The fangs of Greed..

4 33
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

How's it going guys. Trust your day has been awesome and not boring like mine. Want to know how my day was? Well nothing special. I have just been indoors mostly. Have spent almost all day In bed, if not for the fact that i just got up to get some air and some peace so i could force my thoughts out on paper, i'd still be in bed right now. Is this the definition of a boring day or not? For me it is!

Let's skip the whole me chitchat and let me tell you what's on my mind and why. The human nature is wired to be self centered and egocentric. Infact humans who do not have these Traits as part of their basic instincts deserve a medal. Yes you heard me right, although I highly doubt such humans exist but if they do, they must either be suppressing these traits or maybe masking them, who knows. The struggle to want to be great, influential, have loads and loads of cash, have a mansion, own an estate and lots of other self conceited dreams is what basically gives rise to greed.

Why greed really?

I want more, you want more, we all want more and with each passing day we can't seem to get enough cos even what we have is considered unsatisfactory. Now you may ask me what's wrong in wanting a good life and getting it against all odds? The truth is nothing. But do you want to know what i find wrong? How you go about getting that good life and who you just discarded to get it.

If you ask me, this is basically the problem of Nigeria. Everyone is fighting for their pockets and their pockets alone. He who has, collects even the little of another who is struggling to get. Want to know why? Solely because they can do it and get away scot free.Today is Nigeria's independence and the whole country should be celebrating right? But trust me I know those who aren't celebrating but you won't hear it from me.

Me Reminiscing..

While I was younger, I used to see the green and white colours of Nigeria proudly worn on this day, with people celebrating and proudly representing the country's pride. Many churches used to flood the streets praying around, parties were thrown to celebrate the nation and loads of exciting activities. Guess what i took out time to survey my environment and i didn't so much as see the green color anywhere.

The number of churches doing the usual land patrol has drastically dropped and to worsen it up, people now even go to the extent of embarrassing people who make the effort to dress in the proud green and white colors. I just cant help but wonder right now,what has changed?

Truth is we are for ourselves now and nobody truly cares about the other person, and even hide who do can barely keep it going for long. You can't blame us though, what do you expect? Our fathers are doing same so why can't we?

Despite it all, i still believe we have a chance. Its no false statement that we might be few that believe this but I still think that we can save our fatherland from the merciless fangs of greed. I hope this article of mine will not be seen as hate filled, I really hope!

Nigeria is ours..

We still stand a chance

Allow love lead!

Thanks for reading!!!

5
$ 0.45
$ 0.39 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.02 from @Kushyzee
+ 1
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

It's good that you ain't losing hope for your country. Happy Independence day to you all :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm definitely not celebrating 😆 I went out today and I didn't see anybody wearing green and everywhere just looked like a normal day. It just looks like everyone chose to stay away from anything green today 😂

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Lolzz...same for me. It seems that's their subtle way if saying we have nothing to celebrate. Thanks for the comment.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago