What Is Life Without Freedom

4 59
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago

So today while walking from home after a class in school. A friend of mine engaged in a conversation or argument with me. She talked about how terrible the situations of things are currently in the country and how we need a military leader. I was a bit shocked and surprised by her opinion that I had no chose but to respond to her. I totally disagreed with her and explained my reasons.

In my opinion, no matter how bad or corrupted a country is I believe that the military should never intervene. Democracy should be the system of any government in the society. It is the government from the people, by the people and for the people. Once the military takes over immediately becomes an authoritarian government.

When the military takes over it is not a clean affair as most of the time a coup takes place and the military installs themselves as the new government. As we all know there is hardly any peaceful coup, most if not all of the time unnecessary blood is shed. We can find examples all over Africa and in South America where the military has forcefully taken over. Overthrowing an elected government.

They state different reasons for doing this but none of it is justified. They have no right to overthrow a democratically elected government and none of their reasons is good enough.

Where a military government exist there is hardly any freedom. No right of speech freedom and expression. Your rights are trampled upon and you don't get to voice out your opinion or protest. You do as you are told no questions ask. You live in perpetual bondage and fear knowing that you can be arrested anytime for any reason whatsoever. Is that truly life?

The beauty of life is in the choices that we make. The fact that we get to do the things we want when we want to. This let's us have experiences and memories that we will cherish forever. Life is something that we should all enjoy as we have it only for a while so why should we allow someone to ruin it for us. We should not live like caged birds but set free ready to soar high like an eagle. Life is nothing with freedom.

When I was explaining my reasons to her of how a military government is never a good thing and I stated my reasons one of which was lack of fundamental human right, I started to think of this. Is it really worth it to have a working government but your rights and freedom to make choices taken away from you. What will you tell your children? That you allowed this to happen.

The main point of my argument was that the military almost always take the right of the citizens once they are in power. Their rights are trampled upon and no one gets to talk out anymore especially if they are doing something against the constitution or worse the Rule of Law.

Most times they are just as bad as the government that was ousted if not worse. There are many disadvantages too many to list but like I will always say no matter how bad a democratically elected government is, I will always take it over a military government. In some cases the frying pan is far better than the fire.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

To my amazing sponsors, you guys are the best. Thanks for sticking with me all through this time. You are really one in a million.

I don't think I was able to convince her with my point as she was stuck with her opinion of the country needing a firm hand. Someone who doesn't take rubbish and is disciplined. She went to a military school and this made and strengthened her opinion. She has a point but most of the time things like that don't work out well and the leader goes to far thus becoming power drunk.

I will probably write another article on the effects of military rule using my country as a case study but that's an article for another day.

Till next time.

10
$ 10.60
$ 10.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.01 from @Oluwa_damilare
$ 0.01 from @positivelife
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Honestly we need someone who is firm, also the government should help in this everyday killing. What I know for sure is that if they are ready to work on those killing the innocent everyday,they will surely get them .

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was so proud living in a country with freedom yet I'm so sad when watching or hearing about other people in different countries whom never experienced freedom and hear they voices for help unanswered. I hope there's a changes for they political system. Keep safe everyone.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually, you are not wrong, but I'll say your point is accurate back in the nineties when the democratic government had the interest of the people at heart. Everything you mentioned here as the consequences of having a military regime is without one failing accredited to our so-called democratic government. We don't have the right to protest; they kill us anyhow. We are suffering despite the fact that we are under civilian rule. Democracy has failed us. In fact, the military rule back then was far, far better than this. It shouldn't even be compared. They claim to be ruling us by the law and constitution but are being ruled with red hot iron.

Hereby, I'm not supporting any system.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Freedom should be directed towards obedience to the laws of the land and government!

$ 0.01
2 years ago