When Meetings Overlap

14 40
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Have you tried attending 2 or more meetings or conferences at the same time? Yes, at the same time. Of course, when this is face to face, attending two meetings would not be possible. Now, most of the meetings are done online, it is possible. You can set-up multiple devices and then enter 2 or more meetings at the same time using online video conferencing platforms like zoom or Google meet.

But is it healthy? or, are you absorbing the information being shared. Will you have a real grasp of the things that you ought to learn? I can say that based on my experience and observation, it is not really healthy.

My Experience

Image from Unsplash

Just this week, we have multiple meetings in the office and some schedules overlap but we don't have a choice but to attend. I would like to share this two particular meetings. One meeting is about our Faculty Union and the other is a seminar in Zoom about Mental health, with the same schedule.

So, I set up my laptop and attended the Faculty Union meeting through Google Meet since we are electing officers. On my phone I attended the, the seminar through Zoom. And something happened, I am not mindful that my mic in zoom is not muted. The settings in the zoom meeting is not "automatically mute someone" who is going to enter the room, and that's it! I made a disturbance in the seminar about mental health, well, maybe I put them on stress because, they keep on chatting that there is somebody who is not muting her mic, and I was not able to read it and I only know that I am the one they are referring to when I got the notification that I am muted by the host. Oh my, I am really sorry, I feel ashamed! What an embarrassment. Then, I decided to leave that seminar and concentrate to the Faculty Union meeting since, we really have a business to do, and that is the election of officers.

I say that it's not healthy to attend to multiple meetings and seminars at the same time, you may be there in attendance, but your focus will not be the same for both. Of course, we only have one body, one mind, it's either you will prioritize more one seminar or meeting, over the other one. If it is possible, in cases of multiple meetings, I ask one of my colleagues to attend in behalf of our program, that way the meetings will be delegated and that important matters can be digested. Thus, I am really not in favor of attending multiple meetings, it's really a mind overwork for me. So better be kind to yourself than pleasing others.

How about you? Have you attended multiple meetings at the same time? What are your experiences? or What is your side on attending multiple meetings at the same time? I would really love to know in the comment section.

Lead Image: People vector created by pikisuperstar - www.freepik.com


Just would like to say Hi to October and goodbye to September. I am still thinking if I am going to publish an article about my report of September or just keep it in my notes. Well, anyways, I would like to say thank you to all people I meet here in the platform that becomes my support system for the last 7 months. I am happy that I meet you here. I am more than grateful to God for this platform, for BCH and to all of you. So see everyone around! Keep safe and may the Lord guide each one of us in this new month of reading and writing.

~MizLhaine


Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

7
$ 4.35
$ 4.14 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 4
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

So bad sis, that your meetings came at the same time. I never tried attending two or more at once, I couldn't manage it. It will just be a waste switching from one to another and concentration would have been sacrificed :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mine was not a meeting. I split my screen into two. I was in a zoom class and at the same time on WhatsApp chatting. I was talking and receiving warnings on zoom but i thought i wasn't the only being talked to until my name was called.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

That's really an embarrassment, you are caught in the act. With online classes, seminars, we are really tempted to do something else or to multitask.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am already a ssucker of answering two phone calls at the samw time, what more if two meetings? No, thanks. I don't like feeling pressured with two different overlapping activities. Except when I like what I am doing. LOL

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Two phone calls? hehehehe. Yan hindi ko natry. Yes, nakakapressure talaga ang overlapping activities, kaya as much as possible I want it one at a time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan wala po kasing choice dahil kailangan ko ihelp yung kawork ko na mag answer ng calls ng mga suppliers. Paminsan lang naman po pero nakakapagod. Heheje.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Never pa akong naka attend ng ganyan, peri bat nga naman pinag sabay mo. Abay pag sakin yan ee wala talaga lalo akonh maiintindihan 🤧

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yan na kasi ang uso ngayon, para present ka sa dawala, yon, aatend ka, pero I agree, wala kang maiintindihan. required kasi kami na mag attend sa dalawa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree, to attend multiple meetings at the time, our focus will be distracted and will not be the same for both so we should avoid it for late embarrassment. The month of September has passed so fast,I have already shared my September journey.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

And as a resolution, I will try my best not to attend multiple in the next time. Yay, I will read your September journey.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The human brain was not designed for that kind of multi tasking. You will lose on both front

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, I really agree and as much as possible I will not do it again. There will be more seminars this week.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hindi ko pa Naman sya na experience hehe.

$ 0.03
User's avatar Yen
2 years ago

Abay huwag mo nalang talaga subukan para walang stress. hehehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago