Importance of File Naming Convention

14 35
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

I am looking for an old file from my computer to be edited and to be submitted again this year. But I have a difficulty in finding it. I already used the search bar and enter the keywords but for no avail. I can't remember where I put it. As I look unto my files I realized that I have been doing wrong in my file management. Let me share to you a glimpse of how my files looks like.

Indeed an example of folders and files with no naming convention and it's really hard to locate a file for a specific purpose. Now, I really realize that I really need to have a proper naming convention for my files and folders. Ironic as it is, I am an IT faculty who teaches about file management for students but I myself is not practicing it.

I have a colleague who is very good in file naming convention. He really have a format for names of the files and he has a well organized files in his computer. He do not have a hard time in looking for a file. Here is a sample of how he name his files. When I look at it at compared to mine I can really see the difference and value of proper naming convention.

So how to properly name files? Longwood Research Data Management has given some tips in naming files and I have extracted at least 4 which I find very relevant.

  • Think about the files that you have. You should identify in which your files belongs and then you can set a naming convention for the different file sets.

  • Identify the details. To arrange your data properly, you can arrange it by date, memo number or experiment number. Example for the date it could be formatted as YYYYMMDD to ensure chronological order.

  • Use versions for files. To be able to track the versions of files you can add versions. If could be PrelimExam_v1.xxx, PrelimExam_v2.xxx and so on. Version dates could also be used.

  • Determine set of characters that will be used as separator. The use of dashes, underscores to separate details of the file. Example PrelimExam_2NDSEM_AY21-22 or PrelimExam2ndSemAY21-22.

Establishing a system for naming files is not an easy task at first especially if we already have the usual way of saving our files. But I can really say that it is important. Proper file management can help in conveniently finding a document and avoiding loss of files. It needs time and practice though but there is an advantage to it.

How about you? Do you name your files properly? Do you have naming convention? I would love to know your experiences too.

Thanks for reading. Keep Safe.

Lead Image from https://xkcd.com/1460/ - Shared under CC-BY-NC License

~MizLhaine

3.4.2022


7
$ 5.96
$ 5.89 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @kingofreview
$ 0.02 from @OfficialGamboaLikeUs
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago

Comments

Naalala ko tuloy ate kung pano ako malagay ng keyword sa mga files ko noon. Sinasadya kong talagang lagyan ng weird na names kasi nasa computeran kami tapos kapag may assignment rin sila tulad ng sa amin, itatanong lang nila sa nagaasikaso ng computeran tapos print na lang eh ang hirap maghanap ng picture.

But ngayon ate na modular class, medyo inaayos ko na specifically hehe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha, naku naman, ang daya naman nila ikaw naghirap tapos iba kukuha. Pwede mo naman kasi idelete or isave mo nalang sa Google Drive para di na nila makuha. Mabuti naman at mas naging ok na sa modular. Ako di ko pa natapos iarrange yong files ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, not to brag alam ko naman to gawin, dati when I still have my laptop..But of course, kung makakaroon man ulit, I will surely apply it para naman sa inconvenience ko, lalo pag imporanteng-importante talaga yung file/files na yun.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! Great job! Mahirap talaga pag walang naming convention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nung okay pa pc ko nalolooa ako kasi ako pagnagrename ng files puro numbers, one time nalimutan ko yung number ng files tas presentation 😭

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahahaha, yon din na experience ko. Di ko na matandaan yong filename ko. kaya dapat may mga keywords talaga like title nang presentation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have to organized my files as well for I havr been havinh a hard time locating it 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Go go dear! Kayang kaya yan. sasabihin ko din sa self ko yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Agreed Mizlhaine. Have a proper filing makes our task easier and it's not easy to find it if there are times we want it that's why it's really important there's a proper way and it should be organize. I remember when I was working at the office Mizlhaine. I always do that because if our boss have a meeting it's really easy to find what are the files to be needed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's good to know. Important talaga sya pag mga files na hahanapin. Good thing na na practice mo na pala.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right friend, all your files should be in the right order so that you don't have to be difficult to find

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you. Kaya from now on, aayusin ko na mga file names ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I agree sis, files should be in organized fof us to essy identify all those.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, yes, Hi5 for this! kelangan talaga.

$ 0.00
2 years ago