Crushed by Money

4 19
Avatar for Mollycious07
2 years ago
Topics: True Story, Family

As a Filipino, we naturally value our families. Oftentimes, you can see that in a single house there occupies a family starting from their grandparents down to their children and grandchildren. That's what makes even a tiny house loud and happy. Laughters are evident even from a far making you somewhat jealous of what they have. But is it really an advantage living in the same house or compound with your aunts, cousins and siblings although you all have your own families? I guess it all depends on how strong your love for each other really is. That no matter what comes in between, blood will always be thicker than water.

15 years ago, our family was very happy living in a compound where my aunts and uncles also live. Me and my younger brother always play with our cousins, we also walk to school together and go home together. We were living just fine, having simple lives doing normal things. Not until our parents argued. I witnessed that certain incident where all of my uncles and aunts fought with my parents. All of them pointed fingers, looked down at my parents and told them bad things. They all claimed that everything is theirs and that my parents, especially my mother, has no right living in our house in that same compound. Suddenly, the fact that we were living near my grandmother's house became an issue like they were jealous that we were living way better compared to them. That was the time where our family witnessed their true intentions and colors.

My father used to work abroad and with that, my parents were able to provide money for my grandmother especially on the construction of her house and in the same compound. Thus, they all depended to my parents' fortune. They were very good to us and that was the time where everything was perfect. The construction were finished and when my parents decided to live separately and have our own house, they insisted that we should just live there especially my grandmother. That was the reason why we were living in the same compound. Years have passed and my mother asked my father to not renew his contract anymore and just be together being contented with their savings. With that, everything started to change.

When my parents can't provide for my grandmother, aunts and uncles with what they needed their treatment started to change. They became mean and materialistic. It continued until they have joined forces to evict us and make us leave our house. It was a nightmare to me until now. I always consider that incident as my darkest past. After some years of understanding their behavior, my parents decided to just leave and have a quiet life away from them. We cut our contact with them, I can no longer treat my cousins the same way as before and I can no longer be close with my aunts and uncles.

They didn't stopped there actually. They still disturbed us whenever they see that we were living just fine and getting better. They can't stand seeing our family rise and they are always on what businesses my parents do. Thus, until now, I still can't show my respect to them. I may say hi whenever they approach us but I already lost my respect to them. I can't see them as my uncle/ aunt anymore. All our experiences in life taught me to live independently and to love my siblings. We promised to each other that we will not become like them and that we will always be close to each other and be at each other's back.

At present, they asked forgiveness and we accepted that especially my mom who was betrayed by her own family. We no longer expect anything from them and we just focused on our lives. We will soon reach our dreams and we will not let them look down and step on us anymore. Me and my siblings promised our parents that we will live a good life and we aim to give our parents the kind of life that they deserved. That kind of life our relatives stole from them. As much as we can, we will give our best to treat our parents the best that we could give. That is what life should be, give and take. We should not step on others just to rise above instead, we should just strive for the best.

4
$ 0.03
$ 0.03 from @taTtoOdRoSe4
Avatar for Mollycious07
2 years ago
Topics: True Story, Family

Comments

That's sad but a reality nowadays. When you can't give to your other relatives you are nothing to them but a stranger. That's why I have told myself that it's better to be with strangers than to have our family whom we thought we can depend on when things get terrible.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agree.. That is why we should just surround ourselves with people who truly cares for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi its sad to know that the family that we called is the one that we can depend on but its not I have also experience that but in our case my cousins are the one who evicted my aunties and us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Disappointing indeed but that's just how we can see those who truly loves us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago