I have to undergo an operation, I'm hesitant

12 41
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Personal, Journey

It is my first time to share a personal health related article to you.

I have a multinodular goiter. Since highschool, my mother observed that I have an enlargement in my neck and it was diagnosed by the surgeon as goiter and I undergo a biopsy and it was benign. I inherited this thyroid problem from both of my parents side. My grandmother in my Mom's side has goiter and my two aunts in my father's lineage had it too.

When I was not yet married, the size of the thyroid mass was not remarkable but when I had my 2nd child Lianne, the growth was fast and taking oral medicines would not help suppress the size. It became more visible when I became pregnant with my 3rd child. It is because the hormones produced by the thyroid glands changes during pregnancy, this was the explanation of the Endocrinologist. That's the reason why I was closely monitored by my Endo in my last pregnancy and my OB advised me not to be pregnant again to prevent future complications.

6 months after my childbirth, I undergo another biopsy in a known hospital in Davao City to roll-out the malignancy and thanks God it was still benign and I was really advised for operation. Although, I have the growing mass in my neck I am still thankful to God that I do not have any other complications like palpitating, all my FT3, FT4, TSH results were also fine. I am thankful that it is not toxic goiter.

Now, I am on the hesitation to the operation procedure.

Why I am hesitant?

Woman photo created by wayhomestudio - www.freepik.com

First, I am hesitant because the Doctor explained to me that some patients develop hoarse voice after the operation. Being a teacher, I don't want that to happen to me. But he explained that most of his patients were not able to experience such after the operation.

Second is the budget, the operation will cost around 60, 000.00 to 100,000.00 pesos. For now, I do not have that budget in hand. I am thinking to have a loan for the said operation. There was also a time that there were medical missions for cases like this here in our province but because of the pandemic, medical missions were not active nowadays. If only, there will be medical missions, I will avail.

Third is time. I need to rest for at least 1 month after the operation will be done as the physician said. I am thinking of the many tasks that will be set aside if I will be on rest for a month. So I am really thinking now of the best time for the operation to be done.

Amidst these hesitations, I am praying to God that I will be brave enough to submit myself for the operation. I know that He will provide my needs and will help me erase the doubts and fears.

Added note: There are also people who have same condition as mine who opted to just let the thyroid mass grow and did not submit themselves for operation. The physician said that the issue will be more on aesthetics, because it will definitely grow and grow if not removed.

I know there are medical students here, medical practitioners and maybe even those who have the same problem as mine, I hope you can share some of your thoughts and experiences to me regarding this matter. It would really be appreciated.

Lead Image : Woman photo created by DCStudio - www.freepik.com

Links :

If you have a passion in writing you are very much welcome in read.cash

πŸ‘‰https://read.cash/r/MizLhaine

And if you want shorter messages, see you in Noise

πŸ‘‰https://noise.cash/u/MizLhaine


5
$ 10.86
$ 10.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Judith1969
$ 0.05 from @HappyBoy
+ 2
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
2 years ago
Topics: 2021, Personal, Journey

Comments

My opinion - I would rather go with the operation this time.

You mentioned that you are a teacher. Currently, classes are thru modules. So this is the best time for you as you don't have to use your voice most of the time. True enough, I know of one who has hoarse voice after her operation but she was still able to talk clearly. I also have a teacher who used a mike while teaching because of the hoarse voice. But I also have a friend that has a normal voice after the operation.

Comfort. This has to be considered also when you get back to face to face teaching. Wouldn't it bother you when you talk to the class? What if it keeps on growing as you mentioned above, would you still be able to eat or talk properly? What if it will have complications as it is already that huge and might be difficult to remove?

Budget? I will not comment . 😊

Just a few of my thoughts, don't get me wrong here.

Hoping and praying that you will get to a decision soon. Take care.

$ 0.06
2 years ago

Thank you very much for spending time to tell me your thoughts. I appreciate it so much, brought me to some realizations. Yes, they said every operation is different, some have hoarse, some are okey. What I should condition my mind is to think positive that all things will be well. And I agree, if it will be delayed much, it might grow more and complications might be there. About the budget, as they said, when it comes to health, money will come out. I know the Lord will provide. Again thanks for your thoughts. I'll keep on praying that I will be prepared for such, physically mentally, emotionally, financially.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang dami palang need econsider if etetake mo un. Ang haba ng buwan ha so pano ang mga bagay bagay aigoo. Pero may ganyan din hipag ko ee ewan lang anong plano nya s akanya.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Yes, dami talaga. May mga iba na hinahayaan nalang, di na nagpa opera. Aesthetics ang kalaban kasi lalaki talaga ang bukol sa leeg.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mahirap nga mag decision nΓ yan sis , sana anuman maging decision mo gabayan ka ni Lord ,he will heal you completely and also the financial ...

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat sa encouragements sis. Amen for than na tutulungan tayo ni Lord always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray that everything will be alright ma'am. It's not easy to take a decision kasi dami dapat iconsider. Pray lang po lagi. God will guide you.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Salamat sa concern. Yes, I will pray for this situation and think positive lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I pray God provide for you abundantly and see you through. Stay strong ma'am

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thank you very much. I believe in the Lord's provision. For now, I am praying for the right timing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of factors to consider before taking a step forward madam no. I hope God will help you to discern which path to take and I'll be hoping for a positive outcome. I wish you all the best! ❀

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Thanks for that Jeaneth, in God's perfect time, I will be ready in mind, financially, emotionally and physically.

$ 0.00
2 years ago