Reasons for Failing Students: Please Don't Hate Me

17 53
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

For how many years in teaching in the higher education, I admit, I have given "Failed" grade to a few students already. I have made some students comply with their deficiencies and I have also given an outright failing grade. But please don't judge me that I am a terror faculty or I am not a considerate one because I have a basis for the marks I gave.

Students are graded according to performance, we have a grading system that would allow help us in determining the grades. The usual grading system for IT is based on the quizzes, assignments, laboratory , projects, examinations. Percentages are also assigned to each item for it to constitute the whole grade. When assessments are given to students, students are expected to respond to those by submitting them on the scheduled date. The faculty will then grade the students based on their submission and record it in a class record and when the semester is done, the grades for assessments are consolidated to form the final grade. That's the time that we can say that these students "Passed" and these students "Failed".

Image by mohamed Hassan from Pixabay

REASONS FOR FAILING GRADES

But what are the reasons why there students who have "Failed" final grades? I will speak and determine some based on my experience, I am speaking NOT on the behalf of many because their experience might be different from mine.

  • Non-submission of Requirements/Assessments. This is really one of the most reasons of having a failing grade. Since we have a grading system, when students was not able to submit the assessment, requirements, projects I cannot give points to those. So the score will be zero and it would form part in the final grades.

  • Submitting wrong, lacking requirements. Submitting requirements doesn't mean it is already OK because it will be assessed if it is complete, in case of programming submissions is it running? When the submissions are done right away, I can make feedbacks on my end so that the student would have the time to correct the submission.

  • Submitting copy-pasted works. Some of the requirements are in the form of narrative reports, students would just submit a copy-pasted answer and hoping that they will be given a high grade. We detect plagiarism in the student's submissions.

  • Not Preparing for examinations. Whenever there are examinations or announced quizzes, the students are expected to study ahead so that they can answer the questions and items but still there are students who are not ready for the examinations or announced quiz. As a result, they will fail in the examination or the announced quiz. If that will happen, it will affect their grades.

As you can see, most of the reasons I stated are relevant to negative attitudes of a student. It means that we or I only gave a failing grade to students who are not responsible in their studies. You can see a student's dedication to their studies through their enthusiasm in submitting requirements, studying lessons, participating in class activities and whenever circumstances arise that they cannot submit on time they will really inform the faculty.

I always tell my students that they are one making their grades, I am just the recorder, the checker and helper for them to learn from the lessons that we have. I purposely made the title because there are those students would really seem to hate me because I fail them. I hope that they realize that it is a result of their actions.

ON CHANCES

I actually give chances to students who are not performing well by giving them a conditional grade, that is they need to comply and pass the compliance and when they pass, they will be given a passing grade. I always give chances, to the point that I am asking myself, if that student deserved that grade. I also do some adjustments. I am always on the proactive side, on how I can help the students as long as they are doing their part.

Image by Gerd Altmann from Pixabay 

CONLUSION

Faculty are not giving students remarks without a basis. Students are graded based on their performance. The students are expected to their part so that they will reap it the good fruit in the future.

I timed out to my previous topics on Online Selling and shared this article with you. I hope you enjoyed reading a piece from a faculty who is helping in molding the minds of our youth.

So if you are a teacher and you have some points that you would like to share, I would love to read your comments. If you are a student, I would love to hear your thoughts too.

Lead image is from Image by Pete Linforth from Pixabay 


Thanks to my sponsors for your giving hearts. A loud shout out to my 11 sponsors: @Macronald , @TruSuccessXpert , @immaryandmerry@Pantera , @scottcbusiness , @CryptoBabe , @FrieLincs @meitanteikudo@CryptoMax @Laurenexai


Special Mention to my Top 1 sponsor @wrabbiter for sponsoring me with an overwhelming amount.


Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

👉https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

👉https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine

11
$ 16.28
$ 15.35 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.10 from @immaryandmerry
+ 6
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Very true that there's always a basis. Salute to all teachers and faculty staffs. Your work is no joke and it's really tough so I really admire y'all.

But I do have a question.

Last semester, I got a conditional grade on one of my subjects. Passing grade is 60 and my raw score is 59.85

Would you consider to passed me and gave me a grade of 3 given that I have complied to all the requirements, the right requirements which I have submitted on time. It just so happened that I failed the final exam. Also, 85% of the class failed the exam too.

Just curious hehe. This is a real scenario tho.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

It really depends on the teacher's principle in grading, if he/she is really strict about the grades, kahit .1 nalng ang kulang di ka talaga papatawarin. Kung ako ang faculty, mahilig kasi ako sa round off, so maybe ibibigay ko nalng ang passing grade, considering na complete naman lahat ng requirements. Para sa akin lang yan, I am not speaking in behalf of the others tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Okay. Thanks for answering. :) Ang strict ni maam e, haha. Well, it depends naman talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I agree, it depends talaga sa rules na napagkasunduan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

do you ever felt like its tiring to check your student's essay reports? did you ever had that moment na parang .. ay i don't want to read..

$ 0.10
2 years ago

hahahaha. Of course yes! kaya nga I don't want essays sana, pero now na pandemic, isa yan sa pinapagawa namin sa kanila, blogs, learning insights. kaya we know na nagcopy lang sila if ang ganda ng pagkagawa. hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Overwhelming? Parar yun lang eh. Hehe. That's nothing Miz. Hanga kasi ako sayo, kaya ganun. Hehe. More power sa endeavors mo Miz. Goodluck sa mga masisipag na teacher gaya natin, although di na ako teacher ngayon. May God bless you Miz.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Salamat for the appreciation. Overwhelming kasi ito yong first time ko to have that amount of sponsorship. Matanong ko lang, why you give up the teaching profession? Yes, yes, go for nurturing young minds.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Because I was struck with a very serious illness, and due to some spiritual downturns. Thankfully, I've fully recovered now. I can still go back to teaching anytime I want, but I'm not sure if I still want to do that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh I see, sorry for the late reply, I am happy that you recovered now. Yes, you can go back to teaching, it will be another life chapter if you do.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I'll be doing other things Miz. Maybe it's time for another adventure.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nakakadrain po talaga yung ganitong buhay Ma'am. Nakakalito, ang daming pinapagawa tapos halo-halo pa ay. May LAS na soft copy tapos may hard copy pa. Ang hirap pong pag-isa isahin kasi masyado po akong busy sa crypto world at saka buti na lang po, nagawa ko pa rin yung kailangang gawin kahit nakakapagod. Di naman po nakakuha ng failed na grade (nakapasok pa ave ko line of 9) pero mukha akong failure🙁. Tulad ngayon, ang dami ko raw na kulang na LAS kahit nagpasa ako. Buti na lang pinicturan ko at Monday na kuhanan ng card haha

$ 0.10
2 years ago

Just take it lightly, don't blame yourself na failure ka kasi it would pull you more. Send ka ng feedback ky teacher, baka may suggestion sya. Patulong ka sa iba if kailangan, remember things can be lighter when shared. I am happy that you achieved in schooling. Set priorities and schedules para sa mga many tasks mo. I hope that you can do it with flying colors until the end of the school year.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Six weeks na lang naman po bakasyon na haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, bakasyon na. Malapit na. Private school ka ba?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Public po

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh ok, so kahit pla sa public may online submission?

$ 0.00
2 years ago