First But Not Right!

0 11
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

So today is about to come to an end, that's if it hasn't ended already where you are. I hope the day was a fruitful one for you? For me it has been awesome. I sang for most part of the morning and every other thing just went on smoothly.

I was at my departmental farm in school today and as usual it started out busy but later on the tasks were over and we had a little time for ourselves. My classmates were engaged in a certain discussion that I couldn't make out cos I was outside but their voices were loud and there was a lot of disagreement around.

After a while, I got to find out that the topic up for discussion was about how the management of my University refused to allowed our shuttle drivers that convey us around the school increase their bus fare. Some were saying the increment was not a bad idea while others said it was and this argument went on for hours.

I'm not here to bore you with the details of this story even though I know you might be interested, but I'm here to use it as a guideline into what I really want to talk about.

The way we approach situations at times determine the kind of results we would get as well as the response that will follow.

It's funny how we sometimes think that it's when we shout that results will come or that's when we will be heard or when we look hot headed and arrogant then people would fear us and give in to us.

Shouting makes people hear your voice quite alright but are they listening at the moment, cos them hearing you and actually listening are two different things.

The above manner of approach is how something small eventually ends up in chaos and full blown war. Not that we do not know the results that comes when we choose to tow this line of action, we do but yet it's usually our first choice.

I myself I'm not left out of this category of people who want to fight for their cause by taking the bull by its horn, infact I think I can be categorized amongst the best of the best who have a master's degree in the act. But recently I've come to notice that the same result can be gotten if a softer approach is tried.

It's like a father who tells calmly his child to not play outside and leaves for work. Few minutes later the child is out playing and the dad comes back and begins to shout and creates a scene but does not punish the child for his or her disobedience. Will his shouting action prevent the child from going outside again?

Truth is maybe it will for a few day but as soon as the child finds a new interesting thing to play with outside, he's gone and has forgotten his dad once shouted or he will do it expecting his dad to shout again.

Action speaks volume!

Often times, the things we shout over can be resolved without us talking at all. Sometimes we know the exact thing to do to bring solution, but we just want to talk and vent out our anger which at times only makes us more angry.

Soft words can bring about results too, but we just conclude that it dosen't work because we barely try. It may not be immediately effective but it works like magic.

Mind you, don't mistake being soft for being apologetic. When I say soft words, I mean taking your stand but in the calmest way possible. Never let anger drive you into making mistakes that you see as decisions.

The shuttle drivers in my school left of their own volition because they were probably angry. They were offered an opportunity to talk about the issue amicably but they felt that a total strike was worth it. Because they were angry this seemed like the best decision to make but you and I both know that decisions made with anger are never almost the right ones. I hope they don't regret their actions though, I just hope!

Author's Epilogue

I guess the message I'm pushing today is you don't have to get a headache because you are trying to convince people to do the right thing. Shouting is never the best option even though it's usually the first that comes to mind.

This is not an easy thing to overcome, as even me I'm still a work in progress but it's achievable if you put your mind to it.

That's it on today's episode, thanks for tuning in to read, you're awesome and special in everyway!

To my sponsors it's been awhile since I celebrated you guys, you're simply amazing. Thank you guys and I ❀️ you all!

Mhizutty the voice of truth 🎡🎢🎡

6
$ 1.70
$ 1.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Aimure
$ 0.03 from @King_Gozie
+ 2
Sponsors of Mhizutty
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Mhizutty
2 years ago

Comments