A Narrative Report: Gardening

0 9239
Avatar for Mjv2
Written by
3 years ago

Introduction

The National Service Training Program – Civic Welfare Training Service continues to provide us different skills and knowledge not only within the vicinity of the school, but also it attests that the way of students attain proficiency also requires experience from different activities that can be beneficial such as gardening which can be possibly used not only now but also in the future.

As part of this school year’s batch of students that undertaken the gardening activity as a fulfillment for the said subject matter, I have been able to grab the chance to apply my learning in the subject most especially now that we are under a certain crisis. As a student, the activity further enhances my skills towards gardening and growing some vegetables which can serve as nutritious meal for my family. It also helps me become more responsible to nature and that is something that I love from this activity because I am able to contribute good things in the environment while having enjoyment in doing it.

Goals and Objectives

The following are my goals and objectives for the said activity:

  • To be productive in doing the activity.

  • To prepare land for growing vegetables.

  • To have a healthy and sustainable food to serve for the family.

  • To be able to plant some vegetables and eventually help the vegetables grow.

  • To be able to apply effectively the learning I have acquired in the subject matter.

  • To have it successfully done together with my favorable outcomes.

Experiences

I started planting the vegetables specifically sweet potatoes and jutes in the 3rd week of March. Since I am fond of planting ever since I was a child, it was not very difficult for me to do it. While I am planting the vegetables I did not care about the scorching heat of the sun because I am really eager when I am planting. In fact, I enjoyed it so much. Since the land I cultivated contains some insects like ants, I noticed that some part of my hand was bitten after I finished planting. But, it is not that serious because it is just mild. I water them through the use of a dipper every day and I noticed that they grow bigger day by day.

I have chosen kamote or sweet potatoes to plant because they really grow well in a sunny vegetable garden. I thought that it would take few weeks for them to grow. But, I was amazed because as I water them during afternoon of each day, I can see the difference. Just by watching them grow, I am already happy. It is a sign that what I did is effective. The first time that we get leaves from it to serve for our meal is just less than a month after they were planted. Since I am the one who planted it, I am grateful and proud. The vegetable is delicious and also contain nutrients that are good to body.

In these more than two months of taking charge of my own vegetable garden, I was exposed to many experiences that made me realized about its importance. The skills I have towards gardening were refined and I gained more of it from my family who have helped me through their shared knowledge and personal experiences. It has taught me a lot of things that I can use for future endeavours. It is really a meaningful experience. I am looking forward to plant more kinds of vegetables, soon.

Performed Work Activities

  • Planted the vegetables.

  • Watered the vegetables every afternoon.

  • Harvested sweet potato tops.

  • Served the vegetables as a meal for my family

Conclusion

Being able to do the activity and earn the fruit of labor is a fulfilling duty. I did not complete it just to comply with the task; I finished it because it has much lifelong learning that is applicable in the reality. It has taught me many things that I can use to survive most especially now that we are in a crisis. With this, I am able to have a source for our meal which can be picked anytime.

It made me realized that even in times of crisis, planting can be a life-saving activity since there would be a source for food. It inspired me to continue doing it and continue contributing good efforts to the environment. It has been very helpful and will be more helpful as I continue to make the vegetables grow more. It is both a performance and fulfillment having it fruitfully done together with my desired results. It really gave me a taste of the reality – a glimpse of the very value of gardening.

8
$ 5.59
$ 3.59 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 2.00 from @Stories
Sponsors of Mjv2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mjv2
Written by
3 years ago

Comments