Thinking of Retirement Day

14 39
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Yesterday, we had a retirement program for one of our colleagues in the office. He retired at the age 65, the mandatory age of retirement for teachers and other employees in the public service. This man was once my instructor in the college days and he was really labeled as "terror". There were only a few who will get a passing grade and I am happy that I was one of those, though not a high grade but at least I passed. We were happy back then when we passed those terror professors.

I am chosen as a representative of the program to give a message. I shared about the experiences I had with him in the college days until we became colleagues in the office. He was really a legendary math professor, he can talk all about pure mathematics all day. We often see each other in the library and once I talked to him about my research in my schooling and he has lots to share. I can really see a math genius in him. I can still remember him letting all his students answer math problems in the windows of the classroom, in the floor and even in the walls. He is also unique because he is the only professor who will go to class in cycling shorts and big white shirt because he use a bicycle in going to the office. He was not fond of attending programs too, yesterday, he was just told that there was meeting and he need to attend. He said, he was surprised!

One of his advises that I cannot forget is to marry young and to have children. He said that it was one of his regret that he married in the old age, at late 40's I think or early 50's.Good thing they were blessed with two kids and their names have Mathematical terms too.

Listening on his speech that we should start young for professional development and learning to say "No" when health is at stake especially in the age 50s, I was able to think of my own retirement day. Will I reach that age? Will I myself experience retirement day? Well, it is my prayer that I will be able to reach that age of retirement. That time, hopefully my kids already finished schooling and me and my husband could have time for ourselves, maybe in the farm or wherever the Lord will take us. I pray that I will still be healthy so that I can enjoy life without thinking of work and work.

But in this world full of uncertainties, we could never be sure of anything so we better do things we need to do while we still can. Let the Lord be our guide for He knows what's best for us.

How about you? Have you thought of what are the things you will do after retirement?

Lead Image from Pixabay

MizLhaine

9.10.2022

6
$ 2.89
$ 2.83 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @kingofreview
$ 0.02 from @Itsfarah
+ 2
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Comments

nacurious ako sa name ng anak nila hahahah! Pero ayun nga usually ganyan ang advise ng matatanda pero depende na din sa preference siguro kung gano kalaki na family ang bet mo.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Nakalimutan ko din nga itanong eh. Yon nga din, if you want a bigger family, it's better to start young.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mathematics teacher pala siya mizlhaine. Naalala ko mga teachers ko sa math. Hehe major ko yan mizlhaine kaya daming na encounter na mga math teachers mizlhaine.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yes math teacher, wow, major in math ka pala, dami mong alam sa Math kung ganon, ako nalimutan ko na talaga, except the basics, tanda ko pa.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hehe hirap yung math din mizlhaine kahit major mo minsan may mga times na mahihirapan ka.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So he is retired at the age of 65, and he must be strict, that why you called him terror...lol

$ 0.01
1 year ago

He is not strict when you talk to him, but when it comes to classes, he is really good that you cannot be able to easily suit to his standards and he really gives failing grades to his students.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Minsan naiisip ko din ang about retirement. I am working as an internet Cafe attendant so I don't know until ilang taon ako na Kaya ko pang mag work sa computer shop. Wish ko Lang Sana eh habaan pa Sana ni God yung time na pwede pa akong mag work dun kasi nga my eldest is 15 nasa Grade 10 pa. Tas Yung bunso is 2 years old pa Lang. So I still have more years to work Para mapatapos ko especially si bunso. Kaya for me much better talaga to have kids aroujd 20's pa. Okay Sana mag anak ng medyo my edad na around 30's pataas if stable na kayo financially.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yan din talaga hiling ko kay God na habaan pa nya buhay ko na makikita ko pa yong mga anak ko until they grow. Mga kids ko din maliliit pa, yong retirement age ko, patapos pa lng yong youngest ko nyan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same tayo sis. Pag 15 na si bunso 47 na ako.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Enjoy the life we have maam as you said life is uncertain pero pinagdadasal natin yan na umabot tayo sa ganoong edad,marami pang pagdadaanan sa buhay pero kakayanin yan 🙂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

I agree, sa buhay na walang kasiguruhan, kailangan talaga nating magtiwala sa Maykapal na igrant nya ang ating prayers. Sa mga darating na pagsubok, He will be our guide. Kaya nga this time, always talaga namin enjoy ang time together as family para maraming memories ang mga kids sa kanilang childhood days.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Regrets is really in the end. Hays na pressure nmn ako dito. Pero will make time for me on that things🙏

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Huwag ma pressure, each of us has its own timing. The most important is we are doing things the right way.

$ 0.00
1 year ago