Strategies to write stories, micro-stories, or whatever you want - Don't get embroiled

2 33
Avatar for MicroReylatos2
3 years ago

Source 

Hello, readcashers !:   It has gone on to more than one of us that we get thwarted when writing, well after so many years doing it, I bring you some methods that I use every time I need to.

I hope you use them and leave me your comment if you think that this micro guide is a good gift. 

The first thing you should take into account is that you should rather be relieved tension and without stress, although the way of getting motivated works differently for each one, my advice is that you better be calmed down, in a setting where it is helping to analyzing and being able to get your ideas in order, then we begin: 

Imagine scenes through music

As easy as that, take your favorite song or any other music and visualize events as the song progresses, in this way you will be able to create a great story. Many times you just need to turn on the radio and hear to get ideas to flow. This strategy helps me a lot.

Start from a sentence

Choose any expression at random, fabric one or if not, search for a phrase in a book or in Google itself, it is very easy. There you will start to spawn a story, to show you how easy it is, I will give you an example.

Example:  

The phrase I chose: 

Generate a story.

 History :  

What do I do now? 

  • Generate a story!

  • As I had not imagined about it before, damn head mine !.

Use a word generator

Yes, it's that easy, in google there are many, I will refer to you some (these are in Spanish because it is my native language, but you can find them in English too): 

http://www.palabrasque.com/palabra-aleatoria.php?Submit=Nueva+palabra 

https://www.palabrasaleatorias.com/ 

http://www.danielpinero.com/generador-palabra-aleatoria 

http://www.saberia.com/herramientas/generador-palabras/ 

You only grab about 10 words at random and write them willy-nilly, for example, let's say I got these words:

Rectangle, Oil, Helicopter, Education, Polygon, Temperature, Hammock, Vote, Poster, Salmon.

There are a lot of prospects there, for example, it could be the story of a salmon that wanted to transport oil by helicopter, and I still don't use many words, so this seems to me to be a very useful creative source, in addition to exhorting the training of our mind, keeping us active and productive.

Look around you

This is one of my favorites, because many people tell me, Reinaldo, but I don't have resources, I don't have money, etc., and I always tell them, to write you only need your mind, not even pencil and paper, because with your fingers you can write on the ground (one day I saw someone doing this exercise, but I'll tell about that in another post). 

Here you will only commit yourself to contemplate everything that encircles you, whether you are at home or on the street, improve your senses, attend to the sounds, perhaps the uproar of a couple arguing, the boys playing in the street, the tone of your husband's car coming from work.

All these elements will give you ideas to create a story.   Using this technique you can create very cool things. 

Transform everyday events into extraordinary

It has a lot to do with the previous technique, but here the distinction is that you are going to take one of the things that you often do every day, such as going to buy bread, cross the street, go up in the elevator, or have breakfast, and you will turn it into a story.

This is an endless source of the story because you can simply select as an option, relate the adventure of your day-to-day, from the point of view of a cockroach (making my respective Kafkaesque reference of course), so this is another important help that you can use. 

Tarot cards

Take a deck of tarot cards, draw about 10, and put them on a table in the order you want. And ready, you are explaining a story according to the positions in which the cards are, this works using the 22 cards of the major arcana of the tarot, that all have a meaning and tell a story, this method will delight everyone who is fans or practitioners of card reading, like this server. 

Set of papers with adjectives taken from a container

It cannot be easier, you cut about 10 pieces of paper, and on those papers, you are going to write 3 verbs, 2 proper nouns, and 5 adjectives. For example like this: 

3 verbs: Drink, run, steal 

2 names: Maria, Pedro 

5 adjectives: tiny, nice, ugly, dirty, liar. 

There we have the combination for your story or inspiration, we fold the papers and put them in a container, We shuffle them and we take them out one by one, I was left in this order

Maria tiny, ugly, Pedro, steal, drink, nice, liar, run, dirty. 

  • And how do I make a story? well, it's easy to follow the order that the words give you, look.

Maria was a young girl, with a tiny problem, her feet scented very ugly. Pedro was her neighbor, he was known for stealing car parts, he always wished of inviting Maria to drink.  But for being so liar, she didn't take it into account. The days finished and Pedro did not find anything pleasant to tell, so he opted for the possibility of going out for a jog the next morning, it was a kind of strange behavior. When her neighbor heard that someone was leaving at dawn, she went out to see what all that noise was, he saw Pedro with tight shores, and that he was sweating in front of his door, and he yelled at him, you're a dirty!.

Well as you can see, I have created a short story using the method that I described. It is extremely useful and believes me it works, you just need to do this exercise as many times as possible, practice, and everything will turn out better.  

Every comment you give me helps me evolve, I want to be a whale to help you and the whole community, push me to achieve my goal! 

Sponsors of MicroReylatos2
empty
empty
empty

Until the next post!  

This publication is my complete authorship and property and was previously published in Spanish at:   https://steempeak.com/tutoriales/@reinaldoverdu/tecnicas-para-escribir-relatos-cuentos-o-lo-quieras-no-te-estanques 

6
$ 0.42
$ 0.10 from @Jane
$ 0.10 from @carolinacardoza
$ 0.07 from @Eybyoung
+ 3
Sponsors of MicroReylatos2
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MicroReylatos2
3 years ago

Comments

I think that listening to music is an excellent idea, my friend Rey, thanks for sharing.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great set of advices for new starters

$ 0.00
3 years ago