Good News are sometimes in SPAM

5 64
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

According to kaspersky.com, spam messages are usually messages that are unsolicited and unwanted. But I say, not all messages in SPAM are unwanted and solicited because good news emails might be categorized as spam when they are actually not.

Here's my story.

Last December 6, 2022, I attended an event of Dell Technologies entitled "Data-Driven Workloads Future" which is an online webinar. It talks about the new technologies of Dell for data storage. In events like these, raffle prizes are there and there is a gamification. There are tasks that we need to do for us to be able to be in the Leaderboard. I diligently do the tasks given and landed in the rank 15 of the leaderboard.

There were different prizes for the winners, there the gift certificates which I won last year and then there were items as well. I am just eyeing for the gift certificates because last year, I used it for purchasing food through Grab food.

I was waiting for an email regarding the event because I am really sure that I can at least get the gift certificate amounting to $20.00 worth. I was not able to get it in my primary inbox. Last January 17, 2023, I decided to look on my spam messages and there I read this message.

Wow! I won a Kobo ereader which is having a retail price of $100.00, this is actually the grand prize for 10 winners! I am excited and happy, but... the email said that I should fill-in my details by January 16, 2023, and I opened it January 17. It was actually sent in January 12, 2023 and it was directed to my SPAM messages. I opened the link, thanks it was still open and email the organizer that my notification is directed to the spam messages which is the main reason why I have not replied to their message. I hope my reply is still valid because if not, this is the best example of "prize na sana, naging bato pa!".

So why are there messages categorized as SPAM when they are actually not. Here is the reason.

The email that I am using is our official school email and our domain is dorsu.edu.ph, when there are messages that is not within our domain, Gmail sometimes marks them as spam messages. Lesson learned, from now on I will be opening my Spam Messages because good news might be there that I should not miss.

Do you have same experiences as mine? I would love to read it in the comment section.

Take care and keep safe!

1.21.2023

MizLhaine

6
$ 5.16
$ 5.00 from @ewyr
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Porwest
+ 1
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Comments

I'd still like to gratulate your for being on their leaderboard, but that's a real bummer that you couldn't get your prize. Anyways there's always a blessing that you will receive unexpectedly kaya naman laban lang po!

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Thanks for that. Hindi naman po ng confirm na hindi na yon for me, nakapag sign up pa ako sa link. So baka naman, we'll see then in the next days, I will surely update here.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Unta valid pato imong reply sis. Anyway I usually check my spam email and clear them

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Mao lagi Sis oi, wa man sad mi reply sa akong message. Usahay lang gyud ko gacheck spam messages lagi oi, og mao nato. hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

so how was it sis?niresponse ba sila?

$ 0.00
1 year ago