What would you do if you weren't so afraid?

10 47
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

***

I might perhaps jump off the bridge or tallest building if I weren't so afraid to die by killing myself.

Just kidding! Everything was great! Now I'm singing. Yeah really. ๐Ÿ˜†

It was just for a catch, dummy! Not to threaten. Gomen!

Lately I've been seeing this question on other social media sites, like quora or reddit. Probably, both sites know how I wanted to do something but I'm afraid of the consequences that might happen. So yeah today I'm doing this prompt.

Actually, I wanted to do a lot of things. I had a lot in mind, but it was all big and the repercussions would affect my family, or I just thought it would or I'm just afraid.

Being the eldest of the children in the family, it wasn't required, but you dream big for your family. You take responsibility for your parents when they get old, also you look up for your siblings welfare. Especially if you weren't born rich. And your parents didn't have any formal education.ย 

My father didn't even reach grade four and started working at a younger age. My Mother is halfway within her 14 siblings, and there's not much money for them to get to college. But she did reach high-school. So it wasn't their fault that they are poor and uneducated. There's not much resources they can have and I was glad they were raised by a big family, and know how it was to live with it. So they only had three children to raise.

Here's what my Mother always asked me when I was studying back in college, she told me how she wanted to study back then but they had to work to help her eldest sister to graduate. But the eldest, stopped studying and eloped with her boyfriend. Her dream wasn't fulfilled, so she wanted all of her children to finish studying, believing that if ever that happens, her children won't live like she did. But though she doesn't have any financial capabilities, she's done a good job.

The thing is my Mother works as a maid, before she becomes a seamstress and then starts a family without any investment and has just to get by fund. Her dream for us is big, she doesn't want us to end up being a slave for a rude boss like she had when she was still a maid. But I wanted to tell her, that "Mother, you should have taught me how to raise a business!" coz I'm still a slave. ๐Ÿคทย 


A typical poor-want to fit into the society story. But the urge to make a dream into reality is powerful. When you have a dream, you know your priority, you know what to choose. She made her eldest and second daughter graduate, doing everything she can.

So as I was saying, I wanted to do things too. But I'm still committed to fulfill my Mothers dream because she's already old. And my youngest is an incoming college student. I am not required to do so, but whenever I look back on how I didn't have enough studying materials when I was a college student. I feel like I could have done more if I had resources. And I don't want that for my brother.ย 

I'm afraid? Probably.

Because If I do what I want, It will require a greater risk which I might be unable to help my parents to support my little brother. And maybe I'm afraid of the disappointment. Or I am afraid that If I do it, I might fail and that was the scariest thing ever.ย 

But I am actually interested in how my brother is decided, he's getting an engineering course too. I hope he does well. And he is my excuse for now. On the things I like to do, but afraid of the consequences. :) Hopefully after my brother's college, I would be able to conquer my fear and start doing what I wanted.

Also, when I've had the courage to do it. Maybe then, I could tell you about it. :)

Hey do you also have something you wanted to do but are afraid to do? Would you like to share? Or do you have something you have feared to do but already conquered it? Share some of your progress and how'd you overcome it!

And again thank you for reaching this far. Though I don't think I convey my words correctly or it does have a context. So much for a prompt!

Lead Image Source

Lead image was edited at picsart freely.

14
$ 8.95
$ 8.54 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Bjorn
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
+ 10
Sponsors of Meyzee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Meyzee
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Hello, my friend

Wow, if I wasn't afraid, I would be totally lost!

Fear is an instinctive reaction to your preservation. Now, the crux of the matter is determining the right choice in your presence.

In any case, fear should push you in the right direction and not become an obstacle that puts you at the mercy of danger.

So, make fear your permanent ally, and fulfill your purpose in life.

From your articles, I gather that you are a girl who is a fighter in life, and supportive of your family.

What you really have to fear is to stand still when you must act and act when you must calm down.

May God bless and keep you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Personally, I have some things that I am afraid to do. And if there's one thing, I'd probably choose to take the course Mass Communication. There's only one school that offers that course here, and it is a private one. Sana mas nilakasan ko yung loob ko na ipaglaban yung gusto kong course even if it means going to Manila or other universities :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I weren't so afraid, I must have admit my feelings already to my crush haha, jk.

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Go na hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wanted to get married now hahhaha if only I don't think of the consequences I am about to face as well as my siblings welfare mybe I'd be selfish to do what I wanted to do. Char! May papag aralin pa ako haha

$ 0.03
2 years ago

Hahaha pagtapos pede na maging selfish haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah hirap nga mglagay ng due na #akonaman. Siguro need pa din mgbigay or of service pero mgkalimit nalang na aralin mag-no minsan, anak o kapatid kasi tayo eh kya hanggat kaya titiisin pa kahit nagkakasakit na

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha sa sunod #akonaman

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo naman haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

sometimes being afraid has some connotation of a coward but i guess not trying to do things is most cowardly because we think ahead of the difficulties instead of the possibilities of success.

i have a lot of fear in me that makes me afraid not to do things but when i get older i just realize that i should do things that I have not done even if it is the most fearsome one.

$ 0.03
2 years ago