Do We Have Saboteurs in Our Midst?

25 515
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Six days ago [31 May 2021] I received downvotes. The thumbs up were kept at zero, although I know I had got at least two likes. There was nothing wrong with the article, Deceptive Symptoms - A True Story; judge for yourself! I have never been downvoted before and first I thought it was a technical problem. As the day passed, however, I came to believe that it was really a question of downvotes.

Among articles posted that day or the day before, were unnaturally many with zero thumbs – which implies at least one downvote. Many of those articles were fine, with no apparent reason for any downvote.

I suspect this to be a systematic application of bad will. In my case I suspect revenge for my hard criticism of plagiarism in a couple of cases I found on read.cash or in my moderation queue the day or days before.

No doubt downvotes affect tips and visibility negatively. I noticed that clearly.

The day after the day when this happened, I blocked the authors I had criticised, and I have not received any downvotes since then. Only that very day for me, although yesterday [5 June 2021], I still saw articles by others with zero thumbs. Some might be justified, but not all or most of them.

I don't know if this is a permanent problem, and it might be a small one. However, all forms of abuse starts small, and, if successful, tends to grow. That is to say, it should be nipped in the bud.

Anyway, downvoting can too easily be abused for personal reasons, or for no reason at all more than a desire to disturb proper function of the system. Far too many individuals are amused by doing meaningless things like that and cause, if not direct trouble, so at least an inconvenience or irritation for others. It gives small minds a sense of importance that they can do something others notice, no matter what it is. They just want to feel the power of influence, even if it is just to cause a minor irritation.

If this happens to you and you have any idea who is doing it, especially if it is some sort of ill will or revenge: block them. Then they will no longer see your articles and cannot continue to downvote you.

Personally, I have never downvoted anyone. If I don't like something, I just refrain from upvoting or tipping. I think that is enough. The option to downvote oughtn't be there, it's too easy to abuse it.

Or should it be used for flagrant plagiarism?

No, plagiarism should be reported, and the option for that is available.

I must admit that I rarely bother to report it myself. I reject it in my communities, mostly that's all. Occasionally I write a comment about it. But there is too much to waste time on. Yet it ought to be reported every single time. It should be.

As for copyright, I have written about that in What You Need to Know about Copyright. It covers most aspects of it. One thing, however, has turned up a couple of times lately: translations. The “author” might acknowledge that it is a translation of this or that, seemingly unaware that publishing a translation of someone else's copyrighted text is illegal without permission from the copyright holder of the original text.

Copyright violation is a crime and deliberate copyright violation is an abomination. However, a lot of honest people, who don't want to infringe on someone else's copyright, still do so - simply out of ignorance. If you belong to them, please read my article about copyright. It provides quite extensive information in a clear and simple-to-understand way.

I have been on read.cash for a good 14 months by now. I have seen the steps of its evolution to the platform it is today. Although the problem with copyright violation is still prevalent, it was much worse in the beginning – and the number of good authors of original material (and who have something to say with their words), has grown considerably. Then I mainly refer to topics outside the BCH/Crypto sphere; such topics have gradually gained more space as read.cash has grown. That is a positive development, since it also brings familiarity with cryptocurrencies and the use of BCH into new circles of people, people who would probably never have touched it otherwise.

Let's not allow this platform to be degraded by saboteurs of any description, be it abusers of downvoting, spammers, or plagiarists. We must fight all abuse, and we must do it together.

Articles referred to in this article:

Deceptive Symptoms - A True Story

What You Need to Know about Copyright

Words are Power - But only if you Have Something to Say

Copyright © 2021 Meleonymica/Mictorrani. All Rights Reserved.

You find all my writings on Read.Cash, sorted by topic, here.

34
$ 20.72
$ 20.12 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.32 from @sanctuary.the-one-law
$ 0.10 from @Gemstone
+ 5
Sponsors of Mictorrani
empty
empty
Avatar for Mictorrani
2 years ago

Comments

I have just gone through your previous post, and I see absolutely nothing wrong in it which could lead to you getting a downvote. Thank God you were sensitive enough to assume the cause. Thumbs up!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hi! I am new here and I happen to come across your article. Thank you for sharing you learnings and observations.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad that you appreciate it. I guess it is useful to know what to expect,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It looks like you've been vindicated, judging by the earnings on this post. Personally, I don't downvote often, but when I do it's because an article is just so atrocious it wouldn't make sense to do anything else. But I do prefer to just not vote for most articles if I'm not blown away by them. Sorry you experienced that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Possibly someone sees you as a competition. They're trying to discredit your amazing work by using lame techniques and tactics. Don't let that slacken and/or discourage you. 😊 I was also disliked many times, but remember: only successful people are hearing critics about themselves and their work! It is a part of success.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. Thanks for the encouragement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hi there, another one today, and suspecting more downvotes on the previous. We clearly lose visibility and earnings. From some jalous people, It's no more simply like that. This kind of people are ruining hours of work checking data, for exemple, for my last publication. It can't be! For my opinion the best thing to do is to report it by email to the admins. And I will do it! :0)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Did you report it? If so, did you get any answer? Today I got one such downvote and I see others getting it too these days. Someone is doing this systematically.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, I have downvotes every day, I think. What to do? Reported! But no answers for the moment.. People doing that are people jealous about the money our blogs could make. I don't see any other explanation. They will burn in Hell! lol (joking, haha). Being bad attracts bad! Honestly, I don't care so much. Even, if my earnings have dropped so much. I suppose it's part of the game.. They will get tired before I do. :0)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ditto! :)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have reported it, but that was half a year ago. I did never get any answer, and I really don't know if reporting it helps. But, by all means, try it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

As a matter of fact, life bring some sort of "rejection" ppl know how to discourage those who would give up on their going.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is sad to know you received downvote, It will affect tips,you must be consistent about content you've posted and avoid plagiarism friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am consistent and I have been a professional writer for decades without declining to plagiarism. Indeed, I am one of those most consistently fighting plagiarism at this platform. But it is a fact that down-votes are sometimes used for personal reasons and ill will. I have seen more of that during the more than half year that has passed since I wrote this article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes , I understand you thanks for that, you've been fighting against plagiarism. Sometimes people do that because they are insecure for what you are now the tend to drag you down, be steadfast friend

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very nice Down voting is not a good act, Just don't vote instead of downvoting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very right I love your choice of words as well

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Completely agree with you. However, removing the Downvote option does not fix the problem. People are as they are, and in this sense, as long as there is no higher level of collective consciousness, we will have to deal with them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, you are right. One cannot change the human nature.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally, I have never downvoted anyone. If I don't like something, I just refrain from upvoting or tipping. I think that is enough. The option to downvote oughtn't be there, it's too easy to abuse it.

Downvoting is nothing more than a toxic mechanism.
Far too many websites support this unholy travesty.


If someone likes something
then they can tip, or upvote, or maybe just smile and come back later.
Tipping is an economic way of rewarding an author for composing something.
Upvoting is just a way of saying "I wish I wrote that - ...me too!"
The only other option should be to walk away and ignore the work.


That downvoting exists on read.cash is an abomination to anyone who takes the time to compose complete sentences.
This begs for someone who has some wisdom
to disable this legacy of venomous realms
many of us left where vicious attitudes are the 'standard'.

Downvoting is nothing more than from someone who lacks the guts
to face the author and properly explain what they are downvoting.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I have read the article that you mentioned but i didn’t find anything wrong with the article.. As my opinion if i don't like something i will just ignore that..It's enough for me..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, but I don' t think this is genuine "dislike, this is ill will.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is true that small errors must be uprooted so as not to let it grow; like bad weed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Right!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good morning from me,am new here,i guess we should be liking, commenting on others people post in that way we move faster, thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago