Merry Merry almost not Merry, Odette - Christmas 2021 part 1

6 27

Happy Holidays and Merry Christmas world! We've been quite busy the past few days, as you know it's Christmas time and we as pinoys Christmas is the biggest holiday of the year.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

It's our 2nd year celebrating Christmas while we are still in the midst of the pandemic. There's even a new variant that just came in and luckily there's only a few infected and I hope that it didn't spread out as restrictions where loosened.

Anyway, I am glad that I am able to go back to blogging/posting. I've been quite busy the past week as my husband went home for the holiday. YEY!!!! I really want to maximize our time with him and I am glad that we did. There's still a few things that we needed to sort out.

Let me share a few things on what happened before Christmas, I plan to post this different articles so you won't get bored. hihi.

Odette before Christmas

For the meantime, we needed to check or my husband still needs to go back to Cebu on his next days off because the Odette typhoon hit and devastated Cebu. My in-laws are there and it was just the two of them there. I thought that my husband might not be able to go home to us on time due to the typhoon. Fortunately in Palo, Leyte, Odette didn't hit their area badly. It was just strong winds according to my husband. His flight wasn't cancelled or postponed but it was rescheduled on a later time, still the same day. Whew!

After Odette hit Cebu, we've been trying to get a hold of my in-laws but as what we have seen in the news there were no electricity and water. It's been days and my sis-in-law was able to ask for a favor to her friend in Cebu to at least check up on their parents. They're doing fine by the way, they're also prepared for it at least.

Pictures taken my my sis-in-law's friend

Ormoc has also been hit but not as bad as Cebu. This is how it looked liked outside my sis-in-law's house after Odette hit.

I believe it was really the strong winds that passed in other areas.

After 3 or 4 days, we're able to contact my father in law thru text. The next day, my father-in-law informed us that they already have water running in the lines. It was in the news that it may take at least a month before the electricity comes back up. I hope Cebu can recover as soon as possible, we don't want them to start the year not in a good condition.

My sis-in-law lended their generator. They had it delivered to Cebu so that my in-laws have at least have some source of electricity and of course to help them keep in constant communication with us.

Before they get the generator, my father-in-law charged his phone through his motorcycle. He somehow managed to modify the motorcycle so he can have a usb port to charge his phone. That's when we were able to contact them through text. We cannot call them through videochat or thru a regular call at first as the signal were also messed up.

On the 24th, we managed to call them early to great them because it will be out dark during midnight as the electricity was still out. They also called us in the morning of 25th and I know they've been dying to see their granddaughter too. We plan to go there next year once we already have sorted out things here.

I just noticed and the year is about to end in a few days and the typhoon ended (hopefully) with the letter 'O'. If you think about it, the typhoons were less this year compared to the past years.

This is the first part of my Christmas special. Chaaaaaaaaaar! hahahha. Stay tuned for the next one. Peys!!!

micontingsabit

Lead image from Unsplash and pictures posted are mine.

2
$ 0.42
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Jijisaur
$ 0.01 from @Lhes
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

Odette really left so much damage and even left our fellow filipinos devastated. Happy to know your inlaws are safe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you po. It's always every year na nangyayare, iba´t ibang place lng talaga natatamaan huhu

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman yung pinasala ng bagyo. Na experience ko na rin po walang tubig at kuryente ng isang araw. sobrang hirap na. What more pa pag few days. Sobrang galing nung motor tapos nagawan ng paraan para mag charge. God bless sis!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

oo hahaha sabi nga ng asawa ko mahilig magkalikot papa nya eh kaya kahit wala pa yung generator at least nakakacharge sila, yun nga lang sa gasolina maraming tao sa pila

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are so great☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are so great☺️

$ 0.01
2 years ago