Are Crypto Faucets A Waste Of Our Time?

2 47
Avatar for MightyTalon
2 years ago

Most of us are living in a constant state of stress right now - not knowing if our income is secure, not knowing if our loved ones are safe, not knowing where the world is heading... For many of us, the possibility of financial freedom seems to be the only glimmer of hope that holds a solution to all of our practical problems.

For many of us, cryptocurrencies are the best chance we have of achieving that financial freedom, and the barriers to entry are low enough that everyone has a chance to make money without having much money to invest. If you choose the right coins and if you pay attention to the markets and crypto news, your investment is reasonably "safe". And if a celebrity happens to promote the coins you chose, you could find yourself on the fast-track to financial freedom. That's the dream we all hold close to our hearts. A chance to escape the difficulties we're currently facing.

I started researching crypto faucets at the beginning of this year (it took me a while to trust that they're not all scams) and to me they seemed like an easy way to build up a good collection of Sats while doing something I enjoy, so that I'll be sorted when the market price eventually skyrockets. I spent some time on platforms like Publish0x, Noise.cash, Upland and recently Read.cash.
I know people who write content on these platforms multiple times a day - selling their thoughts and ideas for a few cents worth of Sats.

Is it worth it?

I did a calculation in my head this morning... If I'm doing traditional work for traditional pay, I get paid X amount per hour, for my time and skills. If I'm spending my time on faucet platforms instead, I get paid a fraction of that. And I also run the risk that my stories and ideas will be stolen.

When we're in a bull run, those few Sats look very appealing and for a moment I'm convinced that it's ok to be paid next to nothing for my creative work because if I keep at it, eventually it'll all add up to millions.

And then we hit a bear market, and the rose-tinted glasses fall off. Now those hours, weeks, months spent earning cents shows up as a poor life decision; should I have used that time better?

I know what you're thinking... You shouldn't see faucets as income, you should use them only as a supplement to your traditional salary income - right?
Yes. If you're an employee and you're earning a salary.

In my case I'm not. I'm a business owner. I don't have fixed working hours. My income is never guaranteed and my ability to earn money depends on how many hours I'm able or prepared to work. What this means for me specifically is that I have to make a choice multiple times a day: do I spend this hour on something that helps to generate immediate income, or on something that pays less but could potentially help me achieve financial freedom in the future, or on something that brings in no money at all but could potentially prevent me from burning out?

Right now I can't afford the last option. I need to use every available hour to get something productive done. Any free time I find in the evenings or on weekends needs to be spent on helping myself out of this situation or helping those close to me out of this situation.

And that's why I'm facing this question today: Are crypto faucets worth spending my time on, or are they a waste of time?

Am I giving the owners of the platforms a way to achieve their own financial freedom at the expense of mine? Am I giving away my intellectual property for someone else to make money on?

Right now I feel like I write because I enjoy it and I'm earning something from it... but when I find that my time is tight, I instinctively apply triage and enjoyment doesn't feature in the equation of what my time needs to be spent on. I'm still making up my mind about whether faucets belong in my triage equation.

...What are your thoughts? Are crypto faucets worth it for you?

---------------------------------

I write short stories about life from the perspective of others, and sometimes I write from my perspective too.

Join me on noise.cash: MightyTalon

Join me on publish0x: MightyTalon

You can read my short stories here: MightyTalon

--------------------------------

Copyright belongs to me. All rights reserved.

Photo by Pexels user cottonbro.

4
$ 6.64
$ 6.61 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
Avatar for MightyTalon
2 years ago

Comments

Depending on the Faucet, I count some as a complete waste of time, there's is one I've been doing for over 4 months on Telegram and till now I'm yet to earn up to $1, there's also one that I have to click every 30mins, till today I haven't gotten to the minimum payout limit.

These faucets set ridiculously high payout limit ,meanwhile the rate at which one earn there is very low.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm having this problem on Publish0x too, where they keep increasing the pay-out limits and I don't think I'm ever actually going to be able to withdraw the coins I earned.

$ 0.00
2 years ago