Pink Floyd — Wish You Were Here: Illustrated by AI

1 28
Avatar for MoneyCanWorkForYou
1 year ago

A classic reinvented by AI

created by HungryMinded using Midjourney.AI


Pink Floyd is my favorite band. With strong concepts for albums, iconic cover art, and timeless lyrics they are the perfect candidates for AI illustrations.

Above you can see my attempt at recreating Wish You Were Here album cover art. Did you know that one of the guys on the original cover was actually lit on fire to make the shot? No special effects magic of today was used back then.

This was as close as I managed to get with the cover. But what about the lyrics?

I used only the lyrics themselves as prompts for Midjourney AI and these are the results I got. Some images came out pretty Floydian. I will share how you can try this tool for free at the bottom of the article.

I also made a video, if that’s what you prefer: watch here

Let’s get to it!

So, so you think you can tell
Heaven from Hell?

Blue skies from pain?

Can you tell a green field from a cold steel rail?

A smile from a veil? Do you think you can tell?

Did they get you to trade your heroes for ghosts?

Hot ashes for trees?

Hot air for a cool breeze?

Cold comfort for change?

Did you exchange
A walk-on part in the war

For a lead role in a cage?

How I wish, how I wish you were here

We’re just two lost souls swimming in a fishbowl year after yea

Running over the same old ground, what have we found?

The same old fears, wish you were here

Try this yourself

What do you think? Are these images good enough to go with the music of Pink Floyd? Which ones do you think came out as the best ones?

You can easily try using this incredible tool yourself for free. To use Midjourney.AI you will need to have a Discord account. All you need to do is go to their website and click join the beta. Once on their Discord server choose one of the channels called “Newbies” and you are ready to go. Write /imagine with your text prompt and wait for the results. And you will be able to generate about 25 images for free.

If you are interested in Artificial intelligence and creativity, here is a list of articles on this topic I made:

AI and Creativity

Stay curious and stay HungryMinded!

Before you leave

If you enjoyed reading my work consider subscribing to get e-mails about my future writing on Medium - Sign up Here, or tipping me on Ko-Fi.

This article was originally posted by me on Medium

2
$ 0.00
Sponsors of MoneyCanWorkForYou
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MoneyCanWorkForYou
1 year ago

Comments

That's incredible

$ 0.00
1 year ago