The Feeling Only Football Can Give

14 39
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Football, Sport, Emotion

Yesterday night around 8pm while I was watching my darling football team Barcelona FC play I started to think about the emotions involved in football particularly the people watching it. This thought came to my mind because my dad was in the sitting room watching the match with me on the TV. He said that I was a totally different person anytime I am watching Barcelona play.

That I am always focused on the screen and my attention is solely fixed on the match. He said that I can be very emotional. Anytime they are playing well I am happy and anytime they are playing rubbish I am sad, angry or moody. This is definitely true and he is not exaggerating at all. I am an entirely different person when I'm watching football. It's like a spirit comes upon me (probably a football spirit). I am was focused and avoid any form of distractions. If only I am this focused on my academics.

What I am saying is that for most regular or die hard football fans they are in a different world or realm when they are watching their favorite team play or maybe just watching a regular football match. There are many match viewing centers in my country and they are always filled to the brim especially on weekends. That is when the major league in Europe play their league games.

I am talking about the EPL, Spanish LaLiga, Seria A, Bundesliga and Ligue 1 for England, Spain, Italy, Germany and French respectively. Everyone enjoys watching them especially the EPL. That's where the team of most football fans are. It is the most entertaining and competitive league in the world filled with action, drama and not forgetting controversies. It is the league of entertainment.

My team isn't in the EPL. It is in LaLiga. I support FC Barcelona, one of the greatest team in Spain and the world. We are only rivaled in the league by the two Madrid clubs. We have won countless trophies and have a very rich history. We boast of some of the best talents that the world of football have seen, has seen and will ever see. It's not easy being one of the biggest clubs in Europe.

We've had our ups and downs just like any other club but we have never let it pull us down. We have risen from the ashes and are begining to take over Europe one game after another. The reason why I wrote this article was because of my team. We had a match in the league yesterday and I had different thoughts about the game. I was impressed with the result but I wasn't impressed with the game. We could have done better and we should have done better but well that's football for you.

Throughout the game my mind wasn't at rest as I feared that we would draw the game or worse lose. We conceded three penalties and I was very angry about it. We had to come back again and the opponent still equalize. It was in the dying minutes that we finally got the equalizer. While watching the game I wasn't sure if it was a goal but seeing the other players celebrating I jumped for joy and ran around the house shouting on the top of my voice. It was a win that we needed to stay in the top four race.

Sponsors of Mofif
empty
empty
empty

That game really put me through a lot mentally, emotionally and physically but what can I say, I love my team. I don't think I have ever loved anyone like that.

So don't disturb me when Barcelona is playing.

10
$ 2.32
$ 2.15 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @AnonSunamun
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 4
Avatar for Mofif
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Football, Sport, Emotion

Comments

Oh, as a Barca fan, ever heard the chant "Barca Barca Breda komt er aan, Breda komt er aan"?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

[edit]This is how we celebrated the promotion to the top league 5 years ago: https://youtu.be/E2Kkz2ItwBM this has since then been copied all over the world with 100's of thousands of people, like here (world record): https://youtu.be/dncVUXs_OP8?t=87 (1:27)[/edit]

I am emotional about football myself as well. My team's name, or rather the abbreviation, is tattooed on my right leg, the city's most recognizable skyline feature on my left leg. I think we have the longest club name in football when spelling out the abbreviation:

"Nooit Opgeven Altijd Doorgaan, Aangenaam Door Vermaak Nuttig Door Onspanning, Combinatie Breda."

That is what N.A.C. Breda stands for.

Of course, Breda is the city I live in.

I live about 700 meters from our home stadium, so if I wanted, or needed to, I could just open my backdoor and listen to the crowd to know how the game was going. But I've had season tickets for the past 30 years and before that, I used to sneak into the stadium through the training fields next to it. There's no time in my life that I can remember that I didn't go to the home matches of my team.

Over the years, though, I learn one important thing about being a true football fan:

If your love for your team rises and falls with the performance of the team (ie. goes down when they lose and up if they win), I'm sorry to be the one to break this to you, you're not a true football fan.

I have been with our team through thick and thin and my love has remained throughout. We've been relegated to the 2nd division 5 times over the past thirty years, but we've always come back.

There are some details about our club that are rather unique, found nowhere else. One of them is that most teams that get relegated lose about a third to half their attendance at home matches. This doesn't happen with NAC Breda though. Our attendance keeps growing, or at least it would if the stadium could hold more people. In fact, we've got the most attendants at matches of any club in the Keuken Kampioen Division (in the Netherlands we have the sponsor's name in the division name... I hate it but what can you do). It is a rarity when our attendance is below 19.800 people. And we're passionate and loud. You can ask the magpies about that (magpies are Newcastle United fans). When we played against them years ago in their stadium, 2000 NAC Breda fans almost completely silenced the over 50.000 magpies! And we were losing! In fact, we began singing "Always look on the bright side of life" when we were down 4 goals! In the only footage of the match i can find you see the mutual respect the magpies had for us. It was also the only day in history ALL the pubs in Newcastle ran out of beer.

The second thing NAC is unique in is that every year in our stadium (capacity 19.900) more beer is consumed than in any other stadium in both the 1e Division and the Honor division (two highest divisions in the Netherlands) including the 90.000 seat stadiums in Amsterdam and Eindhoven. And we've held that honor for the past decade.

But like you said, that feeling only football can give... The literal explosion of emotion when your team scores... it is inexplicable. No words will ever do that justice.

I'm inspired to write an article about my club now, I'll put a link up in this reply when its done, so thanks for costing me the next couple of hours Mofif!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol, I loved Barcelona because of Messi even tho I was not a Barca fan, but what made me somewhat happy with their struggles earlier this season was the fact that my cousin (the one I mentioned in my post earlier) would always hype the Barca team.

I remember when I was still in school, he would wake me in the middle of the night just to come watch an highlight of a wonderful goal Messi scored. So when Barca struggled earlier it was my turn to taunt him, but it's nice seeing what Xavi has done lately (there's now a pattern to the team)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ you're friend must be a diehard fan of Messi and Barcelona just like me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Up Barca!!!!!☺️ That's the team of my friend, Isaac. He loves Barcelona a lot. Everyday on his WhatsApp status he post them. Of all games, only Football gives us such feelings. I really enjoy watching football matches.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I must meet this friend of yours πŸ˜„

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can understand the emotions from Barcelona's game yesterday but have you seen champion's league emotional switches... Oh! Sorry, you're in Europa league... I'm sorry, didn't know you won't relate...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ na because of home training I no reply this your comment

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol... God help you boss

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Na only God go fit help you if I look your side

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's not only you bro, I pay all my attention whenever my club is playing, I can be emotional too cos the feelings are just different from every other feeling .

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I know right

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Barcelona isn’t one of the best, she’s the best club in the world. Yesterday match was very emotional and thanks to them for letting Barcelona creating a record for the entire history of LaLiga. Barcelona is the only team to win a match when opponent is given 3 penalties.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

game recognize game

$ 0.00
2 years ago