempo as well.

Increasing the tempo means playing a song faster while correcting for the resulting change in pitch -- more on that later. Playing a song faster the result even shorter than the original song, obviously -- giving us all the more reason to add some length to it.

How do we make a song longer?

Those of you who have read my latest article attentively can lower their hands. I'm proud of you for knowing the answer already. You all get a virtual gold star from me. ⭐

For everybody else, the answer is: We repeat a part of the song.

Most songs are really repetitive anyway, so our version won't stick out like a sore thumb. And I have actually heard of a study that shows most people like songs better the more repetitive they are. But no, Rihanna. That fact doesn't make your lyrics any better...

Ok, so we need to find a part of the song that we can repeat. It should have about the length that we want to add. And preferably, it should be a part that we like, because -- well, obviously, we will hear it more often than in the regular version of the song.

Here is the original song by the way. In case you want to try to find such a part on your own:

I found a part that we can repeat in the original song between 1 minute and 39.397 seconds and 2 minutes and 20.769 seconds. By the way, I write these numbers down in my articles in case I ever need to make that exact song longer again from scratch. Searching for these parts of a song does not take forever if you have some experience, but taking notes makes it a lot faster to find them a second time, of course.

After copy-pasting the mentioned part, we need to check if the song still sounds alright around the 2 minutes and 20 seconds mark where we jump back to the 1 minute and 39.397 seconds part of the song. In my case, the copy-pasting worked beautifully on the first try. The cut is so subtle that I couldn't tell there is one if I didn't know it. Ok, that's good news and now we can move on to

Speed. What we need more of is speed!

Yes, that is correct. Well almost. When we increase the speed, the pitch changes as well. Increasing the speed is basically playing the song faster. The sound waves are more squished together and therefore, everything sounds higher. Similar to how your voice sounds when you breathe helium. We don't want that. So we need to correct the pitch. My audio editor of choice Audacity can do that for us. All we have to do is select "change tempo" which preserves the pitch -- rather than "change speed" which changes the pitch. As a sidenote: You can even change the pitch without changing the speed. That means you can lower or raise your voice digitally if you're curious how that might sound.

Now that we are familiar with pitch, speed and tempo, let's continue.

Tempo. What we need more of is tempo!

For my exercises I would really like the song to be at about 128 bpm. Bpm stands for beats per minute and that is literally how often you tap with your finger in one minute if you tap along with the rhythm of the song. Of course, there is an app for that. Just have a look at bpm monitor apps. You tap the screen of your phone along with the beat of the song and the app calculates the according bpm.

That is the most reliable way to determine the beats per minute of a song. There are also algorithms that do a passable job most of the time, but I prefer to do it myself so that I know it's done right. There are also songs which change their bpm at some point. A human notices that intuitively, but the algorithms that I have tried before usually get confused by that change.

The standard version of the song sits at around 116 bpm. My experience (or Math if you don't enjoy the fun of guessing) tells me that if we speed the song up by about 12%, the rhythm is exactly where I want it to be. The next step is, of course, to increase the song's tempo by about 12% and have a listen. And the result sounds very rushed. Too bad, 12% is too much for the song to still sound good. Using the trial and error method, we experiment to find out with which increase in tempo we can still get away with. Soundwise, an increase of 6% is the sweet spot. I believe it does not sound rushed with a 6% increase. I actually like the faster version better. Unfortunately, the 6% increase brings the bpm to only 123. Not quite where I would like it to be, but close enough.

Do try this at home!

So that was it. My entire process of modifying the song. Maybe now you feel inspired to try it yourself. The software I use -- Audacity -- is free and it runs on Windows, macOS and Linux. Just download it, import the song you want to experiment with and see what you end up with.

Giveaway

Some of my readers may have come to this article expecting another giveaway. Unfortunately, this article does not contain one. But do subscribe and come back. I will run another giveaway very soon.

Comments

Which version of the song do you prefer? Which song would you like to modify? Will you try to do that? Let me know in the comments!

2021

Thank you very much for reading. May the new year bring you the good life. Not just a song that is called "Good Life".

By the way

I used this short clip to produce the music video with a budget of 0.

16
$ 8.01
$ 4.00 from @PVMihalache
$ 3.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @tired_momma
+ 3
Sponsors of MoreGainStrategies
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Didn't want rusty to be in front of me at the tips!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Haha, thank you very much. 😊👍

The noise.cash quiz was a lot of fun. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My brain hurts!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems that you really like 🎧 ðŸŽķ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for visiting and for the tip. I have just found you on noise.cash and sent you the tip I promised days ago. 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh on publishox.. I even forgot bout it 😅ðŸĪĢ

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Me too, until I saw your comment. 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So I was brought here because of your title, who wouldn't like a good life in 2021 but you got me here man. Anyway, you're good in editing hah, tho I'm not that fond with this kind of music because I'm into rock, alternative rocks something like that. But you're editing skills is really something and you give it to us with that kind of detailed explanation. But anyway, Happy New Year ðŸĪ 

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for visiting and for your comment. 😊

And thank you for not being mad about the title. I took a risk with this title. That's for sure. 😅 Some could see it as click bait, but it is actually a good-natured pun. Normally, my titles are not misleading. 😅

I wish you a happy new year, too. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahaha, you really got me there but it's okay, I enjoy the music while reading your article so, no problem at all 😃

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I thought I will be reading some tips ðŸĪŠ Well you have a great taste in music and you know how to make music better in your own magnificent way. Have a goodlife in this 2021 and years to come. A happier, healthier, full of music and life. Put more colours Martin. 🙈

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oh thank you very much for your kind words and for your tip. 😊

I wish you and your family a happy and above all healthy new year..

Hopefully, we will be able to do everything we were able to do earlier, so that you can visit lots of car shows and write about them and then I get to read it and compare every car to the silver Ford Sierra that my grandfather used to own. 😅🙈

How do you mean that I should put more colors? Do you mean into my video clips? 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Certainly music makes us lively and brings us to different levels of euphoria. I would like to hear more of your favorites.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Went to save your article. I've been trying to become a jack of all trades so I can create my own game. I managed to do well in the modeling sector, had some experience in the coding part, and made a few leitmotifs with my keyboard here, but not sound manipulation. This is a good post to keep track of.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you very much for visiting and for your kind words. I like Audacity a lot. I don't have any experience with game development, but I'm pretty sure this software will get you pretty far. It does offer quite a bit of functionality.

I wish you a lot of success with the game development. Have you already written an article about that project of yours? I'm curious to learn more about it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not really. I have a plan (RPG with BCH as a premium currency and NFT tokens for special items), I have a story (I am a roleplayer and I have a large universe set up already), and I have characters for it (ditto). Just have to clean it out because it started as my drawings back when I was 5 years old in 2006.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow, that's amazing. It almost sounds like you devoted your life to making that game. Hopefully, it will be a success. I certainly believe that crypto and NFTs in games will be a big topic in the future. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks for the Audacity tip regarding pitch and speed - I've just started getting to grips with this software now I have a decent mic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Happy new year with best wishes, nice article i love music so much. and thanks for your giveway on noise. com

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome. Thank you for visiting and happy new year to you as well. 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Music is the one thing that makes our heart happy and brings us smiles.

$ 0.00
3 years ago