Detective Case 2.0: Missing Girlfriend

2 15
Avatar for Mingming
3 years ago

April 24, 2019; 8 pm

It was just one of the casual boring night. I sat down the sofa and turned on the television. Weeks had passed since my brother's death, and I took a short leave to have a rest. I was busy clicking the remote button finding a worth watching channel, when a news catched my attention.

"A woman was found dead near the park. According to the police officers, the woman fell down the stairs because of a man who pushed her. It may be that the man's motive was to rape the victim, but because she fell from the stairs he wasn't able to do so. However, due to the broken street lights, the police officers cannot confirm the identity of the man since the copy of the cctv isn't that clear," the reporter delivered. I watched the news intently, as the commotion continued behind the reporter.

--------

April 29, 2019; 5 am

"Welcome back Detective Silvenia!" I was welcomed by their greetings and pats in my back as soon as I entered our office. This is my first day again, since I took a leave because of my brother's death, and it seems like they're not that busy.

"Thanks guys," I'm really grateful that I have them as my team. "Anyways, do we have a new case?" I continued.

"You really miss dealing up with cases huh?" Inspector Santos asked me. I just nodded with a smile, as a response to him. "Well, to answer your question Detective Mendez. We don't have a big one so far."

Just as Inspector Santos finished his sentence, a man in suit entered our premise. All our eyes were fixed in him, curious of what is his intent. He is a fine young looking guy, maybe he's in his mid 20s. He has a black hair, with a height around 5'9, and he wears a watch and a necklace.

I just stared at him as he walked towards me. "Hmmm? Goodmorning sir, I'm Detective Silvenia. How can we help you?" I asked him. "I'm Yeurex Lopez. It's about my girlfriend," he answered with a serious face.

I just nodded and directed him to take a seat, so that we'll be able to talk better.

"Her name is Diana. She's missing since April 27, in the evening. Last April 24 in the evening, we planned to go shopping to buy her a ring and a watch, but she didn't come as what we planned," he continuously said. I just nodded to inform him that I'm giving attention in what he's saying.

"Can you lead me to her house?" I asked and stood up. "Sure Detective Silvenia," as soon as he said those words, I walked my way out of our office.

--------

April 29, 2019; 5:30 am

I opened the locked door of Diana's apartment with the key that we borrowed from the landlady. We entered her apartment and searched for things that would lead us to why she's nowhere to be found.

All I saw in her room were pictures, a pair of shoes, a nice sort of bed, and things that are necessary for an apartment.

"Her place looks fine," I said and walked near her sliding doors that's covered with curtains. "Yes," he answered timidly.

I kneeled my one knee on the floor as I found lots of dust below the curtains of the sliding doors. My thoughts was cut off when I suddenly received a call from Inspector Santos.

"Hello Inspector?" I answered his call. "Yandel, you need to come here in the La Luna Bridge. We have a case about a woman named Diana Garcia," Inspector Santos said. "We're on our way," I told him before I ended the call.

"Mr. Lopez, we have a lead about your missing girlfriend," I informed Mr. Lopez then we head our way to my car.

-------

April 29, 2019; 6:30 am

It took about an hour before we've arrived the La Luna bridge. The area was already secured by a police tape, and our team were already busy dealing with the case.

"Inspector Santos, what happened here?" I asked him while we're walking towards a pair of shoes with a card in it that's placed in the bridge's walkway. I bended my knees to pick up the card that was left. "That's Ms. Diana Garcia's pair of shoe and card. Around 5:25 this morning, she jumped from the bridge. And considering that it rained last night, the current of the river is fast. It would be impossible to find her body," Inspector Santos explained.

"How sure are you that she jumped from this bridge?" I asked Inspector Santos with a furrowed brows. "Well, Timothy Grande, he's the witness who was able to get a video of the happening." After that a man walked towards us. He also looks young, maybe in his mid 20s too. He has a blond hair, and he wears a long sleeves and a necklace.

"I was just driving through the bridge, when I saw that she was about to jump off the bridge. I was able to take a video," then he handed me his cellphone with the video in it.

"Mr. Lopez, here's the video." We then watched the video and I observed it carefully. "I can't manage to watch it," he whispered and was about to leave my side, when I suddenly hold his forearms. He took his forearms out of my hand, and glared at me while walking away. I just smirked with his reaction, and continued watching the video.

"This video was too steady for a person who's just driving by," I said and then I looked at Mr. Grande. "U-Uh, I was just able to take a good video," he defended himself while gesturing that he has nothing to do with what happened to Ms. Garcia.

"Detective Silvenia, this is obviously a suicide," Inspector Santos concluded. I just shooked my head and contradicted, "I can feel that there is something wrong Inspector."

"You said that it happened around 5:25 am, there's still no bus at that time and this bridge is too far from her apartment," I paused. "And her shoes, there's no mud in it, considering that it rained last night," I added.

Our conversation was cut off by a voice of a woman. "I drove her here early this morning," a woman wearing a taxi driver's uniform and a watch said. "I think she's saying the truth. We also found a cctv video of Ms. Garcia riding a taxi from her apartment," Inspector Santos whispered.

"I'm Gela Jerez. She was crying earlier this morning, she said that she wants to die. So maybe that's why she committed suicide," she said while looking at the river.

"Hey ma'am, can I see a card information about you?" I asked her. She quickly took her wallet and handed me her card. "Hmmmm, okay thank you." I smiled at her and gave her back the card.

"Inspector Santos, I think we need to hold the three. We might get more informations from them," I commanded Inspector Santos.

He instantly talked to them about what I told him. I was about to walk towards them, when my phone suddenly beeped. I took it from my pocket and there's a notification about the news that I was able to watch last April 24.

I opened the news article and it's a news update about the guy who pushed the girl from up the stairs. They were able to provide a clear picture of the guy. I furrowed my brow as I look at the picture. He is fine looking with a blonde long hair and a dragon tattoo in his forearms. After I've read the news article, I placed it back to my pocket.

"Inspector Santos, I need to leave. I need to prepare myself for a job interview. I still have to buy some of my needs like a suit and a black hair dye," I overheard Mr. Grande arguing with Inspector Santos. I smirked as I heard his statement.

"I already know the person who needs to be arrested!" I shouted while smiling. "Who's it detective Silvenja?" Inspector Santos asked me. Curiousity was evident on his face.

I then walked towards them to state what I found out. "Based on the video we've watched, we weren't able to see the face of the women. Are we even sure that she's Ms. Garcia?" I asked.

"But she was wearing the same dress, as Ms. Garcia was wearing when she rode the taxi," Inspector Santos disagreed.

"Before we came here, we checked Ms. Garcia's apartment. The way the shoes, that's left in the walkway, were tied were completely different from the way Ms. Garcia's shoes, that's left in her house, were tied. It seems that another person tied it again. Additional to that, if you'll watch the video, you'll be able to notice that the woman was wearing a watch. Based on Ms. Garcia's pictures in her house, she doesn't wear any necklace, earrings, or even a watch," I continued to explain.

"So who's the person? It's obviously a suicide? What are you talking about?" Mrs. Jerez insisted.

"Calm down Mrs. Jerez. Because the woman in the video..." I paused,"... is you!" Then I looked at her.

"When you opened your wallet and showed me your card, I was able to see that you're also a Coast Guard. And the watch that the woman was wearing is completely the same with yours. It only means that you are the woman in the video since you have the same watch and you're good at swimming. You used your body and hair that's kind of the same with Ms. Garcia to deceive us," I explained.

She just sighed and smiled. "Well, I was tempted with the big money she had. I badly needed the money, so I did the crime," she walked towards Inspector Santos, ready to be arrested.

"However, you're not the killer." They all stopped as I said those words. "April 24, a women was found dead near the park. And the person who killed her.." I raised my arms to point him, "... is Mr. Lopez!!!"

"What are you talking about? W-Where's your proof?" drop of sweats were dripping from his face.

"It's quite hot Mr. Lopez. Why don't you take off your suit? Afraid that we'll see the dragon tattoo that's inked in your forearm? When you were about to walk away while watching the video, I was able to hold you. Making a part of your tattoo exposed," I smiled while staring at him intensely.

"Ms. Garcia was able to witness the crime that you did. She hid for a certain time from you, that's the reason why there were lots of dust under her curtains. Remember when you came to our office? You said that you planned to buy a watch and a ring; but again, based on the pictures of Ms. Watson in her apartment, she's not fond of wearing jewelries neither a watch. Mrs. Jerez faked Ms. Garcia's death to protect her. That is also the reason why Mr. Grande's video was a good one, because it was Mrs. Jerez intent. You dyed your hair to avoid being known and wear that suit to cover up your tattoo," as soon as I finished my explanation, the police officers arrested Mr. Lopez.

"I'll make sure you'll pay for this!" Mr. Lopez shouted before the police officer's brought him inside the police car.

"Mrs. Jerez!" we heard a voice of a woman from away. It was Ms. Garcia. She ran towards us and hugged Mrs. Jerez. "Are you alright? I was worried. You didn't have to do that." I smiled because of the scene that I was able to witness.

"Why did you risked your life to save her Mrs. Jerez?" I intervened their moment to satisfy my curiousity. "Because the woman who died last April 24 is my daughter. I don't want another woman will be able to experience what my daughter had gone through." She broke down in tears as she shard her thoughts about her daughter's incident. "Thank you Detective Silvenia, for giving my daughter the justice we both needed." She held my hand tightly. "You're welcome ma'am," I said and patted her hand.

Inspector Santos suddenly placed his hand on my shoulders. "You never failed us Detective Silvenia," he commended me. I just smiled at him,

"Case closed."

2
$ 0.00
Avatar for Mingming
3 years ago

Comments

nice story dear, keep it up👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thankyou

$ 0.00
3 years ago