MIST : Native Made Modern

2 23
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

"I want to live here." My 11-year-old niece's reaction when I asked how's MIST?

It isn't every day that I get to go to Panglao so when there's a chance, I'd definitely say yes to the opportunity. Panglao, Bohol is a haven of the white sand beach but also of great food hub choices. It has been home to many foreigners for the past years until last year, just like what I have mentioned in the previous blog, Moadto Strip, its tourism has been heavily affected by the pandemic and has lost a lot of its customers, so they resorted to local tourism instead.

New businesses bloom here and there, perhaps they had been planned and constructed pre-pandemic and didn't see the coming pandemic. Let's talk about this trending cafe at the heart of Panglao - MIST.

MIST

Bali-inspired restaurant located at Danao, Panglao which offers an international fashion of food and drinks. The construction of this cafe started in 2020, it was the hardest time for business due to the pandemic but surely, there's a bright future for Mist as its name is being in the spotlight not just for Bohol but for the entire Visayas region too!

Their social media page suggests calling it M🌴ST, yes with that tropical tree replacing the letter i. And according to the page, they are a diversified cafe and restaurant. Mist not only have innovative drinks but food as well. They have excellent baristas and have the most talented international standard kitchen team in Bohol. Every time we innovate, it's always amazing.

"We don’t want to be defined, we want to start a trend in this beautiful island of Bohol."

First Impression

I have high expectations of this cafe because of the photos I have seen online. There's this expectation versus reality war in social media marketing these days and photographs nowadays are not honest. I mean there are many ways to manipulate how a photograph would look and thus what we see online in photos might not be true in real life.

There are doubts in my mind as to if I'd be satisfied when we visit it but fortunately, Mist didn't disappoint!

From the time we stepped into the restaurant's entrance up to when we were bidding it goodbye, we were truly delighted that we visited it.

The native theme felt like home but the modern artistic touch made it unique impression in us that all of us said we will surely come back!

Interiors and Design

I have a problem expressing myself when it comes to adjectives, so bear with me as I walk you through the interiors of Mist Cafe.

Pastel brown, green and black dominate the business structure's color. From the nipa ceiling to the H metal beams, wood tiles, bamboo walls, hanging crate chairs, native lounges, and green plants. This three-story cafe gives different options in terms of the sitting arrangement, it has given customers a lot of choices!

at the first floor
2nd floor lounge area
bird cage

One can take the hanging crates and native chairs on the first floor, or perhaps the longer tables or lounges suitable for families of bigger groups on the second floor, that's where we were sitting as offered by the staff, or maybe the layered tables at the third floor suitable for the younger individuals. There's even an air-conditioned room too which was not available for usage when we came. There's a birdcage on both the second and third floors which has a view of the highway while the third floor is a perfect spot for sunset viewing! I wish we had some time to watch the sunset but let's keep that for our next visit.

I surely love how the elements just coincide to bring out the beauty of the local materials, nipa, bamboo, and wood. I am quite sure they were sourced locally.

And oh, did I mention as well that aside from those mentioned above, there were even playful touches made for kids, a slide, and a hanging net lounge too!

Plants, those trending plants also are nourished here. As we entered the cafe, we were greeted by huge leaves and green dancing sheets of these plants. It added a relaxing vibe and it feels good to find something refreshing in a restaurant.

Food and Pricing

It was three in the afternoon when we came and there were only two groups of customers around so it was good timing. The staff immediately pointed us to the second floor where there's a place for our kids to sleep, I so much appreciated that they have considered making a spot for kids too!

We ordered snacks, lasagna, chicken burger, fries but I also got a plate of California Maki as I haven't had one for months now. For the drinks, we got lychee and mango pudding milk teas, some had Hazelnut Chocolate drink and I requested an Iced Baby Bear Latte which is the cutest latte I ever had.

The pricing was reasonable! For me, if I compare it to the other restaurants we had tried in Cebu or even in Bohol, it is affordable, and considering how instagrammable if that's even a term and well thought this restaurant is, they had hit the perfect combo with good food at an affordable price!

Since there were only two groups of customers when we were there, our orders came pretty fast and were served immediately! I guess their serving time defers depending on the number of guests as I have heard a friend who said they waited long for their order. I guess the restaurant was full at that time. I have to also commend their staff for being so accommodating and helpful.

Conclusion

I researched and couldn't find who owns this cafe. I know it has a sister restaurant that is Vietnamese-inspired as well and I guess that would be our next destination.

The Mist had truly left a good impression on me and I know we will be coming back soon, this time, I will tag my husband with me and we will bring a decent camera so I could give justice to their beautiful interiors, their furniture, and even for their food presentation!

In a conclusion, I would like to recommend this restaurant to everyone who is in Bohol or those who are going to visit Bohol soon. This restaurant is not just pretty but also playfully well thought of. You will see in each corner that the designer and owner had made extra efforts in making sure that the cafe would suit every age.


xoxo,

mommy jean of momentswithmatti

Love harder than any pain you've ever felt.

4
$ 11.92
$ 11.86 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.03 from @BCHAdvocate
Sponsors of Momentswithmatti
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Momentswithmatti
2 years ago

Comments

That was cool. I am listing places I want to travel soon maybe I'll put that in the stop over lists when I'll visit Bohol.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

go for it sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago