My Thoughts On The Cryptocurrencies Market

3 79
Avatar for MobTwo
Written by
2 years ago

This is my personal opinion so take it as you please. The cryptocurrency market currently reminds me of the dotcom bubble. Allow me to elaborate some similarities between what I had observed in the cryptocurrency market today and what I had observed during the dotcom bubble.

Back then, it seems obvious to me that the Internet will be part of the future. During my school days, I skipped lessons to learn HTML and backend coding on my own, through books and practice. Today, it is also obvious to me that cryptocurrencies will play a big part in our lives in the future. Again, I made some sacrifices to focus entirely on Bitcoin Cash.

Now, just because the Internet is the future, that doesn’t mean all Internet startups are going to flourish. As a matter of fact, the majority of Internet startups from the dotcom bubble failed. You never heard of them but many of them failed. Similarly, just because I think cryptocurrencies will be the future doesn’t mean all cryptocurrencies are going to flourish. In fact, I would argue that the majority of cryptocurrencies today will fail and become worthless in the future.

The valuation of dotcom companies back in those days just doesn’t make sense. Back in those days, even if the dotcom companies doesn’t produce any real value to society, they can still raise millions of dollars. I see the same thing today with cryptocurrencies. The valuation of some cryptocurrencies today just doesn’t make sense. Some of them don’t even have a working product! Some of them had exploits where the hacker made off with million dollars worth of crypto and yet the affected crypto price actually went up! When these sort of things happen, I have the impression that we are in a major bubble.

The way the majority of cryptocurrencies move in the same direction also doesn’t make sense. Imagine that prices of Microsoft, Apple, Facebook are tied to Evergrande and when the price of Evergrande moves up, the prices of Microsoft, Apple, and Facebook also goes up. And when Evergrande price goes down, the other stocks also goes down regardless of their actual value.

As with all bubbles, it has to pop some day. And when it does, I believe that the PayPal or Amazon or eBay of the space will start to differentiate itself from the competitors. Similarly, I believe when the crypto bubble pops, Bitcoin Cash will start to differentiate itself from the competitors. I know some people may feel discouraged by the Bitcoin Cash price today but to me, it is an opportunity. During the dotcom bubble, you may feel discouraged if you were holding Amazon stocks. But for a great investor, those times are great opportunities.

I have very little doubt that the price of Bitcoin Cash will surpass BTC within the next few years. In the meantime, I will just continue to accumulate Bitcoin Cash as my retirement plan. Other people see problems, I see opportunities and I hope you can see them too.

18
$ 39.74
$ 36.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @Pantera
$ 1.00 from @btcfork
+ 6
Avatar for MobTwo
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

I liked your criteria. Direct and without hairs on the tongue. Well said. Maybe one day all the bubbles will pop. I hope I have made a profit from them earlier. A hug. Ps: we didn't know each other before. Nice to meet you friend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Great article. Love the header photo!

I think some of the linkage between currency prices is due to automated (bots) buying other currencies to trade for whatever currency is actually rising. Any main currency rising (or falling) makes the others rise (or fall). It is complicated to explain and I agree it does not really explain the level of linkage we see in crypto.. I believe crypto prices are at the whim of speculators and manipulators. I assume BTC is kept on high by these efforts and by dishonest social engineering.

To fix this situation, I believe the marketcap of a real Bitcoin (like BCH is working to become) growing to 100 times the current level of BTC may be enough to significantly weaken the manipulators powers. That should be easy to do if we go viral and become cash for the world.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just wrote about this very topic a few days ago, and I agree. There are many similarities. I think we are both on the same page that what is key to succeeding in this space is finding the coins that have long term benefits and longevity—because you are right. Only a very, very small number of these coins will have a future. They can't all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago