Getting Lost in Cebu City

11 51
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Cebu Philippines

I am here in Cebu City at the time of writing and I am just here in the Hotel room alone because the people have a trip in Simala and I did not go with them because I have tasks to do here. What’s really our purpose in going to Cebu? This is a work-related trip,  we visited Cebu Technological University (CTU) for a benchmarking activity. We had a wonderful visit in their Main Campus yesterday and we learned a lot from them. We learned on how they digitally transformed their campus.

Screenshot of CTU's post. See me?

Going back to my tasks today. One is to print a document. I am actually hoping that the front-desk would allow me to print, but sad to say, they are not allowing it. Instead, she told me that there are print shops near Colon St. I ask her the way and she directed me and then I used the Google Maps to locate the Colon St. When I arrived to Colon St. I was not able to see print shops right away, I tried searching the map for internet café but when I reached there, I was so hesitant because it was so dark and it was a Gaming Hub, so I thought they were not accepting print jobs. I walked again and reached a repair shop and asked him. He told me that the print shops are just nearby, just at the back of the JS-Gaisano. I went there and finally I saw the many print shops and I immediately asked the in-charge for printing.

To make the story short, I was able to print and I was happy. I then took my breakfast at Jolibee with Breakfast Hotdog as my order.

Then I decided to go back to the Hotel. For now, I didn’t use the Google Maps anymore, I was confident that I can make it. The first few streets were fine, I remember taking those streets earlier, until I reached an unfamiliar street. I don’t know where to go. I opened the Google Maps and searched for the route, but I set the maps for Cars, of course, there are routes that are different because of One Way, so I was directed to a different way and sadly I go back again to Colon St. That was the time, I realized that I was really lost. I tried asking people but some also don’t know the place I am asking. Now, I set the Google maps for walking, but I can’t seem to understand it. Maybe because, I was a bit frustrated because the number of meters in the map keeps on increasing instead of decreasing. Until I ask a guy who was walking so fast for work and he gave me direction and also I looked on the map properly, I was able to see the landmark that I am looking for, the Magellan’s cross.

This is the map where I was lost

I was actually walking around for more than 30 minutes compared to just 15 minutes when I was going there. I actually laughed on myself but at the same time I realized that I am not really good in directions. But yeah, partly I am happy that I was lost in the city because I was able to sweat a lot. It’s like walking exercise. So instead of frustrations, I treated it as a positive event.

Nevertheless, I was thankful that I am able to be in the hotel safe and I was able to learn from that experience.

5.6.2022 - originally written in 10:00A.M.

~MizLhaine

 

7
$ 6.07
$ 5.96 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.03 from @Ellehcim
+ 2
Sponsors of MizLhaine
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MizLhaine
1 year ago

Comments

Luhh, bago mag isa kalang hoyy. Loka ka, what if naharang ka doon omg. But anyways, I'm glad that u still find your way to the hotel. If pala tayo ang magkasama ee pareho tayong maliligaw. Tas mahiyain pa ako mag ask naku nalang talaga hahaha @Ellehcim mare ano? Tara na tayong tatlo maga lakad lakaD lang HAHAHAH

$ 0.03
1 year ago

Ayoko pag ganyan, for sure kung sinu sino na nagulo ko para magtanong hahaha! Need talaga may kasama na marunong sa byahe 😭

Well, pag ako naman nawawala yung hiya ko at nagtataning talaga ako, kaysa gabihi. sa lugar na di ako pamilyar.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was confident na hindi naman ako maano kasi araw naman. Pero sabi nila, kailangan daw talaga ang pag-iingat sa streets na yon. Hahahaha. HI5 tayo sa mga ligawan serye hahahaha. Tingin ko sa mga kalye, pare pareho na. hahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha amo mandin, kahit may spot akong tinatandaan in the end diko rin maaalala or mas malala is halo halo na sila sa utak ko kaya di na rin ako sure Zhahahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

di lang pala ako ang di mahusay sa directions. Kaya di rin ako palabyahe, kasi medyo mahina po ako pagdating sa pasikut sikot 😁

$ 0.01
1 year ago

don't you worry my dear, marami tayo. pero malaking help talaga si Google Maps kahit may mga places na wala pa din sa Map or mali ang pagpin ng establishment.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Same ta sis.. wala koy sense of direction... Hahaha kun mag Google maps gani ko ako ipacheck sa akong bana if sakto akong pagka position sa map and verify nako kun sakto sad akong giselect

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hi5 kaayo, mao na, usahay maglalis mi ni hubby tungod sa directions ky magkasaag saaag naman noon mi duha. Ana sya, why man gud mutoo ko nimo ba nga masaag gyud ta pirmi. hehehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i5 kaayo, mao na, usahay maglalis mi ni hubby tungod sa directions ky magkasaag saaag naman noon mi duha. Ana sya, why man gud mutoo ko nimo ba nga masaag gyud ta pirmi. hehehe

lols.. mao sad mi.. ako before mao karon.. mag ask nako niya ug iya jd icheck permi

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, akong ginabuhat sya na akong patan awon sa map, muopen rakog map.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha

$ 0.00
1 year ago