Map and tileset of Aed Lidona - My first videogame

0 15
Avatar for MicroReylatos
1 month ago
photo.jpg

Below you can see the original, which I am using as a reference to convert my map from the paper that is already very old and wearing out to pixel art.

photo.jpg

Image of my property. Photo taken with my phone Krip 4b

Greetings, today I want to share with you the progress I have made in mapping Aelidona, which is the first continent of my Top Down RPG/Metroidvania game "Mundo Puki".

I have achieved approximately 40% and here in this post I am going to show you everything I have progressed, you can see in the main image that the map is instantly present and I am going to now explain everything I have done.

Timelapse of the map

photo.jpg

photo.jpg

I started by drawing the tileset. To do this, I drew the tree, then the hills, followed by the mountains. Afterwards, I focused on drawing the houses or towns.

Then, I moved on to drawing the ruins. I also drew the fortifications, the castle with its towers and a separate tower. Additionally, I drew the volcano and represented the grass in the drawing.

I also included the desert moons and monuments, which are an important part. Likewise, I drew the peculiar churches and temples that exist in Mundo Puki.

Continuing to move forward, I created the lake sprite and also the corrupted terrain sprite.

You can also see that I dedicated myself to making the cemetery and the sprites for the arid parts of the game, representing the arid terrain of the game.


photo.jpg

The first thing I did was place Nabucodonosor at the top left of the map, but I was actually wrong. However, this is something I modified later and you will be able to see it correctly in this image.

I placed the religious temple when in reality I should have placed the monument of Nebuchadnezzar, which appears here, in the final image. In the animated gif, what you are seeing is the temple part.

After drawing this, I began to place the mountains that are around Yi migrany, beautify the town and place the houses.

Then, I added the center with the small lake, which supplies them with water


photo.jpg

I then began to draw the Cuniabe forest on the right and also the river that leaves from Nabucodonosor.

I started marking it and also drew Pouhase's terrain on the right. I changed said land for a corrupted one because I had made a mistake and I was wrong.

Finally, to finish the progress of this drawing, I drew the Valcuba desert.

In this part I began to work on the details of the terrain change from the desert to the mountains, working it with a dithering effect to achieve the transition.


photo.jpg

Finally, I stop the progress of this map in this world, since it is 600 x 350 in size and working on it is quite hard and requires a lot of effort.

This map is 40% complete and I'm really happy to share with you how it's going. I do this to get your suggestions and hear what I should change to make it look better. Your suggestions are always welcome.

Regarding the green background color of the map, I think I will definitely modify it later for a softer one. I have it like this for now so that it contrasts with what I draw and I don't miss details in the lines of the arts.

In this drawing, the challenge was on different levels, since there are many details everywhere, from drawing the river to the sprites of each thing. The skull was difficult for me, the volcano also took me a while to find the effect that convinced me.

Also, I think I'm going to modify Pouhace and the Valcuba desert, I'm not sure yet, I think they need some kind of dithering to smooth them out.

For those who don't know what this is about, it is nothing less than my video game, a project that has been going on for about 20 years and that I have recently decided to carry out.

You can find more information about how it started by clicking >>> https://peakd.com/hive-140217/@manclar/aed-lidona-the-amazement-of

I was fascinated by doing all this, the process is quite challenging and the results are very fun.

José Ángel, who is my privileged player to whom I showed this before anyone else, told me that he was very nice and he is very happy.

That pleases me a lot because his opinion is very valuable to me, since he is someone who knows my game in depth and knows when something can be right or wrong.

Thank you for visiting and I hope you enjoy my art.

phot.jpg
photo.jpg

2
$ 0.07
$ 0.07 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of MicroReylatos
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for MicroReylatos
1 month ago

Comments