Time of Death

4 28
Avatar for MidnightSky
2 years ago

When I was a naive child back then, all I do is to roamed around to this white corners of this huge building, and the smells of antiseptics and various medicines lingers through my nose, yes I’m a sicko back then, asthma really infuriating my patience, it comes and go just like I am that in and out to this hospital, my mind is always wondering when I see patients that enters, goes out when they feel better but some are not given a luck to leave this place with a well condition, yes the harsh truth of entering this place.

Back then, I was so inspired to those people or whom they call as a hero that is not wearing a cape but a white coat in this place. They ruled this place, they amazed me how they are good on their profession, it’s like they have a superpower to heal a person, they have this magic on me haha yes, I do believe in what my parents says back then, actually I hate going here because of my asthma but I started to enjoy it when I watch doctors shows magic in healing and fixing people with diseases. So, I dreamed to be like them, to be a doctor,

Now that I finally have the degree and a license as a cardiologist, I finally living my dreams, I heal people, I have no records of deaths since I started this profession, it’s so great seeing patients and also the family to cry not in pain but in happiness that they loved one has given a chance to live in this world, and to be with them, I can see them smiling and thanking to me, but for me it’s my job here, the one that should be given by a gratitude is God, he give me this gift to heal a lot of people, I love this and I will continue doing this until I can.

Hospital is now my second home, where sometimes I don’t barely really go home, I love medicines, I love the smell of antiseptic and different kind of alcohols they used here, I love to be here, I love treating people, but life happens when it shouldn’t be,

All my perspective change when this wonderful person came rushing in the emergency door of this hospital, I go fast and check his situation, he’s in a cardiac arrest, I go do my work and finally after a few minutes he’s now stable, I keep monitoring him, when the door opens and the first time I laid my eyes on this alluring face of her, I’m so stunned, she walks closer to where I am…

“Doc, how is he?”

I can’t answer because I’m to hooked up on looking at her ethereal beauty,

“hey” she says with a little louder than the tone earlier

“Ow, I-I am so sorry, uhm you are?” I said bluntly gosh why did I stutter

“I’m his sister Doc” she says calmly

“Your brother is stable for now, but I will keep monitoring him since he’s heart is not in a good condition, the only solution is a heart transplant, his heart is already weak, and it needed a new one as soon as possible” I said as a professional Doctor

She stares at his brother then stares back at me with a teary eye,

“Do it Doc” you just said

“It will be a huge amount of money needed to pay that kind of – “

“Just do it” she says cutting me off

Weeks past and I get to know her and finally we became close to each other, his brother still being kept here in the hospital since they haven’t still had a money and also a donor that would match to his heart,

She goes in and goes out to see his brother, she became close to me, and to be honest I develop a romantic feelings onto her, and when I asked her if we could be together, she says yes, we celebrated it inside this four corners of my plain white office in this huge hospital, her brother also knew about us, and his happy that finally his sister had someone to share attention not just only focus on him and his disease.

I keep on doing my best to find a heart donor to his brother and when my colleague just tell me a good news that they already find a match, and when I finally heard that great news, I immediately call her number so I could share the good news but she’s not answering her phone, maybe she’s just busy on her job as a barista in her own mini coffee shop, so I just go home and decided to just tell her tomorrow. The operation will begin tomorrow night, but I’m not able to perform it and forbidden to go inside the operation room, and I’m not the doctor that supposed to be there fixing his brother’s heart, how the hell I’m restricted to the area I owned and where is she, the staffs tell me that the family of the patient doesn’t want me to be there unless the operation is finished,

The operation is done and a success, but I can’t see even a shadow of her, his brother is now safe and sound and just needed to be monitored. But where is she? I try calling several times, but she can’t be reached, that’s when I see a familiar name in a file of paper in a case that a colleague of mine is holding,

I go grab it and see as crystal clear her name “Katarina Amethyst Andrade” I immediately loosen my grip to the paper and my knees went weak, I almost fell to the ground after seeing what I supposed to no to, she’s the heart donor,

She gives her heart to his brother without me knowing, without me saying goodbye to her, how can she leave me like that, but soon a staff tell me what really happens, she came in another hospital because of a car crush, she’s so well like there’s nothing happen and she just get scratches , she’s conscious and she gives a signed a paper that if something happens all of her still functioning organs will be donated specially her heart to his dear brother, but when she stand and about to walk out in the hospital she just fell on the floor and that’s it we did a lot but she’s no longer responding, the cause of her death is internal bleeding on his brain caused by the car accident she had.

Now I'm looking at her lifeless body, she's still beautiful as the first time I laid my eyes on her, my tears started to escape through my eyes as I see my love laying down on a white bed, I should not be like this I'm trained for this, I should be facing the patient family and said those eords that would remain in their mind. I'm too weak to face her brother and said those lines I can't because how can I when I myself can't accept the fact that you are not here anymore.

“I used to love medicine not until he took away mine, it’s you my love you will always be my medicine, even you are not here.”

Lead Image source:

https://id.pinterest.com/Putridjyntsfnr/holding-hands/

Image source:

https://www.pinterest.fr/faroubilli/hospital/

https://www.pinterest.com/pin/pin-by-aninha-on-me--818177457311366635/

https://www.bigfishgames.com/games/17017/lifeline-flatline/

https://unsplash.com/s/photos/couple-holding-hand

The end haha okay the ending is just a mema na lang haha I’m to lazy to think of a good one haha, hope your enjoy this one, it’s quite long haha I don’t need to put more chapter pa haha on shot na lang haha, good night to all, stay hydrated and keep safe.

4
$ 1.15
$ 1.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Eunoia
+ 1
Sponsors of MidnightSky
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MidnightSky
2 years ago

Comments

I knew it, at first akala ko si Doc magiging donor pero as story goes by, sabe na eh Yung girl talaga haha. Pero sis akala true story mo haha, mapanakit ka for tonight's article ahha

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Whahahaha hala whaha kung story ko to go pa din charizz masokista tayo dito whahaa.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Huhu.. Kala ko totoo 🤧🤧..i get emotional reading that part na sya pla heart donor..huhu.. Pero btw, medical student kb?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Di namn po masakit parang kagat lang ng dinosaur haha, charizz anyways hindi po hehez

$ 0.00
2 years ago