Why I say NO for a FREE travel in CHINA

4 44
Avatar for MizLhaine
3 years ago

Who loves travels? If you are given a chance to travel for FREE, would you say NO? I actually said NO to a dream travel to Hangzhou China last year 2019. Find out why by reading the whole article.


The story behind the free travel

I am an Independent Beauty Consultant of Mary Kay for almost 5 years and I joined because I want to earn extra income. My extra income helped me in the medical needs of my mother who had medication for her Chronic Kidney Disease. My Mom is one of my WHY's in Mary Kay. In year March 2019, there was a yearly challenge launched by Mary Kay - the Asia Pacific Red Jacket Rally 2019 Challenge which is an all-expense-paid educational travel to Hangzhou China and I was really excited about it. Who would not want an all-expense-paid free travel?

It is expected in business that in every challenge, there were tasks to be done for both in sales and recruiting. When I saw the tasks and with my desire to go to China, I said to myself I'll work for it and I can do it. So I set out a plan on how to make more sales and have more recruits. The Challenge started in April 2019 and I was really working on it by attending unit meetings, conducting skin care classes, selling in the social media. Really, my sales increased and I had new recruits in Mary Kay in which they also started to sell. It is actually hitting two birds at the same time, I was working for the challenge and helped in the medications of my mom.

I monitor my achievements every month and see to it that I can really achieve the goal on August 2019. And YES! I was able to hit the goal on August 2019 and have my maintenance period in September 2019. In October, Mary Kay sent me an email and a letter informing me that I was one of the achievers. I was so happy and I feel the sense of fulfillment! I am now going to CHINA, my hardwork paid-off. I will be working out for my China VISA.

Here's the letter, just covered some parts for privacy

What's the conflict?

Everything about the travel seems perfect, but here's another story along the way. In June 2019, I got pregnant, it was actually not a planned pregnancy but it came, and every pregnancy is a blessing from the Lord. So, I was working with my Mary Kay challenge while I was pregnant and don't have a problem about it because I can say that it was a healthy pregnancy. Thanks to God!

When I get the letter from Mary Kay, I was optimistic that I can still manage to travel to China even if I will be almost 32 weeks pregnant in December 2019. Then Mary Kay personnel called me about my confirmation, and I told them about my situation, that I am pregnant and I will 32 weeks pregnant by the time of travel. Now here's the situation if I will confirm. They were not sure if I will be allowed on international flights, and if I will be allowed by the immigration to enter China being 32 weeks pregnant. And if ever I will confirm and something happens and if I will cancel I will refund in full the payments for advance reservation of flights and hotel. So I said, I will not decide immediately I need to consult with my OB and also talked to my husband and to pray to the Lord regarding the situation. So, I talked with my OB, and she said she is not issuing anymore a medical certificate for a travel in 32 weeks of pregnancy. I also made some researches about the immigration and planes, though travels are allowed for some airlines, I am not sure to the airlines which will be booked for us. Then, I prayed to the Lord of what will be my decision, it is now a conflict of my desire to travel versus the safety of my precious baby. I also have a heart to heart talked with my husband, and we discussed about the might be's if I will be confirming the travel.


So, what's the decision?

It was a NO! Yes, I said NO. I cannot afford to confirm and if unexpected events will happen I will be stressed in refunding the expenses. I said NO because my baby is more important to me. I was once lost a baby (maybe I will write about this too). So in one of our unit meetings, I told my Senior Sales Director I will not confirm because I chose my baby and I will not risk our safety and she respected and supported me all the way. It is also a culture in Mary Kay to always choose family over career.

Did I regret my decision?

This is the story behind this profile picture

No, I did not. Because I believe that there's always a reason for everything and that everything works together for good to those who love God. I can only have one chance to have this baby, travel opportunities could wait, Hangzhou China will always be there. In December 2019, during the travel period, there was a typhoon in the Philippines and there were cancellations of flights and I can't imagine the stress I would have gone into if I continued the flight. But my fellow-achievers were able to make it and I am happy for them. Now, my baby is already 1 year old, healthy and strong.


There are really times in our lives that we need to make decisions, but one thing I learned in deciding, you must always pray about it and trust the Lord's guidance and timing.

How about you? have you tried deciding on the thing you desired versus the one you love? I would be happy to read your experiences.

@MizLhaine

4
$ 0.49
$ 0.34 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Alther
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
3 years ago

Comments

The baby is a blessing and the pregnancy is a blessing in disguise, know what the covid19 started around oct or nov, later disclosed on December. God is so good protecting you and your baby. You're so blessed! You can pursue another travel incentive soon, in God's perfect timing.

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Indeed! It is really a blessing and the Lord really is Good and I am happy I was able to discern about this. Yes, such a blessing, next time, in God's perfect timing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seeking God's will is a must. So it is important that before we decide, we must consult it to God first. Me too, big or small decisions, I always ask God about it. One thing that I can share is about choosing my course. I'm taking up Marketing anyway. This is not really my first choice. I didn't also pray for this that's why i'm a bit guilty. But before my second year, I had the chance to shift to another course that I want but then, before I do that, I asked God in prayer if it is His will for me to pursue other course, but He told me directly not to. I still remember the exact words that I got from Him, He says that "What I have written, I have written." So clear answer. It's a no. To cut the story short, I pursue Marketing and I am really enjoying in this course right now. :)

$ 0.01
3 years ago

Thanks for sharing to me your experience. I am happy that you are now loving your course and you find happiness in the Lord's will for your studies. There are really times that we are overwhelmed with our own will that we forget the main author, which is the Lord.

$ 0.01
3 years ago