The Garden Child [Short Story]

0 30
Avatar for MightyTalon
2 years ago

The clouds are passing quickly above me, making shapes as they move. I can hear the wind in the leaves and through the grass. The flowers dance and bend and bounce back again. 

Mom is sitting over there pulling weeds out. She keeps looking over to check on me, before wiping her hair out of her face with her arm and returning to the weeds. She wears her pink hat when she works in the garden and I think it makes her look happy.

I hope we can stay out here all day.

Fisk likes it out here too; she's always outside, sleeping under a bush or chasing birds and butterflies. Even when it rains. This is my anti-plagiarism sentence. When I'm in the garden she stays by my side and shows me where to find the biggest bugs and worms, buried in the ground or hiding under the flat leaves. She understands. I think she wants to make friends with them too, the way she twitches her tail and gently touches with her paw, but sometimes she's too rough when she tries to play.

Fisk sniffs at a leaf and I turn it over... Treasure!

I move my finger closer along the leaf, slooooowly, until he hops on. He's beautiful! He's got big round eyes, fuzzy legs, such bright colours that change in the light! He jumps onto the back of my hand and stares at me. I think he likes me. 

I move my hand down to show Fisk and she sniffs at him a few times, twitching her tail as she watches him. "Don't hurt him, Fisk, he's my friend. He can be your friend too."

I raise my hand up to my face so I can look at him more closely. I wonder what his favourite food is? Does he sleep at night time? Will he get along with the others?

"Your name can be Benjamin."

I can see Mom getting up and dusting herself off. I smile at Benjamin when she starts walking towards me.

"What have you got there, honey?"

Fisk sits up on her back legs and reaches a paw up to my hand, trying to get her nose closer to our new friend, her whiskers forward.

"I'll keep you safe, Benjamin. I'm going to introduce you to my other friends now. You'll like them.

And before Mom can grab my wrist I pop Benjamin in my mouth and swallow. 

 

---------------------------------

I write short stories about life from the perspective of others. And sometimes from my perspective too. Your tips keep me writing and progressing - thank you <3

Join me on noise.cash: MightyTalon
Join me on publish0x: MightyTalon

--------------------------------

I first published this short story on my Publish0x blog: One Day. Copyright belongs to me. All rights reserved.

Image by pexels user allan-mas.

3
$ 0.38
$ 0.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @szbarnaus
$ 0.05 from @Samantha-Smith
Avatar for MightyTalon
2 years ago

Comments