The I am who I am Excuse

2 18
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

I know many times we've been told to stick to who we are and not let the crowd take us away and turn us into what we are not and many talks along this trend. But today I'm here to shake this table of you being who you are even when what or who you are is not something anyone should be.

So I was viewing a friend's status like I do these days. Thanks to ASUU that has gone on a one month warning strike giving students more time to do nothing, I now have alot of statuses to view than normal. It's funny how I usually get topics to write on through WhatsApp these days. I guess I should start considering paying the developer of WhatsApp some change as a token for appreciation cos he has made my job easier for me.

Thinking about what to write used to be a hassle for me. I'd spend hours pondering on topics and sifting through the multitudes of conversations I've had all day trying to see which one I can make an article out of. These days, I'm lucky that topics just pop in when they do and it saves me the stress and drama of having to think and think.

I am sorry for the seeming drift, lemme get back to what I was saying. So I saw a video today of a lady or should I call her girl. Frankly I don't really know the difference between these two words and I just apply any whenever I like. Well, the female lady or girl which ever you like to choose said and I quote:

" I am who I am. If you like me great, if you don't I don't care. I've always been that way! "

You will agree with me that you've heard people use this statement often times and it's especially when they are trying to support one action or another that probably dosen't sit well you.

Who you are is not always the right thing to be!

You see a girl who dresses in a provocative manner exposing the sensitive parts of her body and when she's confronted, you hear her say it's who she is. That those are the kind of clothes she likes to wear and if you have problems with it, you can jump off a cliff.

A guy who probably smokes and takes hard drugs would just about say the same thing when his actions are questioned.

Does being who you are excuse you to do the wrong things because it's who you are?

It's like a serial killer who has killed tons of people and then on his recent kill he got caught and was taken into custody and there he was asked his motive for killing and then he goes ahead to say it's who i am. Won't you say that he's mentally derailed and should be killed for his deeds?

The excuse of something or a habit being who you are shouldn't be a reason not to change and improve on it. I usually laugh when people say if you don't like it you can walk out of my life. Imagine everyone walking out of your life, wouldn't it be lonely?

Then someone told me, there's always a person who would like you for who you are. I'm not disputing this fact, but is that someone's love enough and will it ever be? Are you going to continue a manner of living just because one person likes it while the other millions don't?

I know we are supposed to live our lives for ourselves and not for others, but it dosen't mean that we cannot and should not evaluate ourselves with the standards of others every once in awhile. Yes, your life is yours and yours alone but the impact your life makes is not only noticeable by you but by the society at large.

Don't get me wrong today, I'm not saying do not be who you are. I'm simply saying who you are is not an excuse to not try to change. It's who you are to play your music loud dosen't mean that you can't learn to reduce it sometimes. It's who you are to dress provocatively dosen't mean you cannot start to cover up a bit.

Learning is constant in life as even the wisest of men Learn everyday. Learn and change in the positive direction today! Don't use I am who I am as an excuse!

Author's Epilogue

I've had to let go of a lot of stuffs I used to think were part of me. They just began to fade away as I made conscious effort to change.

I won't lie and say it was easy, it took alot of effort and determination and here I am today. You too can do same.

We can be who we are and more!

Thanks for tuning in on today's episode, tomorrow I promise to bring another sweet topic your way. Until then, you can be who you are and more!

Thanks for reading!!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

4
$ 2.41
$ 2.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.02 from @DennMarc
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Your damn right, most people do take this quote side ways... Same thing happened when I was a car park last year, I saw a lady who was dressed half n*ked and she was being confronted by people because it wasn't appropriate she ignored and I believe she might think that's who she is but its totally wrong most times you have to change and you don't have to be that person

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's really sad that we have to encounter these experiences time and time again. I hope the world becomes a better place for us all really. Thanks for stopping by!

$ 0.00
2 years ago