The Street Walker [Short Story]

1 32
Avatar for MightyTalon
2 years ago

Grey, grey, green, grey... Distracted for a moment, I look up and give an automatic smile, and instantly regret it. She nervously smiles back, glances around and crosses to the other side. Keep to myself. Keep watching my feet as I walk.

I pass houses with short green lawns, fences with barking hounds, sounds of dishes being scraped and stacked in kitchens. This is my anti-plagiarism sentence. A grey-haired man is working with wood in his garage; he glances up and I can see him out the corner of my eye, watching me pass, not continuing with the tools in his hands until he's sure I'm not slowing down. 

Focus on the sounds of gravel crunching, birds arguing in the trees overhead, the breeze in my ears. Grey, grey, green, grey... keep moving. 

I think today I'll turn left ahead. The scenery changes with every fifty steps; green to shades of brown. Neat and short to scruffy and natural. Birds arguing to people arguing. Keep my eyes on my feet, on the road in front of my feet, to keep from noticing the stares, the heat, the discomfort, the pain. Keep to myself so they don't ask questions I can't answer.

The sun in my eyes. The sun on my head. The sun in my eyes. The light changes as the shadows grow and shrink and grow again. As the light fades and the colours turn darker, I arrive back at the door. 

 

---------------------------------

I write short stories about life from the perspective of others. And sometimes from my perspective too. Your tips keep me writing and progressing - thank you <3

Join me on noise.cash: MightyTalon
Join me on publish0x: MightyTalon

--------------------------------

I first published this short story on my Publish0x blog: One Day. Copyright belongs to me. All rights reserved.

Image by pexels user reneasmussen.

2
$ 0.09
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @JustMyRambles01
Avatar for MightyTalon
2 years ago

Comments

"Keep to myself so they don't ask questions I can't answer." - so beautifully said. I do exactly this when I am having one of those days. I really enjoy your writing :)

$ 0.03
2 years ago