Horror Quotes

28 407
Avatar for Mictorrani
3 years ago

Collections of quotes have proved to be popular, so have read.cash contests. Right now there is a contest held by @Jdine, and the topic is horror. What suits better for the occasion then than some horror quotes?

Bram Stoker, 1847-1912, was an Irish author. He wrote the original novel "Dracula", the ancestor (in a literary sense) of all later vampires in books and on film. Even if vampire lore has evolved considerably since then, the whole genre owes a lot to "Dracula".

“Listen to them, the children of the night. What music they make!”

(Bram Stoker, “Dracula”)

Dante, 1265-1321, Italian poet, who is best known as the author of Divina Commedia; it is one of the most important classics in European literature, certainly the most important from the Middle Ages. Inferno, from which the quote is taken, is the first part of that work.

"Hope not ever to see Heaven. I have come to lead you to the other shore; into eternal darkness; into fire and into ice."

(Dante Alighieri - Inferno)

Rémy de Gourmont, 1858-1915, French writer and critic.

"Demons are like obedient dogs; they come when they are called."

(Rémy de Gourmont)

William Hughes Mearns, 1875-1965, American poet. Antigonish, whose initital lines are quoted here, is his best known work.

"Last night I saw upon the stair, a little man who wasn’t there. He wasn’t there again today. Oh, how I wish he’d go away…"

(William Hughes Mearns, "Antigonish")

Max Brooks, born 1972, actor and author, is the son of Mel Brooks and Anne Bancroft. World War Z (2006) is his best known literary work. A film based on the story was released in 2013.

“The monsters that rose from the dead, they are nothing compared to the ones we carry in our hearts.”

(Max Brooks, "World War Z")

C.K. Webb, born 1973, is a contemporary American author.

“Sometimes the things in our heads are far worse than anything they could put in books or on film.”

(C.K. Webb)

Emily Dickinson, 1830-1886, American poet.

"One need not be a chamber to be haunted. One need not be a house. The brain has corridors surpassing material place."

(Emily Dickinson)

H.P. Lovecraft, 1890-1937, is one of the most influential horror authors ever. He is best known for his Cthulhu Mythos.

"There are horrors beyond life’s edge that we do not suspect, and once in a while man’s evil prying calls them just within our range."

(H.P. Lovecraft)

"The oldest and strongest emotion of mankind is fear, and the oldest and strongest kind of fear is fear of the unknown."

(H.P. Lovecraft)

Arthur Conan Doyle, 1859-1930, created Sherlock Holmes, but he also wrote some horror stories.

"Where there is no imagination there is no horror."

(Arthur Conan Doyle)

Clive Barker, born 1952, is one of the most interesting contemporary horror authors. He is inventive and has a vivid imagination. Barker is also a visual artist.

"Horror fiction shows us that the control we believe we have is purely illusory, and that every moment we teeter on chaos and oblivion."

(Clive Barker)

"Everybody is a book of blood; wherever we’re opened, we’re red."

(Clive Barker, "Books of Blood")

The author Robert Bloch, 1917-1994, first belonged to the circle around H.P. Lovecraft, but he later found a slightly different style. He is best known for Psycho, of which Hitchcock would make a movie.

"Despite my ghoulish reputation, I really have the heart of a small boy. I keep it in a jar on my desk."

(Robert Bloch)

My previous collections of quotes: "Some Favourite Quotes" and "With a Touch of Humour - More Quotes"

Copyright © 2020 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

(If you liked this, please consider leaving a tip, either here or via CoinTr.ee)

If you are interested in words and expressions, join my community The Power of Words (4be2).

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

10
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @AnsleyLivy
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
3 years ago

Comments

I've been meaning to read up on Dante when I had time. I suppose this is a sign. And is it a sign of how morbid I am that i find some of these rater amusing quotes

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Amusing! Well, it probably depends on your own mind-set then, how you see them. Yes, by all means, read Dante. It's well worth it.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well a lot of them are too true, which makes them funny to me

Time to go look for that pdf. Among those authors i only know dante and Arthur conan doyle. Kind of want to reread that series too after you mentioned it

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Try H.P. Lovecraft also. He is absolutely a classic in the genre.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seems like you favor him a lot too. I'll definitely read up on him as well soon. Divina comedia first because i think I've procrastinated long enough

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Creepy quotes but enjoyed reading, the Inferno (2nd) one I like the most. so poetic.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, indeed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting quotes. They have to do with the subject horror but to me, they are not horror itself. Apart is wisdom and who knows to some even part of their life experience. It must be hard to live in fear of daily life. That man up at the stairs...I would start a chat with him. You like quotes or make notes of interesting lines you read?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I agree, they are not horror, they are about horror in some sense. Yes, I make notes of interesting lines I read, and since I read copiously, and have done since childhood, I have thousands of quotes in small notebooks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already thought so. Interesting collection of notebooks you must have by now. 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago

"Despite my ghoulish reputation, I really have the heart of a small boy. I keep it in a jar on my desk." Well, This one made me laugh really hard. I like it!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it is witty.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That last one though..... Creepy

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That one seems to affect people. Some says creepy, some think it's fun.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Lol. It's weird. Just imagining if someone said that to me 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sometimes the things in our heads are far worse than anything they could put in books or on film.

Everybody is a book of blood; wherever we’re opened, we’re red.

Love these quotes👌

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You're welcome 😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Not such a fan of horror quotes, books, and films..im too scared😞😓

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Too scared... well, some people feels that as unpleasant while others enjoy that thrilling feeling. People are different. But if you feel so, you surely have a very strong ability to be "present" in a story, a strong imagination.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I sometimes like to write horror riddles

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is a horror riddle? Can you give an example?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pianist

Every day, my mother taught me to play the piano. She taught me the piano very hard. Even to the point of yelling at me and punishing me if I didn't mean it. This afternoon, I have played the song in front of her 6 times. But he didn't seem satisfied.

"Faster!" She shouted at me. I just gave up and did what she told me to do. Even so, the more yelled at, the more chaotic my tone became. This is my 7th song today. “Your father must be so embarrassed to see you now! Faster! " She shouted again.

I'm sweating even more. I couldn't hold my wrist which hurt from being forced over the line. "Faster!" she shouted for the umpteenth time.

Until I really screwed up. The notes I tapped next didn't really feel like music. She then told me to stop. "Absolutely useless, your training is over for today." She says.

She then headed for the kitchen. I gasped and grabbed the end of the piano.

Well, I know what will happen next. Mother will definitely punish me.

When she came back, I could see a serious expression on his face. Her hand is holding something.

7 Alone is difficult. Tomorrow I have to play with 6. My mind is giving up.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ah, she cut off a finger, didn't she?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Right, the woman's mother cut it off

$ 0.00
3 years ago

My story is not that great

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spine tingling!!!!

$ 0.00
3 years ago