A decade of tradition almost ruined.

3 33

WARNING WARNING! This is a rant post. If you're a type of person or partner na possessive, don't continue to read.

Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Let me start by telling you our year-end tradition. My bestest of friends since highschool started our year-end tradition back in 2011. There's a firework event in our city that we usually go to every December 30th of the year. Back then it was just a regular event with not so much performers until it boomed and our city made it as a big annual year-end event in which they would invite performers, bands, comedians to entertain the night before 12md for the fireworks display. To be honest, this was the first time that I appreciated watching a fireworks display.

jeje days, 2011

We had fun the first time and we decided to go to the fireworks display every year. I think there was one year that we weren't able to watch it, but I watched it with boyfriend that time. We all had valid reasons sometimes not to go but we discussed about it and it was a mutual agreement that even if we do not watch the fireworks display, we would still meet on the same date, go out, drink all night and do shitty things together. If one of us cannot come on time, we make sure that we will still be there, There was just a few instances that we weren't complete but all with understandable reasons. Until this year (2011) came....

Wait, I get to it later...

2012 I think

By the way, we've been friends since we were in 3rd year highschool (2007). We already knew each other since 1st year highschool but for some instance I didn't imagine that they will be my circle of friends when we all got in one class in 3rd year.

I thought we will lost contact when we were already in different schools in college but no, we would still find time to see each other in special occasions, shitty occasions, family occasions, emergency meeting, lovelife problems, etc. We've been in each other's family for years, we've been through thick and thin. Yes, we fight, we make up and that got our friendship stronger.

2017 fireworks display

Relationships

We've had our own relationships of course, partners. We don't mingle in ones busines but we would always listen and advise if someone asked. We've been in different types of relationships with our partners and of course we always go with the 'If you wanna be my lover, you gonna get with my friends' type of vibe but if we still don't like that person we will still be civil and friendly as much as we can.

2018, my sisters's wedding

We were all close and we make it a point to know what happens on each other's lives but nowadays, we have our own jobs, lives and schedule. We meet not as often as before but we still do find time, especially on birthdays.

Red flags

What are red flags in a relationship? - If the partner does something that is not in the nature of a person.

How would you know that a relationship is already toxic? - if something doesn't feel right.

How would you help your friend in that situation? - You don't. You just wait until the toxicity is over.

they surprised me on my birthday, 2015?

What type of friend are you?

I am a very jealous type of friend. I am not a jealous type of jowa but I am as a friend. I'd rather loose a boyfriend than my friends and if my friends have new friends, I want to be friends with them too.

my wedding 2021

Oh going back to our yearly tradition, we've brought different people along with us too (partners). Sometimes one of us cannot go due to partner issues too, we were all cool about it though, we know and we'd understand whatever the reason is. Sometimes, even without telling we already what might be the reason.

Since it's still pandemic and gatherings are still prohibited like last year, we just had a small dinner get together. We would always plan this ahead or sometimes not but it is already a yearly gathering for us four without even telling each other.

2020 year end dinner

This year was a bit different. We've been discussing and asking each other where we can eat or go but one of us didn't reply as much as before. The person who is the most open to tell us literally everything in her life suddenly became unresponsive. She didn't respond to most of our messages or questions. I did also send a private message but still no response. To me???? That's unacceptable as I know that no matter how busy she is, no matter how important her call from other people, no matter how little her time is for me, she would still reply or call me at the end of the day. I even texted her 'Tol' and she would already know that's me even coming from a different number.

2018 meet the jowa dinner

The three of us have been talking alone and we already expected that one of us wasn't coming to our year end get together. She even insisted to have our year end dinner at their home (her parents' home) but since she didn't respond we already have a feeling that something's going on, something was off. We understand what's already happening in their relationship, we still respect her partner but she's already a cancelled person to us, to me. We still had our year end dinner in my husband's apartment nearby so I can still bring Lil B along with me to meet her ninangs too.

Since one of us wasn't around for the dinner, we did talk about her and her partner, her controlling, possessive, pretentious, very very very matured for her age (sarcasticlly speaking) partner. She's 34 years old by the way, the jowa. Sorry for the words but I have enough evidence and personally the right to say those words.

year end dinner 2021

Despite not being complete, we still managed to have a good time. These two girls cooked food, which was by the way very very delicious! And we would always make fun of each other no matter what happens.

Korean fried chicken
carbonara
lumpiang di ko alam ang tawag hhahaha

We still did our usual chika moments and what I always love about our friendship is, it's timeless. Literally, whenever and wherever we get together we don't look at the time, we've been like that eversince. Then we will be shocked that it's already late but we still do not want to go home. It's funny that it still feels the same way up to this day.

PS. We still love our friend of coures, we just don't like her jowa but we can still be civil. It was the jowa all along, she was the reason one of us couldn't come. She has this 'MAS GUSTO MO PA KASAMA O KAUSAP KAIBIGAN MO KESA SAKIN' attitude for a 34 y/o woman who we thought would be matured enough to understand that we've been together for almost half of our lives.

One more thing to confirm her situation, because sometimes I become paranoid (she has a heart condition din ksi, she hyperventilates if her body is stressed, tired or has too much emotion) which I am afraid to happen without her family or friends around because she doesn't want to go to the hospital most of the time and we at least know how to handle that. Anyway, I was worried about that and I contacted her college bestfriend which became a close to me too about her. Good thing that he was able to call her for a bit and told a bit of what happened. He can sense my frustration and after a short talk now he knows why I am feeling that way, which he felt afterwards too. Now we are both praying and waiting that she gets out of that toxic relationship too. She was maily the reason why our year-end dinner got almost ruined.

Thoughts?

uuuuugh! I am still happy basta magiging happy sya. Pero Ugh pa dn

lead image from unsplash and pictures opsted are mine.

4
$ 1.28
$ 1.25 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @Oikawa
$ 0.01 from @Lhes
Sponsors of Micontingsabit
empty
empty
empty

Comments

We should let our partner go out friends sometimes. The attitude of your friends partner is not healthy. Hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes. Ok lang naman talaga samin pero mas red flag ung parang ayaw dn sya pauwiin sa parents nya. I even messaged her mom and her brother if nakakauwi pa ba sya sa kanila. Tinawanan lang ako HAHAH

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grave naman, hindi na iyon maganda sis. Ako kapag time ng asawa ko kasama ng barkada niya hinahayaan ko lng. Basta uwi siya sa oras na sinabi niya

$ 0.00
2 years ago