Goodbye Apathy..

9 28
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Happy first Monday of the month guys. Hope your day went well as it should. If you're amongst those who had some sort of an unproductive day like me, let's take solace in the fact that there's tomorrow to do more and try to be one step closer to our dreams.

My day wasn't unproductive because I choose so, I just ended up being surrounded with people who know how to cancel out on appointments at the dying minute. Dying minute is me putting it nicely cos what I experienced today was a cancellation after 3hrs from the budgeted time.

I just couldn't help but wonder what I was supposed to do with the rest of my day cos I already made plans with a schedule that ended up becoming thrash or so to speak. To think I rescheduled another appointment because of the failed one and I just couldn't help but feel mad when the second one too didn't work out cos I forgot today was a public holiday and walked in the blazing sun searching for the INEC office I scheduled an online appointment for the completion of my voters card process.

https://www.glamtush.com/oct-7-remains-deadline-for-2019-primaries-inec/

Independent national electoral commission (INEC) is the body in charge of all things election in my country Nigeria. After my seeming journey today, I still couldn't do it because their office was shut. Despite the feeling of disappointment, I am still kind of glad that I've located the place at least and I don't have to walk as much as I did today when I eventually reschedule the appointment.

While all of that was going on, me asking questions up and down just so I wouldn't miss my way, I began to think if the whole stress I was going through was worth it. Imagine I left my house to go through all the hassle and bustle of a long boring day just to acquire a voters card that doesn't really do much or at least that's what crossed my mind then and I'm sure most Nigerians would agree.

I have to say I'm among the many Nigerians who have political apathy and frankly you can't blame us because the system has done nothing but proved us right over the ages. While growing as a child, the song I heard on the lips of adults then was how their votes didn't count and now that I'm an adult, that seems to be the same song everywhere and it's beginning to get really boring.

I don't know about you, but I'm getting tired of that song and I'm deciding to take a stand and be part of the electoral process because just sitting and doing nothing thinking my votes won't count simply makes me a part of the problem so to speak.

Not that I'm trying to say I disregard your decisions to remain unbothered by the whole electoral process, I'm simply saying that the time to think we have no power in our votes should begin to fade away because it's been here for too long.

Lead image source

Author's Epilogue

Personally I have no candidate in mind as of now, but I believe I will find one I think is credible enough amongst the many that are parading themselves everywhere.

If I can finally get this whole process of acquiring the voter's card done, I'll probably thank God because a few years back when I decided to get it done, I almost ended up in the land of the dead if not for God that delivered me. Well, that's a story for another day..

Thanks for reading, you're the best.

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

10
$ 4.13
$ 3.93 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
$ 0.03 from @Princessbusayo
+ 6
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments

Ah, I just remembered now that I still need to do my voters card o. I started the process online since last year but I have been too lazy to complete it πŸ˜…

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I think the whole thing is ending this week ooo....or so I heard ooo

$ 0.00
1 year ago

when's the election? our national election is coming up too by the 9th of this month... let's cast our vote and practice our right to suffrage!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's next year in my country ooo... we're all preparing for it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

it's less than a week here in our country

$ 0.00
1 year ago

you have reminded me that I need to go get another voter's card as i have lost the one i had before

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I hope you don't go through any stress...good luck.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We seem to be on the same page dear, I almost lost my life that day. The registration was going on peacefully when some thugs came in a yellow bus and the next thing was gunshots.

Since then, I never attempted it. Maybe this year, I can try it again since the inspiration is coming from you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should, the process is less stressful this year cos some part off it is done online.

$ 0.00
1 year ago